Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent

Tide's reinventing the way you do laundry! 1 pac = 1 laundry load. Works in all machine types. Dissolves quickly in hot & cold
Average Customer Rating:
4.252 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(2802 Reviews) 2604
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (2,802 reviews)
5 stars
1,666
4 stars
683
3 stars
163
2 stars
72
1 star
218
2,399 of 2,802(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent
Review 1 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

I'm switching back to Tide!!!

"
January 28, 2013
" I've been using all natural laundry detergent for years, but nothing ever smells clean or feels clean. Dishcloths used to wash greasy dishes smell greasy even after being washed in all natural laundry detergent. But not with TIDE!!! Clothes smell and feel fresh and clean. I put one Tide Pod into the bottom of my washer before loading my clothes, I did not overload the washer(this is key), and everything came out fresh and clean and wonderful! I'm switching back to Tide!!!! "
-
Vancouver, BC
Review 2 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Gel wont dissolve

"
July 6, 2012
" Had to try the new pods, great idea. Every time we used them, the gel would not dissolve and would stick like glue to clothing, causing a "gum ball" on the item. We had to rewash the item to dissolve the gel. Will not finish the jug we have or purchase another one. If this is what happens to clothing, we are wondering what will happen to our high end front load machines........ "
-
Calgary
1 users found this helpful
Review 3 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Best ever

"
June 8, 2012
" I actually bought them for my dad who is 84 to use he asked me to get more no spilling just the right amount way to easy to use. So I got more and for myself. Honestly I tried a differnt brand theirs doesn't dissolve like Tide Pods do the other leaves behind a gooey mess Sticking with the Tide Pods. "
-
regina
Review 4 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

New add on TV

"
July 23, 2016
" Great product! Have used it for more years than I can remember.
Your recent add on TV where the old woman on a scooter runs into a man in the store island is pure geniuse. I loved it ! Give the writer a raise !!
"
-
Barrie Ont.$5
Review 5 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Pods are yucky

"
July 19, 2016
" Pods have ruined multiple pieces of clothing.
The pod leaves a hard glue like residue.
Multiple washes later it's still on my ruined clothes. "
-
Creemore, On
Response From TideJuly 20, 2016
This is not something that we want you to expect and we have some tips on how to remove the residue. Please give us a call at 866-908-1566 so that we can learn more.
Review 6 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Formula has to have changed!

"
July 9, 2016
" These pods are a yucky mess! Has the formula changed? I wondered what was sticking to my clothes ("gluing" them together in places). I added the pod to my front loader w/ warm water. 5 mins of agitation later, it was soggy but INTACT. I had to pop the pod with my hands. GROSS. This was my 1st time buying pods after using a sample successfully. Not convenient so won’t buy again. I see I'm not alone recently (June/July 2016) so I think Tide should rethink the outer skin formula. :( "
-
Ottawa, ON
Response From TideJuly 12, 2016
We're sorry to hear that the PODs™ aren't dissolving and that you're experiencing residue. This is not something that we want you to expect and we'd like to talk more. Please give us a call at 866-908-1566.
Review 7 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods have ruined my clothes

"
July 4, 2016
" I have used Tide Pods for convenience however has ruined a coat, several sweaters and now a new pair of pajama's I just bought. The pod itself does not always dissolve and gets stuck on clothing and will not come off. Very disappointed and Tide Pods are not cheap by any means. "
-
New Castle, PA
Response From TideJuly 11, 2016
We're sorry those PODS™ weren't properly dissolving leaving that residue on your garments.This is something that can happen if the pacs weren't exposed to enough water to fully dissolve so be sure to always use as indicated on the package. We'd like to further help so when you have some free time, please feel free to give us a call at: 855-236-3353.
Response From TideJuly 11, 2016
We're sorry those PODS™ weren't properly dissolving leaving that residue on your garments.This is something that can happen if the pacs weren't exposed to enough water to fully dissolve so be sure to always use as indicated on the package. We'd like to further help so when you have some free time, please feel free to give us a call at: 855-236-3353.
Review 8 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods

"
June 6, 2016
" I use Tide liquid. My employer buys the tide pods and I use them to wash the family's clothes. They are terrible! They do not dissolve all the way.then when you put the clothes in the dryer they stick to your clothes like glue. You try to pull them apart and your clothes rip. I tried putting the pod in the washer first but that does not work. I like the liquid but Tide pods should be a recall. These Pods have ruined several of their cloths, sheets, pillow cases.............. "
-
Tampa,Fl
Response From TideJune 15, 2016
We're very sorry to hear this was your experience and definitely want to learn more so we're able to help. We're confident our PODS™ will dissolve given proper agitation during the washer's cycle and have a few tips and tricks to safely removing this residue from your clothing to avoid any damage to the fabric. When you have a free moment, we'd appreciate it so much if you could give us a call so we're able to assist you further. We're available at 1-800-879-8433 Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm EST. We look forward to speaking with you soon!
Review 9 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Glue

"
June 5, 2016
" Does not dissolve completely like advertised. Washed several articles of clothing and they got ruined before we realized that the Pod was not completely dissolving. To make matters worse it went through the dryer and melted itself completely into the fabric. Would not recommend to anyone letting all of our friends know don't Tide Pods. "
-
Michigan
Response From TideJune 10, 2016
We're sorry to hear that the PODs™ didn't dissolve completely. This usually happens when the POD™ doesn't have enough room to completely dissolve. We recommend letting the water run and putting the POD™ in before the clothes. This gives the POD™ time to dissolve before the clothes are added. We also recommend making sure that you aren't overloading the washing machine. If you have any further questions please feel free to reach out to us at 800-879-8433.
Review 10 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Gooey In Tray

"
April 28, 2016
" My detergent tray has become gooey because the Tide Pods do not "melt" or wash away entirely. I've had to wipe off or wash off the tray regularly. "
-
Halifax, NS
Response From TideMay 2, 2016
Hello Buzzybg. Our Tide PODS™ are designed to be added right in the washer drum rather than placing them in the detergent dispenser. We want you to get the most from our products and we have a few tips for using our PODS™ at http://spr.ly/6420Bm7Zk.
Review 11 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods Front Loader

"
April 11, 2016
" Hi, I see that other customers have had the same problem as me, Yesterday I tried placing the pods below the pile & my king size sheet got ruined. Doing a second wash to take out the "powder" leaves "glue style marks" that are rough & hard imbedded in my sheet. As do a special white shirt & 3 other items that have been thrown away. I am really upset about this. Sunlight products ONLY for me. "
-
Campbell river, Bc
Response From TideApril 14, 2016
Tide PODS™ were designed to make washing your laundry easier and more convenient and we’re sorry this hasn’t been your recent experience. The PODS™ should dissolve completely if they’re added to the drum before the laundry and there’s space for it to move around freely. To help remove any residue left behind, we recommend soaking the fabric in the hottest water safe for at least one hour, then rewashing with no detergent. So that we can help you further and learn more, please give us a call at 800-879-8433.
Review 12 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Smell

"
March 26, 2016
" ever since we started using the Pods we have a terrible smell in the washing machine "
-
Van Cover ca
Response From TideMarch 28, 2016
We want you to enjoy your PODS™ experience, Gurtse. We’d like to help and learn more. Please contact us at 1-800-879-8433.
Review 13 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Am I the only one?

"
March 23, 2016
" Tide pods do not completely disolve in my front loader, leaving globs on my clothes. These globs do not wash out, have to be scraped off, then washed again. This has happened numerous times. No longor use. "
-
USA
Response From TideMarch 24, 2016
We're sorry to hear about this, Sandy, and we understand your frustration. Tide PODS™ should dissolve entirely as long as they're being put in the bottom of the washer before adding the laundry and there's enough space left in the washer for easy circulation. Like you noticed, any residue left behind is not permanent. To help the film dissolve entirely, we recommend soaking the item in the hottest water safe for the fabric for about an hour and then rewashing without detergent. This isn't the experience we'd like you to have, and if we can help in the future, please call us at 1-800-879-8433.
Review 14 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Ruined My Clothes

"
March 9, 2016
" Tide Pods failed to dissolve and plastic stuck to 2 of my favorite shirts and sheets. The product says dissolves in all temperatures but that is false! "
-
Waterbury, VT 05677
0 users found this helpful
Response From TideMarch 18, 2016
We're sorry that you had this experience, John. We'd like to offer some tips and tricks to help resolve this. First soak the garments in the warmest water that they will allow for up to an hour. Next re-wash them in the washing machine without detergent. When using colder water to wash your clothes we recommend making sure that you are using the correct pod dosage, your load isn't too large and not adding too many absorbent items in at once. If you have any more questions, we'd be happy to help. Call us at 1-800-879-8433.
Review 15 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Purple Stains On My Clothes

"
March 3, 2016
" I was so excited to try the tide pods as I've always used tide and the convenience of carrying a few of the pods to the cleaners rather than the large bottle was nice. Once my laundry was complete I started folding my clothes I realized that 4 of my items have been ruined with large purple stains. I go out of my way to buy good detergent because I love my clothes. Ruining 2 pair of light colored pants and 2 white shirts is so disappointing. I will never use these pods again. "
-
Elkins Park, PA
Response From TideMarch 9, 2016
Oh no, Maya. We’re sorry this has happened to your clothing when using our PODS®. As long as the PODS® are used as directed this should not be happening. The good thing is all of our detergents are water soluble and rewashing the items in the hottest water temperature safe for that fabric will remove any stains left behind. This isn’t the experience we want you to have and we’d like to help further. Please give us a call at 1.855.236.3353 when you have a chance.
Review 16 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

struggle to dissolve

"
February 26, 2016
" I recently went from liquid to pods for easier travel to the laundromat. however I find it difficult to get them to dissolve completely. "
-
kingston, on
Response From TideMarch 2, 2016
We’re sorry the PODS® aren’t dissolving completely, Cher. As long as it’s being placed into the washer drum before adding the clothing, the machine is not overloaded and the delicate/gentle cycle isn’t being used this shouldn’t be happening. This isn’t the experience we want you to have with one of our products and we’d like to help further. Please send us a call at 1.855.236.3353 at your convenience.
Review 17 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Not Happy

"
February 25, 2016
" I found on occasion the plastic outer coating does not dissolve but sticks to the clothes. I have had four articles of clothing ruined. I follow the directions and put the pod in first and use warm water. I will not be using this product anymore. I really did like the convenience of using the pods but I won't risk ruining anymore clothes. "
-
Kitchener
0 users found this helpful
Response From TideMarch 2, 2016
We can certainly understand your concern, Grandmamc, especially when you're clothes aren't emerging fresh and clean as expected even after following the directions. While this shouldn't be the case, the good news is your clothes can be revived. Simply soak the affected areas in the hottest water temperature safe for the fabric for at least an hour and rewash without detergent. In the meantime, if you'd like to give us a call by dialing 1-855-236-3353, we'd be more than happy to help make sure you're receiving the great clean you deserve every time you wash with Tide.
Review 18 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Convenient but a slimy mess

"
February 21, 2016
" I loved using them but too often they do not dissolve and I am left with a slimy mess on my clothes. I never know if the wash will be good or bad. I have a front loading HE washer and the slime is also left in the rubber gasket on the washer opening. "
-
Oshawa, ON
Response From TideFebruary 25, 2016
We certainly understand your frustration, Sara. Convenience is great but we'd also hope that you'd still be receiving the great results you expect without the slimy mess. While the Tide PODS® should be dissolving properly if they are placed into the drum of the machine before your clothes, it seems as though these PODS® are being tossed to the outer edge during the wash and not receiving enough water contact to dissolve properly. Thankfully, simply tossing them into a sock or pillow case and then into the drum before your clothes should keep them circulating with your clothes and performing properly. Also, by soaking the affected areas in the hottest water safe for the fabric for at least an hour and rewashing without detergent, the residue that was left behind should be removed. However, this isn't the experience we want you to have and we'd like to help you further. If you'd like to get in touch, please dial 1-855-236-3353.
Response From TideFebruary 25, 2016
We certainly understand your frustration, Sara. Convenience is great but we'd also hope that you'd still be receiving the great results you expect without the slimy mess. While the Tide PODS® should be dissolving properly if they are placed into the drum of the machine before your clothes, it seems as though these PODS® are being tossed to the outer edge during the wash and not receiving enough water contact to dissolve properly. Thankfully, simply tossing them into a sock or pillow case and then into the drum before your clothes should keep them circulating with your clothes and performing properly. Also, by soaking the affected areas in the hottest water safe for the fabric for at least an hour and rewashing without detergent, the residue that was left behind should be removed. However, this isn't the experience we want you to have and we'd like to help you further. If you'd like to get in touch, please dial 1-855-236-3353.
Review 19 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Pods outer layer stick to clothes

"
February 19, 2016
" I now have 6 clothing items destroyed by pods outer lining sticking to clothes and almost lost my husbands dressing gown today too. Yes, I follow directions and I always put the pods in the drum first and don't use pre-wash etc. Scrapping the gel substance off clothing even when moistened again is time consuming and requires physical scrapping to remove .Frankly is quite disgusting to scrape gel off clothes even if it does smell fresh! Please find a solution to this problem ASAP "
-
Aberta
Response From TideFebruary 24, 2016
Oh no, we’re sorry you had this experience. Your using the PODS® as directed so this should not be happening. The good news is the residue is not permanent and will come off when you soak the item in the hottest water temperature safe for that fabric for about an hour or longer and then rewash as directed. Your satisfaction means a lot to us and we’d like to make it right. Please give us a call at 1.855.236.3353 when you have a chance.
Review 20 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

Pods

"
February 13, 2016
" I place the pods in the washer drum and then load the clothes. Set water to cold and let it go. When wash is complete, the last 3 out of 4 times I find the pods did not completely dissolve. The clothes had to be washed over to remove the gel like substance from them. Very disappointed and have to spend twice the time needed to get laundry complete. "
-
Newfoundland
Response From TideFebruary 15, 2016
While we're glad you've found a few tips and tricks that help ensure your clothes remain fresh and clean, Vivianh, this extra hassle is not at all the experience we intended for you to have. If you'd like to give us a call, our experts are standing by and would be more than happy to help make sure you receive a great clean every time without the extra fuss. To get in touch, please dial 1-855-236-3353.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 60 next>>