Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent
Average Customer Rating:
3.878 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(2045 Reviews) 1851
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (2,045 reviews)
5 stars
1,166
4 stars
292
3 stars
119
2 stars
108
1 star
360
1,530 of 2,045(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent
Review 1 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

You MUST try these!!!!!

"
August 14, 2014
"I was shocked how great these pods work. I normally used Tide Free liquid but had to add things where stains were present. These Tide Pods got ALL problem stains out the first time! Amazing is what I call these Pods just try them you'll see............"
- Gpevas
Parma Heights
0 users found this helpful
Review 2 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Pod stains

"
August 5, 2014
"This is an awful product - Stained and ruined my favorite white shirt - Not the first time . Never buy !!!!!!!!!"
- SueMac
baltimore
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 8, 2014
Hello, Sue. We are so sorry about this and would love to make it right. Please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433 so that we can see what went wrong here. Thank you.
Review 3 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Correct the problem!

"
July 15, 2014
"I too have had issues with blue staining in my laundry while using the Tide Pods. After reading all of the negative reviews, when can we expect a solution. How about remove the blue dye in the product?"
- Tideboohoo
Edison, NJ
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there! We're so sorry about your bad experience with these PODs. We are trying to help all of our customers with this issue. First, follow these tips. Always put your POD in the machine before you add clothes and water. Never overload and don't use the dispenser drawer. If you are certain that you have followed all of these steps and this has still happened, please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433 so that we can get to the bottom of it. Thank you!
Review 4 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Stains clothes, leaves sticky residue "lump"

"
July 9, 2014
"I am tired of seeing people being told that if instructions are followed as directed, the pods will dissolve completely. This is not true. I've had a sticky residue "lump" left on my clothes at least three times, (doesn't come off, btw) and now my favorite white shorts are stained with a blue streak.
There are times I have to fill the washer completely and the pod still doesn't dissolve, and then I have to run it with no clothes in for a minute to get the pods to pop. Then I have to add the clothes, pushing them down into the water. FAR from convenient!
It's sad when you have to check your clothes completely when they come out of the washer to make sure you don't set the stains by putting them directly into the dryer. And the sticky lump will also remain on your clothes after the dryer. Again...how is this more convenient?"
- Shelley678
PA
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there, Shelley. So we always advise putting the POD right in the drum before you add water or clothing. If you get any plastic dried on your clothes, be sure to soak the garment in hot water for at least an hour. This should ensure that it dissolves.
A member of our team at 1-800-879-8433 can help you figure out what is going wrong here! We hope that we can be of some help here. Thank you!
Review 5 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

arm pit stains

"
July 6, 2014
"Tide Pods turn all my white arm pits purple and cannot remove them. Tried bleach, peroxide."
- Dufus
Wisconsin
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there! We're so sorry about the stains you've been experiencing. However, this could be an issue that goes beyond the product. Sometimes, a combination of perspiration and deodorant can sink into the fabric of garments and react during the washing process. This could be solved with a little bit of pretreating with the proper product. If you'd like to learn more about this, just give us a call at 1-800-879-8433. Thanks!
Review 6 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointed

"
July 4, 2014
"I have used Tide product for a while but most recently have switched to the PODS. HUGE mistake!!!
They have destroyed bath towels and clothing by leaving a blue/purple stain on my clothing. You do not notice on dark clothing but can not hide it on light colours.
I will not by this product again."
- Chef
Honesdale, PA
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there, Chef! We're so sorry that you have had issues with our Tide PODs. This could very well be a simple fix. Always throw in your POD directly in the machine before you load your clothes and never overload. We would love to get some more details about this incident if you could give us a call at 1-800-879-8433. Thanks!
Review 7 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Damaging

"
June 29, 2014
"Have used this product for months with great results but lately the pods are not fully dissolving and have left plastic residue on my clothes. This residue is impossible to remove. I will have to stop using the pods until they correct this issue."
- Teribird
New Jersey
Review 8 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Horrible smell

"
June 22, 2014
"I normally buy liquid Tide with no perfume, but I thought I'd try these new pods.
Since I could not find unscented pods, I tried one of the scented ones.
Big mistake. What a horrible cheap smell! It permeates the whole house, and I had to re-wash my clothes with other detergent to get rid of the smell.
I ended up throwing away the rest of the pods after the first wash.
I know these things are being sold because enough people buy them, but I can't imagine walking around smelling like this.
Needless to say, I'll never buy this again unless unscented type is offered."
- Anonymous
West Va
Response from Tide:By P&G Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 25, 2014
We're sorry you're disappointed with the scent of Tide Pods. If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.
Review 9 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

ruined my clothes

"
June 20, 2014
"used Tide pods for 3 reasons, less waste, convenience, good cleaning record. NO LONGER THE CASE! I followed the directions and ruined so many clothes I could scream. a brand new uniform is RUINED as well as a new T and some other clothes. RUINED with PURPLE/BLUE STAINS. and I didn't notice them until they were dry and nothing is taking the stains out."
- lass
corpus christi, texas
Response from Tide:By P&G Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Tide Pods. Often, it is sufficient to wash the stained item again via another wash load using either a Pod or a liquid laundry detergent. If this does not work:

Rinse the stain under hot water to remove as much as possible.
Gently wring the excess water from the item and lay it out flat.
Apply household rubbing alcohol/burning alcohol to the stain, making sure it covers the entire stain. (Test on similar fabric or inside fold first.)
Let the stain soak for at least 10 minutes – the longer the better.
Using warm or hot water, rinse the fabric and this should remove the stain.
If the stain has not been completely removed, repeat the steps above

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.
Review 10 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

dissappointed

"
June 18, 2014
"I have always used tide laundry detergent because I Love it. I decided to try the tide pods 90 pac. I used them and noticed that it didn't dissolve all the way so i re washed my laundry and it was fine. The next load i did i made sure i put in less laundry thinking that would help, but again it didn't dissolve all the way leaving blue and white slimy detergent and plastic on my clothes. I won't ever use tide pods again. I would really like to be reimbursed so I can buy regular detergent that won't ruin my laundry!!!!!"
- tlnmoore
utah
Response from Tide:By P&G Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods not dissolving completely in your washing machine. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.
Review 11 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Thanks for ruining my favorite LSU t-shirt!

"
June 14, 2014
"Tide pods work great if you are not a) using an he machine, while also b) washing larger pieces of fabric, like sheets, robes, blankets, etc. The pods will become tangled in the fabric and fail to dissolve adequately, but you won't notice until after you've already dried your clothes and the undissolved plastic/detergent has already melted into and/or stained your clothes.
And yes, this happens even if you place the pod in the bottom before the clothes, put an appropriate amount of clothes in the machine, wash the load on the appropriate setting for the load...in other words, actually follow the directions on the packaging (which also plainly states they dissolve in all temps- guess that's not true). Brand new sheets, a blanket, and a favorite shirt ruined. Thanks."
- AshleyBR
Baton Rouge
2 users found this helpful
Review 12 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Furious!

"
June 5, 2014
"Pods DO NOT Dissolve. 1st time user and last time. Our first use and all our laundry is BLUE with sticky residue...very disappointed."
- Nurse24
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 9, 2014
We're sorry you're furious with your experience with Tide Pods. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 13 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Plastic Pod sticks to clothes

"
June 5, 2014
"I have used a store brand of pod and had no problem. Tide has always been a strong, effective detergent that I grew up with. Thought I would try the Tide Pods. The 1st load, my quilt came out of the dryer with areas that were stuck together w/ blue stuff. The 2nd was cotton underwear, had a pair that again was stuck together with something blue that had melted onto it. The plastic POD did not full dissolve,melting onto the garment/quilt. I could pull the quilt apart, but the underwear were ruined. I have this very large container of PODS that I will need to pre-dissolve in a cup prior to use in my front loading washer. I will not buy the Tide Pods again, but will by the store brand."
- BJLou
Sand Lake, MI
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 9, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the experience washing your quilt. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 14 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

STAINS!

"
June 5, 2014
"I always use tide liquid and never have a problem, but I bought the tide pods because I was moving and knew I needed to travel with detergent.. anyways my boyfriend and I both did laundry on separate occasions and both times left with stains. I, of course, thought he used them wrong and I did a load of clothes a week later and ruined half of our things... I hate this product and will never use it again. id rather pay and use the liquid than have more of my nice expensive work clothes ruined. I honestly do not think I will ever use tide again. Don't buy these people, you will regret it."
- EmilyB
Birmingham, AL
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 9, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods not dissolving completely in your washing machine, Emily. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps get your Pod purchase replaced with the liquid you usually use, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 15 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Laundry Pods and Boost left stains

"
June 1, 2014
"I love tide and it has been great with our cloths for years. I got tired of my boys wasting the detergent so I bout the pods. At first it worked great, then after a few times washing, I noticed blue stains under the armpits of all our white cloths. Then I noticed when we use the boot pods...we now have Pink tinted whites all over! all of my sons teeshirts are ruined and I have tried baking soda and other stain removers with out bleach to get the stain off. Nothing works. I though I was alone in this situation, however I now see there are many complaints. Help!"
- Monell
Texas
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 5, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods staining clothes. We’ve extensively tested the Pods, and we feel certain they’ll not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 16 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

glued clothes

"
May 30, 2014
"I been trying out these pods thinking they save me the mess of the liquid. But twice now i have these glue stains on my clothes. First time i thought it could've been something else but now i know its the pod. i still have a full bag and out of money which we don't have."
- spazz
virginia
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 5, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods staining clothes. We’ve extensively tested the Pods, and we feel certain they’ll not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 17 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

What a mess....

"
May 26, 2014
"Tonight I reached in to the Tide container to pull out a Pod for a load of laundry I was about to start and I found a gooey, sticky mess. Apparently, some of the Pods had melted and leaked. If that wasn't enough, the remaining Pods are all stuck together. There is no way I'm going to get them apart without breaking more. My laundry room is in the basement which is the coolest area in my house and it's only May. Can't imagine what I would find in August. Luckily, I won't be buying them again so I won't be finding out."
- Ready1219
Bolingbrook, IL
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 5, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the mess! It may be helpful to know we recommend handling Pods with dry hands and closing the package between each use. Since the packets are designed to dissolve in water, it's important the unused ones remain dry.


If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 18 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Pod Sticks to clothes and won't wash out!

"
May 26, 2014
"I've used other brands and had spots on my clothes and had to rehash to remove them. I thought I would pay a little more for the Tide brand with hopes to not waste so much water. I was wrong! Nt only did I have to rehash clothes that were spotted, also I've had 3 loads I couldn't save due to the pods not dissolving and sticking like super glue. My clothes were stuck together and wouldn't come apart.
I was able to run very hot water over some to unstick them and them had to run another cycle to wash it all out. However, I just washed a new set of King size luxury Egyptian cotton sheet set and the same thing happened again! I tried to separate the material but again it was like glue and TORE my NEW sheet! I'll NEVER RECOMMEND OR USE AGAIN!!! Furious!
"
- Vrt64
NC
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 5, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods not dissolving completely in your washing machine. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 19 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

Leaves Permanent Marks on Clothing

"
May 26, 2014
"I really like the pods, they clean well, and leave a great scent on the clothes. I have been using the pods for about 6 months. I have recently noticed white streaks on T-shirts, towels and sheets. They are permanent and look like bleach marks. I never use bleach as I am on a well/septic system. I am very careful to follow instructions to avoid this sort of damage to garments. I see other reviews mention purple or blue marks, although I did not read every review to see if anyone else has experienced the white markings."
- mfe13
Raleigh, NC
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 5, 2014
Hi.

We're sorry to hear about the white marks. There's nothing in the Pods that would cause bleaching of fabrics. There are several common household and personal items that may cause this.

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 20 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

As everyone said- They don't dissolve.

"
May 25, 2014
"I got these, wanting to simplify my laundry room, having a pretreater, oxi, and tide pods, but its not meant to be. I read the instructions, and followed them to a T. My laundry came out with the casing fused to my husbands clothes, and with blue dye all over. I use soft water, and a great washing machine, so what gives?
I have resorted to pre-dissolving my "easy and simple" pods before I add them to the wash. I am doing this, just so I don't waste them. I am really unhappy, as other tide, especially Tide Ultra white and bright with bleach was rated really well. I am just so upset that all my husbands work close were destroyed. If this is happening to you, I advise you to get ride of them, or dissolve them immediately before use. Really shocked that this is a tide product.
"
- Raceheal
Mn
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 5, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods not dissolving completely in your washing machine and your husbands work clothing. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 93 next>>