Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent
Average Customer Rating:
3.877 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(2046 Reviews) 1852
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (2,046 reviews)
5 stars
1,166
4 stars
292
3 stars
119
2 stars
109
1 star
360
1,530 of 2,046(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent
Review 21 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Strong odd smell from packaging

"
March 20, 2012
"When I opened the package of Ocean Mist--- It smelt like New Haven,CT near the shore line--- which is not a pleasant smell... So I was afraid to add it to my laundry.
I then decided to get one of the bottle of tide detergents with the sample pack of spring meadow and I opened that one up and it also smelt strong and an unpleasant smell... However I braved it on some of my less important clothes hoping that it was just the fact that it was so concentrated, and tossed it in. It came out smelling Okay (not like the way I like with either Tide with Downy April Fresh or Tide Clean Breeze or dare I say it Gain Original although it is also a P&G brand had to throw it in there because its cheaper than Tide and does just about as good of a job and I love the smell too.)
However--- for those who make a mess with powder and liquid detergents like my parents and my sister. (liquid can leak all over the side of the bottle and powder and liquid both can be split then you waste product) Toss it in and no product waste and no mess.
Good overall idea--- however I personally do not like the smell"
- Vick
Vermont
Response from Tide:By DeeConsumer Care March 23, 2012
I'm sorry you didn't like the Ocean Mist scent. We do make the Tide Pods in two other scents and I hope you'll give them a try. If you have further questions, feel free to call us at (800) 879-8433.
Review 22 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

Novel idea, but with caveats

"
March 29, 2012
"I have just tried a couple of weeks with Tide Pods, Mountain Spring scent. I appreciate the thought which went in to this new delivery mechanism for laundry cleaning agents, however they don't work for me in their current state of development. The main positive is that the cleaning power and the results are what I would expect of a Tide product. The negatives are 1) using cold water in an HE washer, I find the pods not dissolving as quickly as expected, thereby lessening the time the agents are in contact with the clothes, 2) the Mountain Spring scent impresses me of citrus and bubblegum, not at all like the Mountain scent of regular Tide liquid, 3) almost all of my washes are multiple, small loads because I live alone and this strikes me as a waste of the pods, which can handle large loads (perhaps a mini-pod version might be offered, however people might just try to use them on large loads, anyway, and then complain about insufficient cleaning). For now, I'll stick with Tide Totalclean, which is the best overall product for cleaning and softening clothing that I have ever used."
- Dave
East Aurora NY
Review 23 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

pretty good!

"
March 9, 2012
"The great stuff:
Cleans very well. (better than regular Tide he)
low suds
rinses nice.
The not so great stuff:
It's very funny that the thing I complain most about in detergents, is now a problem in reverse. I always hate the smells of most detergents. WAY too heavy and flowery. NOW with the Pods,(Mystic Forrest) this is not the case and I think they could use MORE smell to them. Clothes come out super clean, but smell a bit sour and after you dry them, it's like 'eeh'. I hope Tide is reading these because I really, really, really hope they are going to come out with the Original scent liquid tide he flavor in these Pods.
The other problem is that the pods don't dissolve THAT fast. And almost every time the darn pod gets on the bellow and then sits there. So I have to come back to that machine, stop it. open it up and push the pod off. I've now been putting it in a sock, or wadding a towel up with the pod in the center.
Overall, I like them and will continue to buy them for the great cleaning job. Bought some fabric softener to get a better smell.
Thanks Tide."
- Laurent
Sacramento, CA
1 users found this helpful
Review 24 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Cape Cod Girl

"
September 28, 2012
"I called the Tide Company and asked about the quantity of detergent in the Tide pods. I was assured that the amount of detergent in the pods would be okay for any size load of laundry. This did not sound right to me. I have had my water tested by 3 different companies, and each one said that I have very good water, which is not too hard and not too soft. I tried a Tide pod for a small to medium size load of laundry. When the wash cycle was complete, the clothes felt sticky, and there were some suds left in the washer. I had to put the clothes through 4 more wash cycles without any detergent, to get the detergent out of the clothes. This was a big waste of time and water, which defeated the purpose of of having an HE washer. The Tide pods are not suitable for small or medium size wash loads. If you do a small or medium size load, you have to use either Tide HE powder or Tide HE liquid, so you can adjust the amount of detergent to the size of the wash load. Therefore, I will never use tide pods again. I only tried it once and had to throw the rest of them away."
- CapeCodGirl
East Falmouth, MA
1 users found this helpful
Review 25 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Ruined Clothes

"
February 7, 2013
"So disappointed with this product. Have always thought of Tide as one of the premium detergents. But these are horrible. And it took me about 4 loads to figure out the culprit. The plastic casing does NOT dissolve completely. And I did not realize until the loads came out of the dryer. When the undisolved casing makes it through your dryer it hardens a sticky wad of plastic into something resembling super glue. If you dont catch it before the dryer, your clothes/linens will be totally RUINED. Perhaps the plastic goo could be rinsed when it is still wet, but once it goes in the dryer it will never come out. When I tried to pull the hard plastic apart it actually ripped the fabric. It is like hard plastic purple/bluish super glue. And I always wash in warm with a warm rinse. And I do not run overfull loads. I have a front loading HE. I will never use these again & warn everyone else to stick to the liquid. I wouldn't use these if they were given to me for free. Very disappointed at the various ruined clothes & linens. Tide should pull this product."
- Disapointed
Northeast, US
1 users found this helpful
Review 26 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Fail

"
September 25, 2012
"I am a very satisfied, long time Tide user. I decided to try the Pods, and am sorry to say they are a huge fail. The first thing I noticed while trying to decide which scent to try was that there is no way to tell what they smell like until after you've purchased them and open the package. Then I realized why, they smell like a BAD PERM! I figured maybe it was just the plastic or something. Surely Tide wouldn't put out such an awful smelling product. I washed a load of towels and when it was done, I opened the washing machine and nearly vomited. The awful smell was even more intense. Thankfully the store I bought them at exchanged the rest of the package for a different scent. I figured there is no way the others could be as bad as the Mountain Fresh. Well, wrong again. Awful perm like smell. The store now will not give me a refund. In my opinion, there should be a scratch and sniff or some other way of knowing what the scent smells like before purchase or possibly offer the Pods in current scents like original, at the very least."
- DirtyDaddy
Denham Springs, LA, USA
2 users found this helpful
Review 27 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Great for college students

"
November 2, 2012
"I started using Tide Pods when I went to college because I loved the idea of not having to carry a heavy bottle of detergent around with me and could instead just grab a pod and go. So far it has been the best decision I ever made. I just throw it in with my laundry and never have to worry about measuring or the mess of liquid. They leave my clothes smelling fresh and looking clean. I also know exactly how many loads I have left to the pack instead of trying to get a rough idea of when I need to go shopping for laundry detergent again- which as a college student can be a hassle to do, now I just count how many pods I have left and shop when I'm down to about 3 or 4. I have recommended these to everyone I know and so far the ones who have tried it love it also, especially my friends from school. If you've never tried them please please please do so they will save you a lot of time and hassle and you WON'T regret it at all.
Also if you want to send me a free sample for those I recommend it to that would be GREAT! Thanks!
"
- lovinit
Sparta, NJ
1 users found this helpful
Review 28 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Works well in hot water only

"
January 10, 2013
"I've unfortunately had the same experience with blue gummy stains as many here. They were not permanent, I was able to soak the clothes and scrape the solid portions off. It took a few times to realize it was the pods causing this. It would have saved quite a bit of hassle if I'd realized sooner.
When they do dissolve fully, they seem to do a fine job cleaning and I like how they smell. For my cold washes, I now use something else and save these for my hot water loads only. No sense at all to have to dissolve first, and then add, as some here have recommended. It defeats the whole purpose of having a 'pod.' I still like Tide and am willing to bet they aren't the only company with the pod problem.
So, I'm disappointed. It is a good idea, but still needs some work. Changing to warmer water settings is unrealistic for most of my work clothes. I don't pack the washer, but I do fill it, and don't have any problems with other detergent types. I'll use up what I have left in my hot washes and I won't buy these again."
- Debbie2353
MA
Review 29 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods do not work!

"
December 27, 2012
"I have just read through a lot of the postings here, and the responses from TIDE customer service.
I am not sure what is going on - my pods are kept cool and dry, are not stuck, broken or damaged in any way. I have used them on cold water, warm and hot washes - and they still do not completely dissolve - instead they get trapped in the door of the front loader, and then stick to laundry as I am trying to take it out!
I have used them on a full, half and EMPTY wash - no difference. They still do not completely dissolve.
They smell great in the container - however there is absolutely no scent when my laundry is completed - probably because they are not dissolving properly.
The concept is great - however the damage and inconvenience of having to rewash laundry, clean out the seal where the pods have got stuck are considerable, when all I was trying to do was avoid the residue that is found after pouring liquid detergent into the cup. I will stick with liquid detergent, and try another brand. Very disappointed.
"
- nonickname
Asheville, NC
2 users found this helpful
Review 30 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Not impressed

"
March 26, 2012
"Thursday I bought a small package of the pods $4.99 for 14 loads of laundry for this family of 2 thats 7 weeks worth of laundry soap so the $5 WAS a good price for tide for this 2 load per week 2 person family. Came home and made up a small load of laundry put a pod in, put the laundry in and waited,,,,,,washer beeped its done signal, took my laundry out to discover that the pod didn't disslove but instead left a HUGE purply blue stain on my pillow case, that will NOT come out.
Did another load eysterday of junk clothes just to see what happend and the pod was thrown around in the machine and ended up on the rubber part of the machine right at the door....had to do a second load with liquid soap to make sure the clothes were cleaned.
Concept is good but it needs work, so while tide works on that, i will be out pillow case shopping, which means buying a whole new sheet set since my pillowcases do not come as individuals....what an expensive experiment. NOT sure I will use them again, but i doubt it."
- jbsmomto1
ontario Canada
Response from Tide:By DeeConsumer Care March 28, 2012
I’m sorry the Tide PODS aren't dissolving correctly and stained your laundry. I’m sharing your comments with the rest of our team. Meanwhile, here are some tips to help ensure your Tide PODS dissolves properly. You may need to switch to a warm water setting during the winter months or whenever water is exceptionally cold. We also recommend not overloading your washer – this will prevent detergent from getting trapped in fabric folds. Also, the coloring in the pac dissolves in water so you may want to re-wash the garment in the warmest water safe for the fabric. If you need further help, please call us at (800) 879-8433.
Review 31 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Purple stains on white clothes

"
March 26, 2014
"I have used Tide detergent all of my adult life - first powder detergent, then liquid detergent, and now Tide Pods. I've always been happy with the results until just recently. I am using Tide Ocean Mist 72 pack of pods, and I noticed that my nice white sweater had a purple stain on it AFTER being washed, not before. I tried twice more washing that sweater and the stain was permanent. I didn't make the connection to my tide pod. I wash and rinse in cold water and the package clearly states the pod will dissolve in ANY water temp. 2 more separate sessions of laundry, and now each time I wash with the pods, there is a sticky purple mess like gum or glue stuck to my clothes after the rinse cycle. I will never buy these pods again. And I'm a 35 year long customer. I have wasted a big chunk of money on this 72 pack of pods which are now useless and have ruined my favorite sweater. P.S. I'm from Calgary, Alberta, Canada, but the pull down menu did not allow me to choose Canada so I picked a random state."
- SaddenedByStains
Calgary, AB Canada
Review 32 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

They work well for me.

"
September 3, 2012
"I first tried these when I ran out of detergent and on a quick trip this was all the store had available for front-loading/HE. So, I thought I would give it a try. I didn't expect any different results than my regular Tide w/ Bleach HE, but when I put away the clothes, I noticed that they looked nicer. They really were cleaner and brighter - even some of our older and more dingy clothes came out looking much newer. So, I have stuck with the pods through over 100 loads. I have not had any issues with the pods not dissolving, like others have had. However, I am somewhat careful about placing the pod. I put it in AFTER I load the clothes, and right in the area where the water first pours in. Of course, I also have a hubby and kids helping - who knows where they put it! For us, the pods have worked really well, and we are very pleased. If there was only a way to incorporate fabric softener, it would be 5 stars. A scent-free version would be nice, although I don't terribly mind the scents available."
- Trakie1
Cedar Rapids, IA
Review 33 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Blue and pink stained laundry

"
July 22, 2012
"We rented a beach house for vacation and prior to leaving, we started a load of laundry with a TIde Pod in the house's top-loader washer. We were contacted by the owner afterwards that the white sheets had blue stains that wouldn't come out. We couldn't figure out how an entirely white load could get stained with blue but fortunately the owner was very nice and refunded the whole damage deposit. Mystery solved this week when we used Tide pods in our front-loader and found the seal coated in blue slime on 2 consecutive loads. We have been using TIde Pods for about 2-3 months and this is first time we've seen any blue stains. However, we have had unexplained bleached out spots on our dark T-shirts since using the Pods. I like the pre-measured concept (esp with front-loaders prone to smelling if using too much detergent) but current version of Tide Pods are unacceptable for home use. I'm going back to liquid Tide HE and P&G needs to take Tide Pods back to the product development lab."
- jaynefromal
Birmingham, AL
Response from Tide:By DeeConsumer Care July 25, 2012
I'm sorry to hear about the staining you experienced with Tide PODS. This is not something we’ve seen in the development of PODS when used as directed. Rewashing the stained garment with your detergent and favorite stain treater should help with stain removal. If you still have questions, feel free to call us at (800) 879-8433. Thanks!
Review 34 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods...

"
March 24, 2014
"When Pods first came out, I absolutely loved them. I was having trouble with my front load washer and liquid detergent staining my bath towels, and I thought Pods was a great solution to that problem. They're very convenient to use.. but then my whites started getting purple stains on them, and for a while, I couldn't figure out where the stains were coming from. Then it dawned on me..the pods are very colorful, and low and behold, one of the colors is purple! Mystery solved. I won't be purchasing Pods again, unless the purple color is removed from the mix. I've had to replace a good many of my husbands undershirts, which has been costly. When I contacted P&G about the problem, they essentially said there was no problem, due to extensive testing on their end with no stain results. They're sending me a coupon in the mail for a free Tide detergent (up to 64 uses). I don't understand how so many people have stained clothes, and P&G thinks there is no problem. That's baffling."
- Kasimir
Newark, OH
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your experience with the Tide Pods. Due to the extensive testing we've done, we feel certain that when used as directed, Tide Pods will dissolve completely and not stain clothing.

It may also be helpful to know that if you have a stain, rewashing the clothing with another Pod or with another version of Tide will remove it.

Thanks for posting your review and allowing us to replace your Tide Pods purchase.



Review 35 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Keep Them Cool, No Problems

"
December 6, 2012
"First, to all the people complaining about them sticking together, they need to be kept in a cool place. Otherwise they will melt and stick together as a lot of poeple seem to be complaining about.
My mother turned me onto these.
She bought and used a 72 pack and gave me half a dozen to try. Back to what I stated above, she keeps them in my nephew's bedroom, who like to keep it cold in there, and hasn't encountered a single pod that was stuck to another or melted, nor has she had any that didn't dissolve in the wash, so I'm not sure why other users are having the issue. Possibly over loading the washer?
Anyway, I used up the 6 my mother gave me (ocean mist scent) and I absolutely LOVE these little guys. We used to use liquid detergent in my house and it always went too fast as everyone seems to use more detergent than necessary. With the pods it's simple; drop in one pod per load and you're good! Clothes come out clean, soft and they smell great.
Highly recommended."
- NiteWalker
Albany NY
Review 36 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Original, please!

"
March 11, 2012
"I'm pretty sure I received a sample of Tide Pods when I moved into my dorm in college some 7 years ago. Perhaps it was a prototype or maybe even another brand. Either way, I loved the concept and was very sad that they were not available commercially. When I saw a commercial for Tide Pods last week, I was very excited that this awesome idea finally came to fruition! I went to the store yesterday with Tide Pods on my list, but when I arrived at the display, I saw 3 scents, none of which are the original Tide scent. Not only are these not my preferred scent, but I can't even smell them to see how they smell! These scents aren't available in normal liquid packaging so that idea is moot. Long story short: I didn't buy them. Please, Tide, make these in original scent AND give us a way to smell the scents in the store! As for now, I've requested a sample from this site so we'll see what happens. As for now, however, I'm still the sad customer who wants to buy, but can't."
- qwerty12345
Review 37 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide PODS are horrible

"
May 20, 2014
"I wash my clothes at a laundromat since I live in NYC. It was nice to not have to lug a big bottle of detergent with me along with a big bag of clothes! I first used it in cold water and got the same results as everyone else....gobs and purple stains. I realized I could not use them in a cold water wash do decided to then only use them for hot water and the SAME thing happened!
I would then go home and try to hand wash these gobs and stains out which was a pain to go over every piece of clothing that you just washed! Of course I would miss a few and the gobs then dried and became crusty and hard.
I don't understand Tide's CUSTOMER SERVICE. SO MANY people have complained on this site and they just keep sending the same automated/pre-written response instead of acknowledging that the might actually be an issue! I have used TIDE for years and my mother used to use TIDE as well but I am so disappointed that I may switch brands all together just out of principle!"
- Maye
New York, NY
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 5, 2014
We're sorry you're disappointed with our response, but it's what we have found to be helpful to others who have had the same experience.

All of our products are thoroughly tested before they go on the market, and we feel confident Tide Pods work well when used as directed.

Still, if you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.
Review 38 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Purple Stains!

"
September 12, 2014
"I have been a Tide user forever. Anytime I try a brand I am disappointed. I love the idea of the Tide pods for making the laundry one tiny bit easier.
I started noticing purple stains on my husbands white t-shirts (just about the only white clothes in my household). I could not figure out what he was doing to get these stains. And then I realized they weren’t on the shirts BEFORE I washed them and it occurred to me that it’s from the Pods.
I do everything “right”... Pod in first, not overloading at all, not using delicate, cycle runs a full-length, wash in warm, etc. But still we get stains every time on whatever shirt happened to be sitting on top of the pod.
Very disappointing. Fortunately for me these are all undershirts, so not visible. And the stain does eventually wash out on it’s own.
No more pods for me. I’m giving the Gain pods a try right now, but I’m guessing Tide liquid will be back on my list.
These should NOT be used for whites of any kind.
"
- alhj
Matthews, NC
1 users found this helpful
Review 39 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

Tide PODS.Busy House.Works well. Saves Time.

"
March 26, 2013
"I went to the Tide PODs after using liquid laundry detergent, then ALL PODs. The liquid laudry detergent was painfully heavy in the size I purchased. And if it fell...there goes ten loads spilled... The ALL didn't seem to quite give me that sense of "clean" I like. I used to use Tide in my twenties and thought let me go back to it.... If I find I like it the cost is worth it. Well, I've only had a few not dissolve. Like one other reader my husband actually (sans reading the instructions) placed the PODS in the dispenser without any issues at all. I however still use the drum but may rethink it if I have encounter other non-dissollve issues. We have front load machines. I'm going to write the company and see if they have non-chlorine bleach in an all-in-one detergent. I don't just want brightener I want germ killer too...there is "ick" in certain clothing that needs a little bleach from time to time. I rated it a four for the wasted PODS"
- Mile
Cameron, NC
Review 40 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Stick to the the liquid or powder form.

"
September 18, 2013
"I like Tide. I have used other detergents and came back to Tide, because I found in the long run it's a better value. It may cost more, but it works better than other brands and so I find it's worth the extra money spent. However, I have tried the new pods twice now. I don't remember which scent I chose the first time, but the second time I chose the Alpine Breeze. This time I am noticing that my cotton clothes seem to have retained an odd smell. It's hard to describe, but it is definitely NOT pleasant. The best way I can find to describe the odor is that it smells like a homeless person. None of my clothes had this smell before I laundered them and I cannot think of any other reason they might smell this way. I definitely won't be using the Alpine Breeze scent ever again. Most likely, I'll just go back to using the liquid Tide. While I like the convenience of the pods, I just don't find it measures up to the additional cost for me."
- Phoebe
Georgia
0 users found this helpful
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 93 next>>