Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent
Average Customer Rating:
3.879 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(2043 Reviews) 1849
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (2,043 reviews)
5 stars
1,165
4 stars
292
3 stars
119
2 stars
108
1 star
359
1,529 of 2,043(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent
Review 21 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

Not for cold water

"
May 18, 2014
"My recommendation should really read yes AND no! I have used the Tide Pods now for quite a while, as they are very convenient and seem to do a great job when using warm water. Unfortunately, when using them in cold water loads (I have a two year old Whirlpool front loader), I am getting a sticky blue mess/residue on many of my items. It has happened with towels, sheets and basic clothing and it's inconvenient, to say the least. It also "gunks up" my washer well by the door with the same sticky substance. I find it a pain to have to have liquid detergent on hand for some loads and these Pods for others, so I may stop buying them altogether. Too bad because they do clean the clothing and linens well...when they work and they're so easy. Please fix this, Proctor & Gamble!"
- Owensfive
Northville, MI
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 5, 2014
Hi. Thanks for the review!

It may be helpful to know we recommend water be between 68 to 203 degrees F for the Pods to dissolve.

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.
Review 22 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods Stains

"
May 9, 2014
"As many others, I used the Pods and my clothes came out of the washer with purple gunk that left stains. Stain remover and soaking has not helped. I see from this site that many other have had the same experience. Response to the reviews say that Tide is confident that the fully dissolve...hmmm. I think I'll use something else. Maybe I'll try again if Tide changes the formula."
- MegM
Philadelphia
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsMay 12, 2014
As you mentioned, we feel confident the Pods will not leave stains when used as directed.

Still, if you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 23 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Leaves blue stains!

"
May 6, 2014
"Bought 2 containers of the Tide pods at Sams Club. The product seemed like a great idea and is simple to use but unfortunately when I wash whites many items come out with blue-purple stains. The stains are difficult to remove but can be done if soaked with stain remover. I always place the pod in first before the laundry and never overload but this always happens when I wash white clothes. Very frustrating! Will likely go back to liquid detergent or try other brands."
- L612
Ashland, OH
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsMay 9, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the stains on your white fabrics. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they will not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!

Fabric Care Community Manager
Review 24 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Purple stains and sticky goop

"
May 5, 2014
"Just like everyone else, I have stained clothes and sticky goop in the door gasket of my front loading washer. A friend stayed for a weekend recently and I washed his white oxford shirt with Tide Pods and it was stained purple and the stains could not be removed even when bleached. I was embarrassed. Since then I have switched to All Free & Clear Pods. There is no dye and they are half the price of Tide Pods. I will never use Tide Pods again."
- PbandJ
MA
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsMay 9, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the stains on your friend's white fabrics and the residue in your washer. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they will dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!

Fabric Care Community Manager
Review 25 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

disappointed and purple

"
April 29, 2014
"Wish I could insert the pictures I took of my purple stained clothes, left behind pod gel in my machine
and broken pods (about 6) in a newly opened canister.
You really need to improve this product or else I will need to switch brands!
"
- purplegoop
New York, NY
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsMay 2, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the purple stains and broken Pods. As far as the stains, we extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods that may help:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 26 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Purple stains

"
April 21, 2014
"I have been using pods in my HD washer for over a year however recently I have noticed that there some purple discoloration in my white cottons, particularly T-shirts. As others have mentioned, there is the occasional random purple spot which may be associated with the pod getting stuck and not fully dissolved for 30 seconds or so. However more frustrating, I am also noticing the purple color seems to be accumulating on white t-shirts on the underarms. With each wash the color gets deeper and it is not just one person in our family.
Perhaps there is a chemical reaction that is occurring to the pH or deodorant residue on the t-shirt which is attracting the purple die?
I don't know, but I am switching back to the old liquid for my whites.
"
- MN01
Minneapolis
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Tide Pods. Since the amount of help we can offer online is limited, we'd like to talk to you and perhaps replace your purchase with the liquid version.

Please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 27 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

discoloration of cotton materials

"
April 20, 2014
"Why is Tide pods making my white t-shirts purple, also my husbands undershirts under the arms?"
- BirdWatcher77
Pennsylvania
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Tide Pods. We know the most common cause for staining is not placing the Pod into the washing machine drum before adding clothing or having too large of a load of clothes.

If you'd ike to speak with someone about your experience, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!


Review 28 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods STAINED my clothes!

"
April 19, 2014
"As any college student would be, I was very excited about the convenience of these tide pods as I often have to travel to campus to do laundry. However, I would highly recommend customers buy a different brand or different type of laundry detergent. Tide pods are supposed to be an easy way to ensure the cleanliness of my clothing, including the removal of stains, when it did the exact opposite! The "stain removal" swirls on the top of the pods STAINED my clothes! I read the instructions, making sure that my loads were not full, washing on the warmest water my clothes could handle, and putting the pod in the washing machine first. What happened? --> in the very first load, 4 articles of clothing became stained with dark blue dots, and a few orange ones. Being a college student, as mentioned before, I do not have the spare money to go out and buy new clothes. I do what I can to take care of my clothes, ensuring I get the most use out of them, and Tide Pods have prevented me from doing so. Unfortunately, I bought the giant bin of these pods at Costco and will be donating them to a shelter. I am very upset with this product and have told my family and friends to start using Arm & Hammer products from now on."
- Emmmm4
Ann Arbor, MI
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry about your experience with the Tide Pods. Since this is not what we'd expect, we'd like to talk to you to get more information and perhaps replace the Pods with a different version of Tide.

Please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 29 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

POD GOOP BUILDS UP IN WASHER

"
April 14, 2014
"I have used the Tide Pods for over a year and they were great in the beginning and now due to the pods not completely dissolving the goop has built up in my front load HE washer. I do not overload my washer and the pods leave a goop on the clothes. I just washed a blouse on normal setting and there were clumps of goop on the blouse. I am so glad I saw it because the set of sheets were ruined because the heat front the dryer caused the goop to harden to the sheets. I tried to wash them again without a pod and the dried goop would not come off the sheet! I ran several empty loads with bleach to clean my washer. Will NEVER use pods again! Just terrible what happened to my clothes & bedding!"
- Juno
Memphis, TN
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods not dissolving completely in your washing machine.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C.

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!

Review 30 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointing!!!

"
April 10, 2014
"I do NOT use tide products EVER. I received a sample of Tide Pods and LOVED it! The smell was amazing after washing and lasted for days. Immediately I bought a huge amount of Tide Pods. After drying the clothes, there is no smell what so ever like the sample pack. It seems to me they put more ingredients in the sample pack so they can sell more and I am highly disappointed that such a well known company would do this. I am NEVER buying Tide products again!!!"
- PNV0127
New Iberia, LA
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
Thanks for posting your review. We're sorry the Pods didn't perform as the sample you tried. We can't think of a reason this would happen, so we'd like to get some additional information from you and perhaps replace your purchase.

Please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET. If you still have the Tide Pods package, please have it with you when you call.

Thanks!
Review 31 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

No Problems!!

"
April 4, 2014
"I have used Tide on and off for many years now. When the pods came out, I decided to try them simply for the convenience. Although others have had problems and complaints about the product, I haven't seen any problems at all. My clothes come out clean and smelling fresh each and every time. I will continue to use this product in the future."
- Ginny419
San Antonio, TX
Review 32 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Tide Pods

"
April 1, 2014
"I love these little things! No more mess from spilled powder or drips from liquid. I have never had a problem with these and I have been using them since they first came out. My niece complained about them staining her clothes but she is known for overfilling the washer. In fact she broke my sisters washer when she was home last doing just that. Love Love Love them!!"
- Susieq389
Dallas, TX
Review 33 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointed

"
April 1, 2014
"I started using tide pods almost a year ago and loved them until recently.
Now all my whites are coming out with purple spots all over them.
I'm going back to liquid even though I love the convenience of the pods. Tide has a great idea but need to improve on their idea. A lot of stained clothes will be ending up in the landfills. Can't even donate to charity due to stains.
"
- AnnaMae
CA
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
Hi, AnnaMae.

We're concerned about your report, since the Pods should still be working the same way you'd expect. We'd like to talk to you to find out more about your experience and perhaps replace the Pods with another version of Tide.

Please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 34 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointing

"
March 28, 2014
"I have always used Tide and had no complaints until now. I've been using the pods for a couple months and had no issues with them until tonight when the pod failed to dissolve and left hardened, purple residue on clothes. Luckily, only a pair of pajama pants was ruined but now I'm afraid to use the rest of the pods (I have 1 and a half bags left that I got at Sams Club). So Disappointing!"
- Jillian13
North Carolina
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
Hi, Jillian.

We're concerned about your review since that's not what we'd expect. We'd like to talk to you to find out more about your experience and perhaps replace your purchase with another version of Tide. Please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 35 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Purple stains on white clothes

"
March 26, 2014
"I have used Tide detergent all of my adult life - first powder detergent, then liquid detergent, and now Tide Pods. I've always been happy with the results until just recently. I am using Tide Ocean Mist 72 pack of pods, and I noticed that my nice white sweater had a purple stain on it AFTER being washed, not before. I tried twice more washing that sweater and the stain was permanent. I didn't make the connection to my tide pod. I wash and rinse in cold water and the package clearly states the pod will dissolve in ANY water temp. 2 more separate sessions of laundry, and now each time I wash with the pods, there is a sticky purple mess like gum or glue stuck to my clothes after the rinse cycle. I will never buy these pods again. And I'm a 35 year long customer. I have wasted a big chunk of money on this 72 pack of pods which are now useless and have ruined my favorite sweater. P.S. I'm from Calgary, Alberta, Canada, but the pull down menu did not allow me to choose Canada so I picked a random state."
- SaddenedByStains
Calgary, AB Canada
Review 36 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Yukky mess

"
March 26, 2014
"Am a second generation Tide-Only user, and this is the first time I have not only been dissatisfied but actually disgusted in Tide's performance. These pods are a slimy mess! I have a year-old front loading washer, and when the cycle is finished, there is a glop of colored goo in my front rubber gasket. Cold water wash is the worst. I experimented today to see how long it would stay there before dissolving when I ran more loads (if I didn't wipe it out with a paper towel), and the colored slime never dissolved through 3 more wash loads! Unfortunately, I had bought the 90-pac size of detergent, so I am stuck with it, although I returned to the store and bought both the liquid and granulated traditional Tide. P&G, you really let me down!!"
- TiaJuana
Texas
0 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods not dissolving completely in your washing machine.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 37 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods...

"
March 24, 2014
"When Pods first came out, I absolutely loved them. I was having trouble with my front load washer and liquid detergent staining my bath towels, and I thought Pods was a great solution to that problem. They're very convenient to use.. but then my whites started getting purple stains on them, and for a while, I couldn't figure out where the stains were coming from. Then it dawned on me..the pods are very colorful, and low and behold, one of the colors is purple! Mystery solved. I won't be purchasing Pods again, unless the purple color is removed from the mix. I've had to replace a good many of my husbands undershirts, which has been costly. When I contacted P&G about the problem, they essentially said there was no problem, due to extensive testing on their end with no stain results. They're sending me a coupon in the mail for a free Tide detergent (up to 64 uses). I don't understand how so many people have stained clothes, and P&G thinks there is no problem. That's baffling."
- Kasimir
Newark, OH
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your experience with the Tide Pods. Due to the extensive testing we've done, we feel certain that when used as directed, Tide Pods will dissolve completely and not stain clothing.

It may also be helpful to know that if you have a stain, rewashing the clothing with another Pod or with another version of Tide will remove it.

Thanks for posting your review and allowing us to replace your Tide Pods purchase.



Review 38 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Doesn't dissolve

"
March 24, 2014
"Leaves what looks like melted blue plastic on parts of clothing, I tried twice just to make sure
(and I did follow directions)
"
- Colo
Wisconsin
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your experience. Since you followed the directions, we'd like to speak with you to get some more information and perhpas replace your purchase.

Please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 39 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointed in Tide Pods

"
March 23, 2014
"Tide is the only detergent I use. I have tried many others and am always disappointed. However, I am disappointed in Tide Pods. My husband noticed he was getting blue stains on his white T-shirts and we weren't sure why, until we noticed the stains were the same color as the color in the Pods. We always make sure the pods are in the bottom of the washer so they are able to dissolve. This was very disappointing to us...we loved the concept, but we won't be buying the pods any more, especially at that price."
- Runningfool
Riverside, CA
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your experience. Since it sounds like you followed the directions, we'd like to speak with you to get some more information and perhpas replace your purchase.

Please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 40 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

STAINS!!!!!!!!!!!!

"
March 23, 2014
"I have always used tide liquid in my laundry. After getting a new washer and dryer for Christmas I decided I was going to try the tide Pods. Never again...... I wash my kids clothes separate from mine and my husbands. Before I allow my kids to wear new Christmas clothes I washed them. Big mistake with the Pods. Purple stains that will not come out of brand new clothes. "Not cheap clothes either" $500.00 in clothes ruined. Such a bad product. Worst product ever...
Guess I will be sticking to Tide liquid.
"
- proud2beashrinerwife
Nc
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods staining your kids Christmas clothing.

Here are some tips for using the Pods:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

We also have some tip for removing stains, so if you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps replace the Tide Pods purchase, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 93 next>>