Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent
Average Customer Rating:
3.911 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(2018 Reviews) 1824
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (2,018 reviews)
5 stars
1,165
4 stars
292
3 stars
116
2 stars
106
1 star
339
1,527 of 2,018(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent
Review 1 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Purple stains

"
April 21, 2014
"I have been using pods in my HD washer for over a year however recently I have noticed that there some purple discoloration in my white cottons, particularly T-shirts. As others have mentioned, there is the occasional random purple spot which may be associated with the pod getting stuck and not fully dissolved for 30 seconds or so. However more frustrating, I am also noticing the purple color seems to be accumulating on white t-shirts on the underarms. With each wash the color gets deeper and it is not just one person in our family.
Perhaps there is a chemical reaction that is occurring to the pH or deodorant residue on the t-shirt which is attracting the purple die?
I don't know, but I am switching back to the old liquid for my whites.
"
- MN01
Minneapolis
Review 2 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

discoloration of cotton materials

"
April 20, 2014
"Why is Tide pods making my white t-shirts purple, also my husbands undershirts under the arms?"
- BirdWatcher77
Pennsylvania
Review 3 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods STAINED my clothes!

"
April 19, 2014
"As any college student would be, I was very excited about the convenience of these tide pods as I often have to travel to campus to do laundry. However, I would highly recommend customers buy a different brand or different type of laundry detergent. Tide pods are supposed to be an easy way to ensure the cleanliness of my clothing, including the removal of stains, when it did the exact opposite! The "stain removal" swirls on the top of the pods STAINED my clothes! I read the instructions, making sure that my loads were not full, washing on the warmest water my clothes could handle, and putting the pod in the washing machine first. What happened? --> in the very first load, 4 articles of clothing became stained with dark blue dots, and a few orange ones. Being a college student, as mentioned before, I do not have the spare money to go out and buy new clothes. I do what I can to take care of my clothes, ensuring I get the most use out of them, and Tide Pods have prevented me from doing so. Unfortunately, I bought the giant bin of these pods at Costco and will be donating them to a shelter. I am very upset with this product and have told my family and friends to start using Arm & Hammer products from now on."
- Emmmm4
Ann Arbor, MI
Review 4 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

POD GOOP BUILDS UP IN WASHER

"
April 14, 2014
"I have used the Tide Pods for over a year and they were great in the beginning and now due to the pods not completely dissolving the goop has built up in my front load HE washer. I do not overload my washer and the pods leave a goop on the clothes. I just washed a blouse on normal setting and there were clumps of goop on the blouse. I am so glad I saw it because the set of sheets were ruined because the heat front the dryer caused the goop to harden to the sheets. I tried to wash them again without a pod and the dried goop would not come off the sheet! I ran several empty loads with bleach to clean my washer. Will NEVER use pods again! Just terrible what happened to my clothes & bedding!"
- Juno
Memphis, TN
Review 5 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointing!!!

"
April 10, 2014
"I do NOT use tide products EVER. I received a sample of Tide Pods and LOVED it! The smell was amazing after washing and lasted for days. Immediately I bought a huge amount of Tide Pods. After drying the clothes, there is no smell what so ever like the sample pack. It seems to me they put more ingredients in the sample pack so they can sell more and I am highly disappointed that such a well known company would do this. I am NEVER buying Tide products again!!!"
- PNV0127
New Iberia, LA
Review 6 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

No Problems!!

"
April 4, 2014
"I have used Tide on and off for many years now. When the pods came out, I decided to try them simply for the convenience. Although others have had problems and complaints about the product, I haven't seen any problems at all. My clothes come out clean and smelling fresh each and every time. I will continue to use this product in the future."
- Ginny419
San Antonio, TX
Review 7 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Tide Pods

"
April 1, 2014
"I love these little things! No more mess from spilled powder or drips from liquid. I have never had a problem with these and I have been using them since they first came out. My niece complained about them staining her clothes but she is known for overfilling the washer. In fact she broke my sisters washer when she was home last doing just that. Love Love Love them!!"
- Susieq389
Dallas, TX
Review 8 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointed

"
April 1, 2014
"I started using tide pods almost a year ago and loved them until recently.
Now all my whites are coming out with purple spots all over them.
I'm going back to liquid even though I love the convenience of the pods. Tide has a great idea but need to improve on their idea. A lot of stained clothes will be ending up in the landfills. Can't even donate to charity due to stains.
"
- AnnaMae
CA
Review 9 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointing

"
March 28, 2014
"I have always used Tide and had no complaints until now. I've been using the pods for a couple months and had no issues with them until tonight when the pod failed to dissolve and left hardened, purple residue on clothes. Luckily, only a pair of pajama pants was ruined but now I'm afraid to use the rest of the pods (I have 1 and a half bags left that I got at Sams Club). So Disappointing!"
- Jillian13
North Carolina
Review 10 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Purple stains on white clothes

"
March 26, 2014
"I have used Tide detergent all of my adult life - first powder detergent, then liquid detergent, and now Tide Pods. I've always been happy with the results until just recently. I am using Tide Ocean Mist 72 pack of pods, and I noticed that my nice white sweater had a purple stain on it AFTER being washed, not before. I tried twice more washing that sweater and the stain was permanent. I didn't make the connection to my tide pod. I wash and rinse in cold water and the package clearly states the pod will dissolve in ANY water temp. 2 more separate sessions of laundry, and now each time I wash with the pods, there is a sticky purple mess like gum or glue stuck to my clothes after the rinse cycle. I will never buy these pods again. And I'm a 35 year long customer. I have wasted a big chunk of money on this 72 pack of pods which are now useless and have ruined my favorite sweater. P.S. I'm from Calgary, Alberta, Canada, but the pull down menu did not allow me to choose Canada so I picked a random state."
- SaddenedByStains
Calgary, AB Canada
Review 11 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods...

"
March 24, 2014
"When Pods first came out, I absolutely loved them. I was having trouble with my front load washer and liquid detergent staining my bath towels, and I thought Pods was a great solution to that problem. They're very convenient to use.. but then my whites started getting purple stains on them, and for a while, I couldn't figure out where the stains were coming from. Then it dawned on me..the pods are very colorful, and low and behold, one of the colors is purple! Mystery solved. I won't be purchasing Pods again, unless the purple color is removed from the mix. I've had to replace a good many of my husbands undershirts, which has been costly. When I contacted P&G about the problem, they essentially said there was no problem, due to extensive testing on their end with no stain results. They're sending me a coupon in the mail for a free Tide detergent (up to 64 uses). I don't understand how so many people have stained clothes, and P&G thinks there is no problem. That's baffling."
- Kasimir
Newark, OH
Review 12 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Doesn't dissolve

"
March 24, 2014
"Leaves what looks like melted blue plastic on parts of clothing, I tried twice just to make sure
(and I did follow directions)
"
- Colo
Wisconsin
Review 13 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointed in Tide Pods

"
March 23, 2014
"Tide is the only detergent I use. I have tried many others and am always disappointed. However, I am disappointed in Tide Pods. My husband noticed he was getting blue stains on his white T-shirts and we weren't sure why, until we noticed the stains were the same color as the color in the Pods. We always make sure the pods are in the bottom of the washer so they are able to dissolve. This was very disappointing to us...we loved the concept, but we won't be buying the pods any more, especially at that price."
- Runningfool
Riverside, CA
Review 14 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

STAINS!!!!!!!!!!!!

"
March 23, 2014
"I have always used tide liquid in my laundry. After getting a new washer and dryer for Christmas I decided I was going to try the tide Pods. Never again...... I wash my kids clothes separate from mine and my husbands. Before I allow my kids to wear new Christmas clothes I washed them. Big mistake with the Pods. Purple stains that will not come out of brand new clothes. "Not cheap clothes either" $500.00 in clothes ruined. Such a bad product. Worst product ever...
Guess I will be sticking to Tide liquid.
"
- proud2beashrinerwife
Nc
Review 15 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

more pods

"
March 23, 2014
"When is Tide going to come in
different types of tide detergents?
How about Tide with downy in pods??? Coldwater etc. With all the different kinds
of tide, why not have them in Pod
Form also. You can't beat Pods
for convenience and clean, but I would like to see the others in Pods too!
COME ON TIDE GET WITH IT !!!!!!!!!
"
- simsim
honesdale, Pa
Review 16 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

Bleach Spots on Clothes?

"
March 22, 2014
"I have been noticing areas on my blue and dark tan towels where it appears that they have have been in contact with bleach. The spots have an orangish color. Even a new set of towels that I had just washed once had some of these spots. Just wondering if the spots could be caused by the pods. I can think of no other thing that could have caused this problem. Otherwise, I like them very much"
- Annebelle
Nc
Review 17 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Purple spots and plastic case doesn't dissolve

"
March 20, 2014
"I would not recommend the Tide Pods. I have had trouble with them leaving purple spots on laundry and the plastic case not dissolving as it should. P&G should really take this product off the market. Nice idea in theory, but they do not perform well at all."
- Mand
Fishers, IN
Review 18 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Purple Stains

"
March 19, 2014
"Love the smell of these pods so I gave 2 stars...but it has stained all of my white clothing and T-shirts with purple streaks. I don't use any other products with my laundry either. I will not purchase again."
- Natsy
Charlotte, NC
Review 19 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Landry made simple

"
March 9, 2014
"I love Tide Pods! I no longer have to deal with messy liquid detergents or powders, that's a bonus. They do an awesome job keeping our clothes clean and bright, without having to use any treatments - unless it's a bad stain :) IMO, Tide Pods save me time and money, since there's nothing to spill or treat. I've tried them in my old standard washer as well as my new high efficiency machine with awesome results in both. Recommend!"
- twillis1980
Moore, Ok
Review 20 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Bluish/purple stains

"
March 6, 2014
"I would like to briefly share my experience using Tide Pods. Started to see bluish/purple stains on all of my white clothes. Took a while to figure out that the root cause was the Tide Pods. Had already thrown out/cut up for rags many of these stained clothes/sheets as the stains would not come out.
I contacted tide "customer service" (I use this term loosely). I was told that no problem existed and that consumers who had these stains were not intelligent enough to follow their label directions. Even though they insisted no staining problems existed, I was given a SIX step process to remove the stains. Hmmmm. Let me see - no problem exists, but they have a process in place to correct said nonexistent problem.
For anyone with internet access, please research for yourself to see whether or not Tide is for you. Although the company says no problems exist, there are many, many testaments out there to the contrary.
After the Tide "customer service" response, I have decided that it is not for me. Using their product should not require a SIX step process to correct the resulting damage this product causes.
"
- Thsbud
Mo
1 2 3 4 5 ... 92 next>>