Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent
Average Customer Rating:
3.852 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(2070 Reviews) 1876
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (2,070 reviews)
5 stars
1,168
4 stars
292
3 stars
121
2 stars
113
1 star
376
1,534 of 2,070(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent
Review 21 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

College Woes

"
September 29, 2014
"I used Tide Pods as a sophomore in college and I also used them as a freshman.
Last year, they did alright, but occasionally left a gooey/sticky mess on my clothes from the plastic pod.
This year, they've dyed blue splotches in many of my favorite clothes (luckily it washed out with warm water and stain remover). As I write this, at least five of my clothes are being re-washed for the third time this semester.
I'm switching ASAP to a different brand."
- AllieK
Danville, KY
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
Hi Allie! If you are inserting the POD® directly into the machine and not overloading, then we are concerned as to what is causing these stains. Check that you're following these instructions and get back to us if the problem persists at 1-800-879-8433. Thank you!
Review 22 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

Easy to use

"
September 24, 2014
"I bought the Pods because they seem faster and cleaner. I just bought a new washer the front loader Duet. For some reason the pod is exploding on our clothes. Every few loads I see purple or sticky stuff on our clothes. I really like the idea of the pods I just don't feel like the new batch I bought is dissolving as well as it used to in my old washer. I don't know if I can keep using them if this keeps happening. Pods are a GREAT concept. I just wish they dissolved more efficiently."
- banksfam6
AZ
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
We think we can help. Make sure that you are adding the POD® into the machine before adding clothes and be sure you're not overloading. If you check back to make sure you're following these instructions and still experiencing issues, please call at 1-800-879-8433. And to get those stains out, soak in hot water for at least an hour so the plastic will dissolve. Thanks!
Review 23 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Blue problem!

"
September 18, 2014
"This product has a problem. It leaves blue stains on white or lightly colored (ex.; light yellow) and other garments. And subsequent washing with Tide Pods or Tide detergent doesn't resolve the stain. After decades of using only Tide I will be looking for another detergent. I really hope you can get this problem solved."
- Peewee
Lexington, ky
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
We're sorry to hear that you've had issues with this product and we would like to help. First, be sure that you are adding the POD® to the machine's drum first before adding clothes and do not overload. If you follow these instructions and experience the same results, please call at 1-800-879-8433. Thank you!
Review 24 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Only Detergent I Use In Washing Machine!

"
September 16, 2014
"Use Tide Pods HE as soon as they came out. At first I did not use it correctly, and learned how to use it correctly when I called Tide. They kindly educated me. Learned to place the pod at the bottom of the tub and towards the front, UNDER the clothes. Never had a problem after that. Use it in conjunction with Tide Liquid HE directly on stains as soon as I discover a stain. By the time I do laundry, the Tide Liquid HE would be dry. Then I used Tide Pods HE in the laundry room and Laundromat. Love it because it does not make a mess. They are easy to transport in a plastic bag. If kept around for a long time, the white part becomes dark, but it still works just as well. Know of no other brand that works as well!"
- MonicaPz
Beacon, NY
Review 25 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Purple Stains!

"
September 12, 2014
"I have been a Tide user forever. Anytime I try a brand I am disappointed. I love the idea of the Tide pods for making the laundry one tiny bit easier.
I started noticing purple stains on my husbands white t-shirts (just about the only white clothes in my household). I could not figure out what he was doing to get these stains. And then I realized they weren’t on the shirts BEFORE I washed them and it occurred to me that it’s from the Pods.
I do everything “right”... Pod in first, not overloading at all, not using delicate, cycle runs a full-length, wash in warm, etc. But still we get stains every time on whatever shirt happened to be sitting on top of the pod.
Very disappointing. Fortunately for me these are all undershirts, so not visible. And the stain does eventually wash out on it’s own.
No more pods for me. I’m giving the Gain pods a try right now, but I’m guessing Tide liquid will be back on my list.
These should NOT be used for whites of any kind.
"
- alhj
Matthews, NC
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
Hello! We think we may have an explanation for what is happening here. To ensure proper performance of Tide PODS®, be sure that you are adding one directly in the machine before clothes. And do not overload. If you are doing both of these things, then we would like to talk further. You can reach us at 1-800-879-8433. Thank you!
Review 26 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

You MUST try these!!!!!

"
August 14, 2014
"I was shocked how great these pods work. I normally used Tide Free liquid but had to add things where stains were present. These Tide Pods got ALL problem stains out the first time! Amazing is what I call these Pods just try them you'll see............"
- Gpevas
Parma Heights
0 users found this helpful
Review 27 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Pod stains

"
August 5, 2014
"This is an awful product - Stained and ruined my favorite white shirt - Not the first time . Never buy !!!!!!!!!"
- SueMac
baltimore
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 8, 2014
Hello, Sue. We are so sorry about this and would love to make it right. Please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433 so that we can see what went wrong here. Thank you.
Review 28 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Correct the problem!

"
July 15, 2014
"I too have had issues with blue staining in my laundry while using the Tide Pods. After reading all of the negative reviews, when can we expect a solution. How about remove the blue dye in the product?"
- Tideboohoo
Edison, NJ
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there! We're so sorry about your bad experience with these PODs. We are trying to help all of our customers with this issue. First, follow these tips. Always put your POD in the machine before you add clothes and water. Never overload and don't use the dispenser drawer. If you are certain that you have followed all of these steps and this has still happened, please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433 so that we can get to the bottom of it. Thank you!
Review 29 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Stains clothes, leaves sticky residue "lump"

"
July 9, 2014
"I am tired of seeing people being told that if instructions are followed as directed, the pods will dissolve completely. This is not true. I've had a sticky residue "lump" left on my clothes at least three times, (doesn't come off, btw) and now my favorite white shorts are stained with a blue streak.
There are times I have to fill the washer completely and the pod still doesn't dissolve, and then I have to run it with no clothes in for a minute to get the pods to pop. Then I have to add the clothes, pushing them down into the water. FAR from convenient!
It's sad when you have to check your clothes completely when they come out of the washer to make sure you don't set the stains by putting them directly into the dryer. And the sticky lump will also remain on your clothes after the dryer. Again...how is this more convenient?"
- Shelley678
PA
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there, Shelley. So we always advise putting the POD right in the drum before you add water or clothing. If you get any plastic dried on your clothes, be sure to soak the garment in hot water for at least an hour. This should ensure that it dissolves.
A member of our team at 1-800-879-8433 can help you figure out what is going wrong here! We hope that we can be of some help here. Thank you!
Review 30 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

arm pit stains

"
July 6, 2014
"Tide Pods turn all my white arm pits purple and cannot remove them. Tried bleach, peroxide."
- Dufus
Wisconsin
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there! We're so sorry about the stains you've been experiencing. However, this could be an issue that goes beyond the product. Sometimes, a combination of perspiration and deodorant can sink into the fabric of garments and react during the washing process. This could be solved with a little bit of pretreating with the proper product. If you'd like to learn more about this, just give us a call at 1-800-879-8433. Thanks!
Review 31 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointed

"
July 4, 2014
"I have used Tide product for a while but most recently have switched to the PODS. HUGE mistake!!!
They have destroyed bath towels and clothing by leaving a blue/purple stain on my clothing. You do not notice on dark clothing but can not hide it on light colours.
I will not by this product again."
- Chef
Honesdale, PA
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there, Chef! We're so sorry that you have had issues with our Tide PODs. This could very well be a simple fix. Always throw in your POD directly in the machine before you load your clothes and never overload. We would love to get some more details about this incident if you could give us a call at 1-800-879-8433. Thanks!
Review 32 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Damaging

"
June 29, 2014
"Have used this product for months with great results but lately the pods are not fully dissolving and have left plastic residue on my clothes. This residue is impossible to remove. I will have to stop using the pods until they correct this issue."
- Teribird
New Jersey
Review 33 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Horrible smell

"
June 22, 2014
"I normally buy liquid Tide with no perfume, but I thought I'd try these new pods.
Since I could not find unscented pods, I tried one of the scented ones.
Big mistake. What a horrible cheap smell! It permeates the whole house, and I had to re-wash my clothes with other detergent to get rid of the smell.
I ended up throwing away the rest of the pods after the first wash.
I know these things are being sold because enough people buy them, but I can't imagine walking around smelling like this.
Needless to say, I'll never buy this again unless unscented type is offered."
- Anonymous
West Va
Response from Tide:By P&G Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 25, 2014
We're sorry you're disappointed with the scent of Tide Pods. If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.
Review 34 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

ruined my clothes

"
June 20, 2014
"used Tide pods for 3 reasons, less waste, convenience, good cleaning record. NO LONGER THE CASE! I followed the directions and ruined so many clothes I could scream. a brand new uniform is RUINED as well as a new T and some other clothes. RUINED with PURPLE/BLUE STAINS. and I didn't notice them until they were dry and nothing is taking the stains out."
- lass
corpus christi, texas
Response from Tide:By P&G Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Tide Pods. Often, it is sufficient to wash the stained item again via another wash load using either a Pod or a liquid laundry detergent. If this does not work:

Rinse the stain under hot water to remove as much as possible.
Gently wring the excess water from the item and lay it out flat.
Apply household rubbing alcohol/burning alcohol to the stain, making sure it covers the entire stain. (Test on similar fabric or inside fold first.)
Let the stain soak for at least 10 minutes – the longer the better.
Using warm or hot water, rinse the fabric and this should remove the stain.
If the stain has not been completely removed, repeat the steps above

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.
Review 35 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

dissappointed

"
June 18, 2014
"I have always used tide laundry detergent because I Love it. I decided to try the tide pods 90 pac. I used them and noticed that it didn't dissolve all the way so i re washed my laundry and it was fine. The next load i did i made sure i put in less laundry thinking that would help, but again it didn't dissolve all the way leaving blue and white slimy detergent and plastic on my clothes. I won't ever use tide pods again. I would really like to be reimbursed so I can buy regular detergent that won't ruin my laundry!!!!!"
- tlnmoore
utah
Response from Tide:By P&G Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods not dissolving completely in your washing machine. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.
Review 36 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Thanks for ruining my favorite LSU t-shirt!

"
June 14, 2014
"Tide pods work great if you are not a) using an he machine, while also b) washing larger pieces of fabric, like sheets, robes, blankets, etc. The pods will become tangled in the fabric and fail to dissolve adequately, but you won't notice until after you've already dried your clothes and the undissolved plastic/detergent has already melted into and/or stained your clothes.
And yes, this happens even if you place the pod in the bottom before the clothes, put an appropriate amount of clothes in the machine, wash the load on the appropriate setting for the load...in other words, actually follow the directions on the packaging (which also plainly states they dissolve in all temps- guess that's not true). Brand new sheets, a blanket, and a favorite shirt ruined. Thanks."
- AshleyBR
Baton Rouge
2 users found this helpful
Review 37 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Furious!

"
June 5, 2014
"Pods DO NOT Dissolve. 1st time user and last time. Our first use and all our laundry is BLUE with sticky residue...very disappointed."
- Nurse24
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 9, 2014
We're sorry you're furious with your experience with Tide Pods. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 38 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Plastic Pod sticks to clothes

"
June 5, 2014
"I have used a store brand of pod and had no problem. Tide has always been a strong, effective detergent that I grew up with. Thought I would try the Tide Pods. The 1st load, my quilt came out of the dryer with areas that were stuck together w/ blue stuff. The 2nd was cotton underwear, had a pair that again was stuck together with something blue that had melted onto it. The plastic POD did not full dissolve,melting onto the garment/quilt. I could pull the quilt apart, but the underwear were ruined. I have this very large container of PODS that I will need to pre-dissolve in a cup prior to use in my front loading washer. I will not buy the Tide Pods again, but will by the store brand."
- BJLou
Sand Lake, MI
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 9, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the experience washing your quilt. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 39 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

STAINS!

"
June 5, 2014
"I always use tide liquid and never have a problem, but I bought the tide pods because I was moving and knew I needed to travel with detergent.. anyways my boyfriend and I both did laundry on separate occasions and both times left with stains. I, of course, thought he used them wrong and I did a load of clothes a week later and ruined half of our things... I hate this product and will never use it again. id rather pay and use the liquid than have more of my nice expensive work clothes ruined. I honestly do not think I will ever use tide again. Don't buy these people, you will regret it."
- EmilyB
Birmingham, AL
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 9, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods not dissolving completely in your washing machine, Emily. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps get your Pod purchase replaced with the liquid you usually use, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 40 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Laundry Pods and Boost left stains

"
June 1, 2014
"I love tide and it has been great with our cloths for years. I got tired of my boys wasting the detergent so I bout the pods. At first it worked great, then after a few times washing, I noticed blue stains under the armpits of all our white cloths. Then I noticed when we use the boot pods...we now have Pink tinted whites all over! all of my sons teeshirts are ruined and I have tried baking soda and other stain removers with out bleach to get the stain off. Nothing works. I though I was alone in this situation, however I now see there are many complaints. Help!"
- Monell
Texas
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 5, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods staining clothes. We’ve extensively tested the Pods, and we feel certain they’ll not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 94 next>>