Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent
Average Customer Rating:
3.866 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(2057 Reviews) 1863
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (2,057 reviews)
5 stars
1,167
4 stars
292
3 stars
120
2 stars
111
1 star
367
1,532 of 2,057(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent
Review 1 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods

"
October 21, 2014
"I have always used tide. Recently tried the pods and have been greatly disappointed. blue spots all over white t shirts and other whites."
- sclark
ohio
Review 2 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Totally Poor Product

"
October 13, 2014
"I tried the Tide pods because Tide powder, which I would normally use, is no longer available. Like many others have pointed out, this product is the absolute worst. As others have noted, the pods do not always dissolve completely. And before someone from P&G customer service replies to ask, the answer is yes I do put the pods in the drum first and NO the machine is not overloaded! Nonetheless, I still end up with purple blotches on my clothes. Before, whenever I did a load of laundry, I always programmed an extra rinse cycle. However, since I've been using the pods I find it necessary to add an extra, extra rinse cycle - and even that does not always work. Ocassionally, I still end up with purple blotches from the undissolved pod. Having to add an extra, extra rinse is obviously a complete waste of energy and water, and it's a step I should not have to take! The idea of the pods is commendable however execution is sorely lacking. Designers need to go back to the drawing board and find a better dissolving material to encapsulate the detergent. I guess I'll have to start using the liquid from now on."
- JustPlanBad
Review 3 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Didn't dissolve

"
October 12, 2014
"I just did a load of lights and as I emptied the dryer folding everything I found the pod completely intact. I put it in the washing machine first, it was a large but not an oversized load of light weight items. I guess I'm really lucky it didn't open in the dryer, but now I have very nicely folded dirty clothes I have to wash again. I love the concept but I won't buy again."
- Anonymous
Phoenix
Review 4 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Not what I expected

"
October 10, 2014
"I've been a Tide user for many years so I assumed the Pods would do a great job with less work.
Now my whites have wide blue streaks in them, hubby's shirts have streaks or stains that I can't remove.
I do read the directions and put the pods in the machine first.
I will have to discard the rest of the Pods I'm sorry to say.
"
- missannie
Melbourne, FL
Review 5 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods

"
October 10, 2014
"Absolutely hate this product! I was done washing my clothes so I put them in the dryer. When I took them out I noticed a hard light purple spot on my clothes. I soon realized that it was what was left of the pod. It apartently did not disolve all the way when they were getting washed so when I dried my clothes they were little hard spot on multiple clothing. So I washed them again with a liquid digergant from a different brand, and it turned out great! No hard spots and I didn't have to wash my clothes twice. I would not recommend this product to anyone."
- Avery
Atlanta
Review 6 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Ruined clothes

"
October 2, 2014
"I am so upset this pod ruined a TON of my family's clothing before I realized this was actually the culprit! I have had to throw out multiple pieces, some that were worn once!!!!, because of big bleach spots. :( :( :(
I have a brand new HE washer machine, so I know it is really the product. I switched back to liquid detergent and haven't had a problem since.
"
- ErinNO
New Jersey
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
Erin, we are so sorry to hear about your experience with Tide PODS®. Although your clothes were stained by our product, it did not contain bleach. We can often help to remove these stains. Stains are caused by not inserting the POD® in the machine before adding clothes and by overloading. We hope you will try us again with these instructions and if it happens again, please call at 1-800-879-8433. Thank you.
Review 7 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

There is a problem with Pods

"
October 1, 2014
"We have been washing clothes for decades and have used Tide exclusively for all of these years. We recently switched to Tide Pods and immediately noticed bluish/purple stains appearing on clothes, bed sheets, and wash cloths. The stains seem to be particularly bad in the perspiration area of shirts. Numerous clothes have been ruined.
The Pods are always put in first, we never overload the machine, and the washers are less than two years old. There is a problem!
"
- HarryC
San Antonio, TX
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
This is so strange, Harry! Please call us at your convenience at 1-800-879-8433 so that we can figure out what is going wrong here. Thank you!
Review 8 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

College Woes

"
September 29, 2014
"I used Tide Pods as a sophomore in college and I also used them as a freshman.
Last year, they did alright, but occasionally left a gooey/sticky mess on my clothes from the plastic pod.
This year, they've dyed blue splotches in many of my favorite clothes (luckily it washed out with warm water and stain remover). As I write this, at least five of my clothes are being re-washed for the third time this semester.
I'm switching ASAP to a different brand."
- AllieK
Danville, KY
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
Hi Allie! If you are inserting the POD® directly into the machine and not overloading, then we are concerned as to what is causing these stains. Check that you're following these instructions and get back to us if the problem persists at 1-800-879-8433. Thank you!
Review 9 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

Easy to use

"
September 24, 2014
"I bought the Pods because they seem faster and cleaner. I just bought a new washer the front loader Duet. For some reason the pod is exploding on our clothes. Every few loads I see purple or sticky stuff on our clothes. I really like the idea of the pods I just don't feel like the new batch I bought is dissolving as well as it used to in my old washer. I don't know if I can keep using them if this keeps happening. Pods are a GREAT concept. I just wish they dissolved more efficiently."
- banksfam6
AZ
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
We think we can help. Make sure that you are adding the POD® into the machine before adding clothes and be sure you're not overloading. If you check back to make sure you're following these instructions and still experiencing issues, please call at 1-800-879-8433. And to get those stains out, soak in hot water for at least an hour so the plastic will dissolve. Thanks!
Review 10 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Blue problem!

"
September 18, 2014
"This product has a problem. It leaves blue stains on white or lightly colored (ex.; light yellow) and other garments. And subsequent washing with Tide Pods or Tide detergent doesn't resolve the stain. After decades of using only Tide I will be looking for another detergent. I really hope you can get this problem solved."
- Peewee
Lexington, ky
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
We're sorry to hear that you've had issues with this product and we would like to help. First, be sure that you are adding the POD® to the machine's drum first before adding clothes and do not overload. If you follow these instructions and experience the same results, please call at 1-800-879-8433. Thank you!
Review 11 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Only Detergent I Use In Washing Machine!

"
September 16, 2014
"Use Tide Pods HE as soon as they came out. At first I did not use it correctly, and learned how to use it correctly when I called Tide. They kindly educated me. Learned to place the pod at the bottom of the tub and towards the front, UNDER the clothes. Never had a problem after that. Use it in conjunction with Tide Liquid HE directly on stains as soon as I discover a stain. By the time I do laundry, the Tide Liquid HE would be dry. Then I used Tide Pods HE in the laundry room and Laundromat. Love it because it does not make a mess. They are easy to transport in a plastic bag. If kept around for a long time, the white part becomes dark, but it still works just as well. Know of no other brand that works as well!"
- MonicaPz
Beacon, NY
Review 12 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Purple Stains!

"
September 12, 2014
"I have been a Tide user forever. Anytime I try a brand I am disappointed. I love the idea of the Tide pods for making the laundry one tiny bit easier.
I started noticing purple stains on my husbands white t-shirts (just about the only white clothes in my household). I could not figure out what he was doing to get these stains. And then I realized they weren’t on the shirts BEFORE I washed them and it occurred to me that it’s from the Pods.
I do everything “right”... Pod in first, not overloading at all, not using delicate, cycle runs a full-length, wash in warm, etc. But still we get stains every time on whatever shirt happened to be sitting on top of the pod.
Very disappointing. Fortunately for me these are all undershirts, so not visible. And the stain does eventually wash out on it’s own.
No more pods for me. I’m giving the Gain pods a try right now, but I’m guessing Tide liquid will be back on my list.
These should NOT be used for whites of any kind.
"
- alhj
Matthews, NC
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
Hello! We think we may have an explanation for what is happening here. To ensure proper performance of Tide PODS®, be sure that you are adding one directly in the machine before clothes. And do not overload. If you are doing both of these things, then we would like to talk further. You can reach us at 1-800-879-8433. Thank you!
Review 13 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

You MUST try these!!!!!

"
August 14, 2014
"I was shocked how great these pods work. I normally used Tide Free liquid but had to add things where stains were present. These Tide Pods got ALL problem stains out the first time! Amazing is what I call these Pods just try them you'll see............"
- Gpevas
Parma Heights
0 users found this helpful
Review 14 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Pod stains

"
August 5, 2014
"This is an awful product - Stained and ruined my favorite white shirt - Not the first time . Never buy !!!!!!!!!"
- SueMac
baltimore
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 8, 2014
Hello, Sue. We are so sorry about this and would love to make it right. Please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433 so that we can see what went wrong here. Thank you.
Review 15 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Correct the problem!

"
July 15, 2014
"I too have had issues with blue staining in my laundry while using the Tide Pods. After reading all of the negative reviews, when can we expect a solution. How about remove the blue dye in the product?"
- Tideboohoo
Edison, NJ
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there! We're so sorry about your bad experience with these PODs. We are trying to help all of our customers with this issue. First, follow these tips. Always put your POD in the machine before you add clothes and water. Never overload and don't use the dispenser drawer. If you are certain that you have followed all of these steps and this has still happened, please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433 so that we can get to the bottom of it. Thank you!
Review 16 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Stains clothes, leaves sticky residue "lump"

"
July 9, 2014
"I am tired of seeing people being told that if instructions are followed as directed, the pods will dissolve completely. This is not true. I've had a sticky residue "lump" left on my clothes at least three times, (doesn't come off, btw) and now my favorite white shorts are stained with a blue streak.
There are times I have to fill the washer completely and the pod still doesn't dissolve, and then I have to run it with no clothes in for a minute to get the pods to pop. Then I have to add the clothes, pushing them down into the water. FAR from convenient!
It's sad when you have to check your clothes completely when they come out of the washer to make sure you don't set the stains by putting them directly into the dryer. And the sticky lump will also remain on your clothes after the dryer. Again...how is this more convenient?"
- Shelley678
PA
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there, Shelley. So we always advise putting the POD right in the drum before you add water or clothing. If you get any plastic dried on your clothes, be sure to soak the garment in hot water for at least an hour. This should ensure that it dissolves.
A member of our team at 1-800-879-8433 can help you figure out what is going wrong here! We hope that we can be of some help here. Thank you!
Review 17 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

arm pit stains

"
July 6, 2014
"Tide Pods turn all my white arm pits purple and cannot remove them. Tried bleach, peroxide."
- Dufus
Wisconsin
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there! We're so sorry about the stains you've been experiencing. However, this could be an issue that goes beyond the product. Sometimes, a combination of perspiration and deodorant can sink into the fabric of garments and react during the washing process. This could be solved with a little bit of pretreating with the proper product. If you'd like to learn more about this, just give us a call at 1-800-879-8433. Thanks!
Review 18 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointed

"
July 4, 2014
"I have used Tide product for a while but most recently have switched to the PODS. HUGE mistake!!!
They have destroyed bath towels and clothing by leaving a blue/purple stain on my clothing. You do not notice on dark clothing but can not hide it on light colours.
I will not by this product again."
- Chef
Honesdale, PA
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there, Chef! We're so sorry that you have had issues with our Tide PODs. This could very well be a simple fix. Always throw in your POD directly in the machine before you load your clothes and never overload. We would love to get some more details about this incident if you could give us a call at 1-800-879-8433. Thanks!
Review 19 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Damaging

"
June 29, 2014
"Have used this product for months with great results but lately the pods are not fully dissolving and have left plastic residue on my clothes. This residue is impossible to remove. I will have to stop using the pods until they correct this issue."
- Teribird
New Jersey
Review 20 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Horrible smell

"
June 22, 2014
"I normally buy liquid Tide with no perfume, but I thought I'd try these new pods.
Since I could not find unscented pods, I tried one of the scented ones.
Big mistake. What a horrible cheap smell! It permeates the whole house, and I had to re-wash my clothes with other detergent to get rid of the smell.
I ended up throwing away the rest of the pods after the first wash.
I know these things are being sold because enough people buy them, but I can't imagine walking around smelling like this.
Needless to say, I'll never buy this again unless unscented type is offered."
- Anonymous
West Va
Response from Tide:By P&G Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 25, 2014
We're sorry you're disappointed with the scent of Tide Pods. If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 94 next>>