Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent
Average Customer Rating:
3.852 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(2070 Reviews) 1876
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (2,070 reviews)
5 stars
1,168
4 stars
292
3 stars
121
2 stars
113
1 star
376
1,534 of 2,070(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent
Review 1 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Tide pods is the best for my clothes

"
November 11, 2014
"It is amazing how all my clothes shine after every washed. I will definitely recommend Tide to all my friends"
- elvira
bangor, ME
Review 2 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Residue all over several loads of clothes

"
November 11, 2014
"I have previously used tide pods with no issues, but recently, this has not been the case.
When I had city water, the pods worked like a dream - now that I am on a well, its more like a nightmare. Loads of all sizes come out with melted in pod residue. I have tried reducing my load size (washed a load of three towels on a full load size), to no avail.
I suspect it is my well water that is causing issues with the disintegration of the pod. Going back to liquid detergent ASAP.
"
- tzgunter
Cataract, IN
Review 3 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Pod Disaster

"
November 9, 2014
"I used the Tide Pods to do my laundry. I have never had a problem with them before, but the last couple of times I have done my laundry, the plastic that surrounds the detergent has melted into my clothes. It has completely ruined three of my shirts and damaged many more. I will not be buying these anymore."
- Carli
Albany, NY
Review 4 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

My whites are GREY!!!

"
November 8, 2014
"I have been using Tide pods for about 8 months and I love the concept-- BUT I've been noticing that my white things are now a silver gray color and my husband even remarked that his socks look a little blueish!!! I am returning the 2 bags I have and will look for something without that pretty blue and orange color, and see if I can salvage my laundry."
- Rookie954
Colorado
Review 5 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Ruins Clothes

"
November 7, 2014
"It was at first really awesome because it was easy to use, but then after using them for all semester, more often than not my clothes have been RUINED by Tide Pods! I thought at first it was a problem with my college's laundry machines, but it's because the Tide Pods don't dissolve quick enough and then gunk up on my clothes like dried gum and ruin them! So many cute clothes ruined!
It's really quite unfortunate because it would seem like a great and easy way to wash your clothes, but it's really only a great and easy way to ruin them."
- clfranc
Review 6 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Use Liquid Tide, Tide Pods Ruin Clothes

"
November 2, 2014
"When it comes to laundry detergent I only use the Tide brand. Typically I use liquid Tide, but thought I would try the Tide pods. Even when following the directions of how to use the Tide pods, I have had many items of clothes ruined because of this product. While I've had the previously mentioned purple stains, the most frequent happening is the outer plastic melting into clumps on the clothing. Overall, stick to the liquid!"
- laundreeladee
Chicago, IL
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Oh no! We're sorry to hear this! Are you placing the POD® directly in the drum of the machine before adding clothes and avoiding overloading? If you're following the instructions correctly and still experiencing the same issues please call us at 1-855-236-3353 and we'll help you. Thanks!
Review 7 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Thought they were good...

"
October 30, 2014
"I have refused to buy Tide Pods again as I have had two instances where they have not dissolved all the way and left a purple stain and plastic stuck to two different shirts (one was white!). I have been able to get it dissolved out of the second shirt after being able to figure out what it was but I am not sure I'll be able to get it out of the first shirt since it has been a little while. I will be trying as soon as I'm done leaving this review. I was looking for an easier way to do laundry without having to lift the heavy bottles of liquid, and while this is only twice in 6-7 months of using them, it is not easier when having to re-rinse clothing to get the melted Pod to completely dissolve."
- Cmyers
Oklahoma City
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Hi there! We see that you have been using PODS® for some time and we would like to make sure that you're using them correctly! Be sure that you're placing the POD® directly in the machine before adding clothes and without overloading. If you still are experiencing this or if you cannot get those stains out, please call us at 1-855-236-3353 so we can help you. Thanks!
Review 8 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Melted All Over My Clothes

"
October 29, 2014
"I thought Tide Pods were great until I did my most recent load of laundry and discovered that the Tide Pod had melted all over 2 of my work shirts, ruining them. The pod left hardened white stains from the coating of the pod on the shirts that will not come off. They were my favorite shirts and I was very upset that they were ruined. I'm going back to regular laundry detergent immediately. The pods are horrible. I won't risk ruining my clothes again."
- stace
KY
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Oh no! We're so sorry about this. Did you place the POD® directly in the machine before adding clothes? If you did this and did not overload, then we may need some more details to figure out what went wrong. Please call us at 1-855-236-3353 so that we can make this right. Thank you!
Review 9 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

Cleans great but the pods break

"
October 27, 2014
"I've used the pods for a while now, and liked them a lot. But the last time I bought them there was evidently some broken ones in the bottom which caused the others to get wet and disintegrate. The previous times I had bought a smaller amount. Now I know not to buy the 72 pack of pods again. It's evidently too heavy. I hate having lost $18.00 finding this out. But I love the idea of them."
- Lace
Springfield, MO
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Oh no! We're sorry to hear this! Usually PODS® break down due to exposure to heat or moisture. Like if you stored them above your dryer. Storing them in a dry and cool place is our recommendation. If this is a recurring issue, however, please call us at 1-855-236-3353. Thanks!
Review 10 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Does not dissolve quick enough

"
October 26, 2014
"This shouldn't even be recommended for side-loaders simply because it takes too long to dissolve.
Worked okay for my top-loader on the 2nd try after I let it dissolve in the full drum of water before dropping clothes in and starting the rest of the wash cycle. Took about 8 to 10 minutes to start breaking down before the water becomes diluted with it.
Hope that helps for those stuck with the product like me."
- TopLoadOnly
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Hi there! We're sorry you've had trouble with this product. However, we don't believe that you need to wait until the POD® is fully dissolved before adding your clothes. Just put the POD® in the machine, add clothes, and watch the magic happen! But be careful not to overload, as that can hinder performance. Thank you!
Review 11 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Stained whites

"
October 24, 2014
"I have used Tide for years and was delighted to try the Tide pods. I thought I was using them successfully until I started to notice lavender/blue splotches on my husband's white undershirts. Eventually, my whites have become stained also. I realize now that this is a Tide Pod problem. I used them correctly and any efforts of remediation (using bleach, re-washing, etc., etc.) do not work as the clothes have been washed AND dried and those stains are SET. Thanks for nothing, Tide. I will be using other detergents from now on."
- SeaPort
Illinois
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
We're really sorry to hear that you're having trouble with our PODS®! If you're placing the POD® directly in the machine and not overloading, then we will need to hear some more details to find out what is going wrong here. Please call us at 1-855-236-3353. Thank you!
Review 12 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointed in P&G

"
October 23, 2014
"Recently tried Tide Pods because they seemed like a great idea and I have always liked Tide products. Our $200 Sheex sheets came out with a big stain and plastic stuck to them, but I blamed it on my husband. Over the next couple of weeks we both did some loads of laundry and then when wearing the clothes noticed plastic stuck to them. Not even considering that it might be the Pods, we looked inside the washer and dryer trying to figure out where the plastic was coming from and what we might have left in a pocket.
Finally we went back to our old detergent and no more plastic. We have ruined several items of clothing, including a new expensive shirt..
So now I do a google search. I am so disappointed and furious that this is a known problem and that P&G has continued to market this product without warnings and without fixing the issue.
"
- Laura444
Texas
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Hi Laura! We're so sorry to hear your story. This is not something that we expect with proper handling. Please be sure that you did not overload your machine and that you placed the POD® directly in the machine before adding clothes. If you followed these instructions and this is a recurring issue, we would like to talk. Please call us at 1-855-236-3353. Thank you!
Review 13 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods

"
October 21, 2014
"I have always used tide. Recently tried the pods and have been greatly disappointed. blue spots all over white t shirts and other whites."
- sclark
ohio
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Oh no! We're sorry that your first time with our PODS® let you down. Did you place the POD® directly in the machine before adding clothes? If you did this and did not overload, then we are not sure what could have caused this. Please call us at 1-855-236-3353 if this problem persists and if you cannot get those stains out. We would like to help!
Review 14 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

Eczema Alert!

"
October 19, 2014
"I am a long time Tide user. I usually use Tide liquid original scent for HE washers. I tried the Pods and at first they were great. No drips, easy to use and the same tide clean. After a few weeks my 7 year old broke out in a bad Eczema rash all over his shorts area, armpits and belly. He's had Eczema in the past but we've had it under control for a few years and it was never this bad. After some detective work and elimination I realized it was the pods. I will use Liquid Tide again but not until his rash is gone. For now it's organic dye free scent free stuff. Just wanted to let other mom's and everyone know that the Pods are not for sensitive skin."
- LIsamom
Middle Tennessee
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Hi there! We're so sorry your little one had a bad reaction to one of our products and we certainly hope that he is okay! We highly recommend our Tide Free & Gentle for babies and those with sensitive skin. It's free of dyes and perfumes. We hope you'll give it a try. Thank you!
Review 15 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Totally Poor Product

"
October 13, 2014
"I tried the Tide pods because Tide powder, which I would normally use, is no longer available. Like many others have pointed out, this product is the absolute worst. As others have noted, the pods do not always dissolve completely. And before someone from P&G customer service replies to ask, the answer is yes I do put the pods in the drum first and NO the machine is not overloaded! Nonetheless, I still end up with purple blotches on my clothes. Before, whenever I did a load of laundry, I always programmed an extra rinse cycle. However, since I've been using the pods I find it necessary to add an extra, extra rinse cycle - and even that does not always work. Ocassionally, I still end up with purple blotches from the undissolved pod. Having to add an extra, extra rinse is obviously a complete waste of energy and water, and it's a step I should not have to take! The idea of the pods is commendable however execution is sorely lacking. Designers need to go back to the drawing board and find a better dissolving material to encapsulate the detergent. I guess I'll have to start using the liquid from now on."
- JustPlanBad
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
We're so sorry to hear this! We don't expect this to happen with proper use, but we would like to learn more so that we can make this right. Please call us at 1-855-236-3353. Thank you!
Review 16 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Didn't dissolve

"
October 12, 2014
"I just did a load of lights and as I emptied the dryer folding everything I found the pod completely intact. I put it in the washing machine first, it was a large but not an oversized load of light weight items. I guess I'm really lucky it didn't open in the dryer, but now I have very nicely folded dirty clothes I have to wash again. I love the concept but I won't buy again."
- Anonymous
Phoenix
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Oh no! It sounds like you followed all of the instructions and still had an issue with our PODS®. Please give us a call at your convenience so that we can help you out! You can reach us at 1-855-236-3353. Thank you!
Review 17 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Not what I expected

"
October 10, 2014
"I've been a Tide user for many years so I assumed the Pods would do a great job with less work.
Now my whites have wide blue streaks in them, hubby's shirts have streaks or stains that I can't remove.
I do read the directions and put the pods in the machine first.
I will have to discard the rest of the Pods I'm sorry to say.
"
- missannie
Melbourne, FL
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
We're sorry to hear this! Overloading can also be an issue here. If you think this is a recurring issue or if you cannot get the stains to come out, please call us at 1-855-236-3353. Thanks for giving us a try!
Review 18 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods

"
October 10, 2014
"Absolutely hate this product! I was done washing my clothes so I put them in the dryer. When I took them out I noticed a hard light purple spot on my clothes. I soon realized that it was what was left of the pod. It apartently did not disolve all the way when they were getting washed so when I dried my clothes they were little hard spot on multiple clothing. So I washed them again with a liquid digergant from a different brand, and it turned out great! No hard spots and I didn't have to wash my clothes twice. I would not recommend this product to anyone."
- Avery
Atlanta
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Avery, we're sorry to hear that you've had trouble with your PODS®. We don't expect this to happen if you follow the instructions. If you placed the POD® directly in the machine before adding clothes and did not overload, then you should not be experiencing this problem. If this is the case, please call us at 1-855-236-3353. Thank you!
Review 19 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Ruined clothes

"
October 2, 2014
"I am so upset this pod ruined a TON of my family's clothing before I realized this was actually the culprit! I have had to throw out multiple pieces, some that were worn once!!!!, because of big bleach spots. :( :( :(
I have a brand new HE washer machine, so I know it is really the product. I switched back to liquid detergent and haven't had a problem since.
"
- ErinNO
New Jersey
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
Erin, we are so sorry to hear about your experience with Tide PODS®. Although your clothes were stained by our product, it did not contain bleach. We can often help to remove these stains. Stains are caused by not inserting the POD® in the machine before adding clothes and by overloading. We hope you will try us again with these instructions and if it happens again, please call at 1-800-879-8433. Thank you.
Review 20 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

There is a problem with Pods

"
October 1, 2014
"We have been washing clothes for decades and have used Tide exclusively for all of these years. We recently switched to Tide Pods and immediately noticed bluish/purple stains appearing on clothes, bed sheets, and wash cloths. The stains seem to be particularly bad in the perspiration area of shirts. Numerous clothes have been ruined.
The Pods are always put in first, we never overload the machine, and the washers are less than two years old. There is a problem!
"
- HarryC
San Antonio, TX
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
This is so strange, Harry! Please call us at your convenience at 1-800-879-8433 so that we can figure out what is going wrong here. Thank you!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 94 next>>