Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent

Tide's reinventing the way you do laundry! 1 pac = 1 laundry load. Works in all machine types. Dissolves quickly in hot & cold
Average Customer Rating:
4.246 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(2698 Reviews) 2500
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (2,698 reviews)
5 stars
1,597
4 stars
660
3 stars
160
2 stars
69
1 star
212
2,308 of 2,698(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent
Review 1 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

I'm switching back to Tide!!!

"
January 28, 2013
" I've been using all natural laundry detergent for years, but nothing ever smells clean or feels clean. Dishcloths used to wash greasy dishes smell greasy even after being washed in all natural laundry detergent. But not with TIDE!!! Clothes smell and feel fresh and clean. I put one Tide Pod into the bottom of my washer before loading my clothes, I did not overload the washer(this is key), and everything came out fresh and clean and wonderful! I'm switching back to Tide!!!! "
-
Vancouver, BC
Review 2 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Gel wont dissolve

"
July 6, 2012
" Had to try the new pods, great idea. Every time we used them, the gel would not dissolve and would stick like glue to clothing, causing a "gum ball" on the item. We had to rewash the item to dissolve the gel. Will not finish the jug we have or purchase another one. If this is what happens to clothing, we are wondering what will happen to our high end front load machines........ "
-
Calgary
1 users found this helpful
Review 3 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Best ever

"
June 8, 2012
" I actually bought them for my dad who is 84 to use he asked me to get more no spilling just the right amount way to easy to use. So I got more and for myself. Honestly I tried a differnt brand theirs doesn't dissolve like Tide Pods do the other leaves behind a gooey mess Sticking with the Tide Pods. "
-
regina
Review 4 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Gooey In Tray

"
April 28, 2016
" My detergent tray has become gooey because the Tide Pods do not "melt" or wash away entirely. I've had to wipe off or wash off the tray regularly. "
-
Halifax, NS
Response From TideMay 2, 2016
Hello Buzzybg. Our Tide PODS™ are designed to be added right in the washer drum rather than placing them in the detergent dispenser. We want you to get the most from our products and we have a few tips for using our PODS™ at http://spr.ly/6420Bm7Zk.
Review 5 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods Front Loader

"
April 11, 2016
" Hi, I see that other customers have had the same problem as me, Yesterday I tried placing the pods below the pile & my king size sheet got ruined. Doing a second wash to take out the "powder" leaves "glue style marks" that are rough & hard imbedded in my sheet. As do a special white shirt & 3 other items that have been thrown away. I am really upset about this. Sunlight products ONLY for me. "
-
Campbell river, Bc
Response From TideApril 14, 2016
Tide PODS™ were designed to make washing your laundry easier and more convenient and we’re sorry this hasn’t been your recent experience. The PODS™ should dissolve completely if they’re added to the drum before the laundry and there’s space for it to move around freely. To help remove any residue left behind, we recommend soaking the fabric in the hottest water safe for at least one hour, then rewashing with no detergent. So that we can help you further and learn more, please give us a call at 800-879-8433.
Review 6 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Smell

"
March 26, 2016
" ever since we started using the Pods we have a terrible smell in the washing machine "
-
Van Cover ca
Response From TideMarch 28, 2016
We want you to enjoy your PODS™ experience, Gurtse. We’d like to help and learn more. Please contact us at 1-800-879-8433.
Review 7 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Am I the only one?

"
March 23, 2016
" Tide pods do not completely disolve in my front loader, leaving globs on my clothes. These globs do not wash out, have to be scraped off, then washed again. This has happened numerous times. No longor use. "
-
USA
Response From TideMarch 24, 2016
We're sorry to hear about this, Sandy, and we understand your frustration. Tide PODS™ should dissolve entirely as long as they're being put in the bottom of the washer before adding the laundry and there's enough space left in the washer for easy circulation. Like you noticed, any residue left behind is not permanent. To help the film dissolve entirely, we recommend soaking the item in the hottest water safe for the fabric for about an hour and then rewashing without detergent. This isn't the experience we'd like you to have, and if we can help in the future, please call us at 1-800-879-8433.
Review 8 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Ruined My Clothes

"
March 9, 2016
" Tide Pods failed to dissolve and plastic stuck to 2 of my favorite shirts and sheets. The product says dissolves in all temperatures but that is false! "
-
Waterbury, VT 05677
0 users found this helpful
Response From TideMarch 18, 2016
We're sorry that you had this experience, John. We'd like to offer some tips and tricks to help resolve this. First soak the garments in the warmest water that they will allow for up to an hour. Next re-wash them in the washing machine without detergent. When using colder water to wash your clothes we recommend making sure that you are using the correct pod dosage, your load isn't too large and not adding too many absorbent items in at once. If you have any more questions, we'd be happy to help. Call us at 1-800-879-8433.
Review 9 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Purple Stains On My Clothes

"
March 3, 2016
" I was so excited to try the tide pods as I've always used tide and the convenience of carrying a few of the pods to the cleaners rather than the large bottle was nice. Once my laundry was complete I started folding my clothes I realized that 4 of my items have been ruined with large purple stains. I go out of my way to buy good detergent because I love my clothes. Ruining 2 pair of light colored pants and 2 white shirts is so disappointing. I will never use these pods again. "
-
Elkins Park, PA
Response From TideMarch 9, 2016
Oh no, Maya. We’re sorry this has happened to your clothing when using our PODS®. As long as the PODS® are used as directed this should not be happening. The good thing is all of our detergents are water soluble and rewashing the items in the hottest water temperature safe for that fabric will remove any stains left behind. This isn’t the experience we want you to have and we’d like to help further. Please give us a call at 1.855.236.3353 when you have a chance.
Review 10 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

struggle to dissolve

"
February 26, 2016
" I recently went from liquid to pods for easier travel to the laundromat. however I find it difficult to get them to dissolve completely. "
-
kingston, on
Response From TideMarch 2, 2016
We’re sorry the PODS® aren’t dissolving completely, Cher. As long as it’s being placed into the washer drum before adding the clothing, the machine is not overloaded and the delicate/gentle cycle isn’t being used this shouldn’t be happening. This isn’t the experience we want you to have with one of our products and we’d like to help further. Please send us a call at 1.855.236.3353 at your convenience.
Review 11 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Not Happy

"
February 25, 2016
" I found on occasion the plastic outer coating does not dissolve but sticks to the clothes. I have had four articles of clothing ruined. I follow the directions and put the pod in first and use warm water. I will not be using this product anymore. I really did like the convenience of using the pods but I won't risk ruining anymore clothes. "
-
Kitchener
0 users found this helpful
Response From TideMarch 2, 2016
We can certainly understand your concern, Grandmamc, especially when you're clothes aren't emerging fresh and clean as expected even after following the directions. While this shouldn't be the case, the good news is your clothes can be revived. Simply soak the affected areas in the hottest water temperature safe for the fabric for at least an hour and rewash without detergent. In the meantime, if you'd like to give us a call by dialing 1-855-236-3353, we'd be more than happy to help make sure you're receiving the great clean you deserve every time you wash with Tide.
Review 12 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Convenient but a slimy mess

"
February 21, 2016
" I loved using them but too often they do not dissolve and I am left with a slimy mess on my clothes. I never know if the wash will be good or bad. I have a front loading HE washer and the slime is also left in the rubber gasket on the washer opening. "
-
Oshawa, ON
Response From TideFebruary 25, 2016
We certainly understand your frustration, Sara. Convenience is great but we'd also hope that you'd still be receiving the great results you expect without the slimy mess. While the Tide PODS® should be dissolving properly if they are placed into the drum of the machine before your clothes, it seems as though these PODS® are being tossed to the outer edge during the wash and not receiving enough water contact to dissolve properly. Thankfully, simply tossing them into a sock or pillow case and then into the drum before your clothes should keep them circulating with your clothes and performing properly. Also, by soaking the affected areas in the hottest water safe for the fabric for at least an hour and rewashing without detergent, the residue that was left behind should be removed. However, this isn't the experience we want you to have and we'd like to help you further. If you'd like to get in touch, please dial 1-855-236-3353.
Response From TideFebruary 25, 2016
We certainly understand your frustration, Sara. Convenience is great but we'd also hope that you'd still be receiving the great results you expect without the slimy mess. While the Tide PODS® should be dissolving properly if they are placed into the drum of the machine before your clothes, it seems as though these PODS® are being tossed to the outer edge during the wash and not receiving enough water contact to dissolve properly. Thankfully, simply tossing them into a sock or pillow case and then into the drum before your clothes should keep them circulating with your clothes and performing properly. Also, by soaking the affected areas in the hottest water safe for the fabric for at least an hour and rewashing without detergent, the residue that was left behind should be removed. However, this isn't the experience we want you to have and we'd like to help you further. If you'd like to get in touch, please dial 1-855-236-3353.
Review 13 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Pods outer layer stick to clothes

"
February 19, 2016
" I now have 6 clothing items destroyed by pods outer lining sticking to clothes and almost lost my husbands dressing gown today too. Yes, I follow directions and I always put the pods in the drum first and don't use pre-wash etc. Scrapping the gel substance off clothing even when moistened again is time consuming and requires physical scrapping to remove .Frankly is quite disgusting to scrape gel off clothes even if it does smell fresh! Please find a solution to this problem ASAP "
-
Aberta
Response From TideFebruary 24, 2016
Oh no, we’re sorry you had this experience. Your using the PODS® as directed so this should not be happening. The good news is the residue is not permanent and will come off when you soak the item in the hottest water temperature safe for that fabric for about an hour or longer and then rewash as directed. Your satisfaction means a lot to us and we’d like to make it right. Please give us a call at 1.855.236.3353 when you have a chance.
Review 14 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

Pods

"
February 13, 2016
" I place the pods in the washer drum and then load the clothes. Set water to cold and let it go. When wash is complete, the last 3 out of 4 times I find the pods did not completely dissolve. The clothes had to be washed over to remove the gel like substance from them. Very disappointed and have to spend twice the time needed to get laundry complete. "
-
Newfoundland
Response From TideFebruary 15, 2016
While we're glad you've found a few tips and tricks that help ensure your clothes remain fresh and clean, Vivianh, this extra hassle is not at all the experience we intended for you to have. If you'd like to give us a call, our experts are standing by and would be more than happy to help make sure you receive a great clean every time without the extra fuss. To get in touch, please dial 1-855-236-3353.
Review 15 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Doens't Dissolve

"
January 29, 2016
" I've been using Tide Pods for about three months and recently without changing any of the settings on my washer the I've noticed that the pods don't fully dissolve. Instead, the casing that it comes in get's stuck to my clothes and it's incredibly difficult to remove from my clothing after. It's basically like there's melted plastic on my pants... It actually creates more work because I have to remove this garbage from my clothes instead of it being convenient. "
-
Toronto
Response From TideFebruary 1, 2016
We’re so sorry this has happened to your clothing while using our PODS®, Kyle. As long as the PODS® are used as directed this should not be happening. The good news is the residue is not permanent and will come off when you soak the pants in the hottest water safe for that fabric for about an hour or longer and then rewashing as directed. Your satisfaction means a lot to us and we’d like to help further. Please give us a call at 1.855.236.3353 when you have a chance.
Review 16 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

These are amazing

"
January 11, 2016
" When I got home after buying these I opened them up and I knew immediately after opening that they would be great . I took one out being a bit sceptical I assumed it would be like every other over advertised cleaning product. I popped it, :), into my mouth it was a bit bland at first but after the plastic dissolved it was like an explosion of flavour it was the best thing that was in my mouth ever in the history of my existence, anyway I guess you can use them for cleaning that's alright too. I'm writing this right now with 3 of them in my mouth just waiting for a miracle to happen "
-
Red deer ab
Review 17 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Aweful

"
December 29, 2015
" I was so excited to try these pods they smelled sooo amazing. But after pulling my cloths out of the washer my brothers olive hoodie had giant discolored stains on them! I checked the packaging and it says that the pods dissolve in any water temperature; the machine over packed either! Ugggg it was my first load with the package too. I wish i could post pictures of what happened to the load of laundry. "
-
calgary
Response From TideJanuary 12, 2016
We’re sorry this happened to your brother’s hoodie while trying our Tide PODS®. As long as the POD® is being placed into the washer drum first before adding the clothing this shouldn’t be happening. The good news is the residue is removable, simply soak the hoodie in the hottest water temperature safe for that fabric for about an hour or longer and then rewash as directed. This isn’t the experience we want you to have with one of our products and we’d like to assist further. Please give us a call when you have a chance at 1.855.236.3353.
Review 18 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Crusty Mess

"
December 10, 2015
" I found Tide Pods on sale at Shoppers Drug Mart a few weeks ago and thought to myself "This is Amazing!". I have twins on the way next month and am looking for all kinds of ways to simplify my day to day tasks so that when they get here I can spend my time focusing on them instead of on things like measuring laundry detergent.
The first few washes were just great - things like towels and pajamas that I would normally wash in warm water. Tossing a pod in the machine couldn't have been easier.
However, when I used them on my work wear, it was another story. By now, most of my wardrobe has made it through one wash with tide pods, and this week I have been met with the most disgusting of unpleasant surprises (remember the babies aren't here so I haven't been puked on yet). It seems for any clothes I dare wash in cold water, the little "pod skins" do not fully dissolve, and instead attach themselves in the most unflattering and surprising of locations all over my clothes. What looks like a combination of dehydrated jellyfish and melted plastic has appeared on three outfits in a row this week and today I made it all the way to work before I noticed. The horror!
Considering the pods are more expensive than the usual liquid I buy, I had expected them to be more valuable and useful to me - but they are exactly the opposite. Now I'm off to the grocery store to buy a bottle of liquid detergent so I can re-wash all my clothes before trying to look presentable in public again.
Thanks, Tide!
Love,
Kristi "
-
Calgary, AB
Response From TideDecember 14, 2015
We're sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with Tide PODS®. As long as the PODS® are placed in the drum of the washer before adding the laundry and the machine is not overloaded, they should dissolve entirely. This isn't the experience we'd like you to have while trying our product and we'd like to help further, please call us at your earliest convenience at 1-877-256-3265.
Review 19 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

Sticky Blobs

"
December 8, 2015
" I have been using Tide Pods for over a year now without any issues. Recently I have started to find the pods are not dissolving. I have not done anything different. Same washer, various load sizes, and different temperatures. None of the variables seem to make a difference. I find a blob of undisolved pod on my clothing when the load is finished. My only conclusion is Tide has changed something, or, I was just lucky for the last year! Feeling very disappointed in the product right now. "
-
Calgary
Response From TideDecember 15, 2015
We're sorry your Tide PODS® haven't been dissolving lately, Kirsten. This isn't what we'd expect, especially since you haven't changed your laundry routine and have had great results with Tide PODS® prior to this. We'd like to gather more information and help further. Please give us a call at 1-877-256-3265 at your earliest convenience.
Review 20 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Be Very Careful

"
December 3, 2015
" I used a pod and it didn't complete disintigrate, the outside was left on my pants. So I removed it and washed the load again with clear water to get any left over soap out. When the load was done I removed a pair of good pants and where the pod had stuck on the first load it took the color out of the black pants and left a red mark. Making them unwareable. I am not very scared to us in case they ruin more clothes. Has anyone had this problem...? "
-
Charlottetown, PEI
Response From TideDecember 7, 2015
This is very unusual and not what we'd expect from our product as Tide PODS® do not contain any bleach, Krissy. The PODS® have been extensively tested and are safe for both colors and whites and dissolve entirely as long as they're placed into the drum of the washer before adding the clothes and the machine is not overloaded. This isn't the experience we'd like you to have with our product and we'd like to help further. Please give us a call at 1-877-256-3265 when you have time and we'll be happy to help you.
Response From TideDecember 7, 2015
This is very unusual and not what we'd expect from our product as Tide PODS® do not contain any bleach, Krissy. The PODS® have been extensively tested and are safe for both colors and whites and dissolve entirely as long as they're placed into the drum of the washer before adding the clothes and the machine is not overloaded. This isn't the experience we'd like you to have with our product and we'd like to help further. Please give us a call at 1-877-256-3265 when you have time and we'll be happy to help you.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 60 next>>