Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent
Average Customer Rating:
3.911 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(2018 Reviews) 1824
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (2,018 reviews)
5 stars
1,165
4 stars
292
3 stars
116
2 stars
106
1 star
339
1,527 of 2,018(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent
Review 1 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods STAINED my clothes!

"
April 19, 2014
"As any college student would be, I was very excited about the convenience of these tide pods as I often have to travel to campus to do laundry. However, I would highly recommend customers buy a different brand or different type of laundry detergent. Tide pods are supposed to be an easy way to ensure the cleanliness of my clothing, including the removal of stains, when it did the exact opposite! The "stain removal" swirls on the top of the pods STAINED my clothes! I read the instructions, making sure that my loads were not full, washing on the warmest water my clothes could handle, and putting the pod in the washing machine first. What happened? --> in the very first load, 4 articles of clothing became stained with dark blue dots, and a few orange ones. Being a college student, as mentioned before, I do not have the spare money to go out and buy new clothes. I do what I can to take care of my clothes, ensuring I get the most use out of them, and Tide Pods have prevented me from doing so. Unfortunately, I bought the giant bin of these pods at Costco and will be donating them to a shelter. I am very upset with this product and have told my family and friends to start using Arm & Hammer products from now on."
- Emmmm4
Ann Arbor, MI
Review 2 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

POD GOOP BUILDS UP IN WASHER

"
April 14, 2014
"I have used the Tide Pods for over a year and they were great in the beginning and now due to the pods not completely dissolving the goop has built up in my front load HE washer. I do not overload my washer and the pods leave a goop on the clothes. I just washed a blouse on normal setting and there were clumps of goop on the blouse. I am so glad I saw it because the set of sheets were ruined because the heat front the dryer caused the goop to harden to the sheets. I tried to wash them again without a pod and the dried goop would not come off the sheet! I ran several empty loads with bleach to clean my washer. Will NEVER use pods again! Just terrible what happened to my clothes & bedding!"
- Juno
Memphis, TN
Review 3 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointing!!!

"
April 10, 2014
"I do NOT use tide products EVER. I received a sample of Tide Pods and LOVED it! The smell was amazing after washing and lasted for days. Immediately I bought a huge amount of Tide Pods. After drying the clothes, there is no smell what so ever like the sample pack. It seems to me they put more ingredients in the sample pack so they can sell more and I am highly disappointed that such a well known company would do this. I am NEVER buying Tide products again!!!"
- PNV0127
New Iberia, LA
Review 4 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointed

"
April 1, 2014
"I started using tide pods almost a year ago and loved them until recently.
Now all my whites are coming out with purple spots all over them.
I'm going back to liquid even though I love the convenience of the pods. Tide has a great idea but need to improve on their idea. A lot of stained clothes will be ending up in the landfills. Can't even donate to charity due to stains.
"
- AnnaMae
CA
Review 5 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointing

"
March 28, 2014
"I have always used Tide and had no complaints until now. I've been using the pods for a couple months and had no issues with them until tonight when the pod failed to dissolve and left hardened, purple residue on clothes. Luckily, only a pair of pajama pants was ruined but now I'm afraid to use the rest of the pods (I have 1 and a half bags left that I got at Sams Club). So Disappointing!"
- Jillian13
North Carolina
Review 6 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Purple stains on white clothes

"
March 26, 2014
"I have used Tide detergent all of my adult life - first powder detergent, then liquid detergent, and now Tide Pods. I've always been happy with the results until just recently. I am using Tide Ocean Mist 72 pack of pods, and I noticed that my nice white sweater had a purple stain on it AFTER being washed, not before. I tried twice more washing that sweater and the stain was permanent. I didn't make the connection to my tide pod. I wash and rinse in cold water and the package clearly states the pod will dissolve in ANY water temp. 2 more separate sessions of laundry, and now each time I wash with the pods, there is a sticky purple mess like gum or glue stuck to my clothes after the rinse cycle. I will never buy these pods again. And I'm a 35 year long customer. I have wasted a big chunk of money on this 72 pack of pods which are now useless and have ruined my favorite sweater. P.S. I'm from Calgary, Alberta, Canada, but the pull down menu did not allow me to choose Canada so I picked a random state."
- SaddenedByStains
Calgary, AB Canada
Review 7 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Yukky mess

"
March 26, 2014
"Am a second generation Tide-Only user, and this is the first time I have not only been dissatisfied but actually disgusted in Tide's performance. These pods are a slimy mess! I have a year-old front loading washer, and when the cycle is finished, there is a glop of colored goo in my front rubber gasket. Cold water wash is the worst. I experimented today to see how long it would stay there before dissolving when I ran more loads (if I didn't wipe it out with a paper towel), and the colored slime never dissolved through 3 more wash loads! Unfortunately, I had bought the 90-pac size of detergent, so I am stuck with it, although I returned to the store and bought both the liquid and granulated traditional Tide. P&G, you really let me down!!"
- TiaJuana
Texas
0 users found this helpful
Review 8 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods...

"
March 24, 2014
"When Pods first came out, I absolutely loved them. I was having trouble with my front load washer and liquid detergent staining my bath towels, and I thought Pods was a great solution to that problem. They're very convenient to use.. but then my whites started getting purple stains on them, and for a while, I couldn't figure out where the stains were coming from. Then it dawned on me..the pods are very colorful, and low and behold, one of the colors is purple! Mystery solved. I won't be purchasing Pods again, unless the purple color is removed from the mix. I've had to replace a good many of my husbands undershirts, which has been costly. When I contacted P&G about the problem, they essentially said there was no problem, due to extensive testing on their end with no stain results. They're sending me a coupon in the mail for a free Tide detergent (up to 64 uses). I don't understand how so many people have stained clothes, and P&G thinks there is no problem. That's baffling."
- Kasimir
Newark, OH
Review 9 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Doesn't dissolve

"
March 24, 2014
"Leaves what looks like melted blue plastic on parts of clothing, I tried twice just to make sure
(and I did follow directions)
"
- Colo
Wisconsin
Review 10 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointed in Tide Pods

"
March 23, 2014
"Tide is the only detergent I use. I have tried many others and am always disappointed. However, I am disappointed in Tide Pods. My husband noticed he was getting blue stains on his white T-shirts and we weren't sure why, until we noticed the stains were the same color as the color in the Pods. We always make sure the pods are in the bottom of the washer so they are able to dissolve. This was very disappointing to us...we loved the concept, but we won't be buying the pods any more, especially at that price."
- Runningfool
Riverside, CA
Review 11 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

STAINS!!!!!!!!!!!!

"
March 23, 2014
"I have always used tide liquid in my laundry. After getting a new washer and dryer for Christmas I decided I was going to try the tide Pods. Never again...... I wash my kids clothes separate from mine and my husbands. Before I allow my kids to wear new Christmas clothes I washed them. Big mistake with the Pods. Purple stains that will not come out of brand new clothes. "Not cheap clothes either" $500.00 in clothes ruined. Such a bad product. Worst product ever...
Guess I will be sticking to Tide liquid.
"
- proud2beashrinerwife
Nc
Review 12 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Purple spots and plastic case doesn't dissolve

"
March 20, 2014
"I would not recommend the Tide Pods. I have had trouble with them leaving purple spots on laundry and the plastic case not dissolving as it should. P&G should really take this product off the market. Nice idea in theory, but they do not perform well at all."
- Mand
Fishers, IN
Review 13 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Bluish/purple stains

"
March 6, 2014
"I would like to briefly share my experience using Tide Pods. Started to see bluish/purple stains on all of my white clothes. Took a while to figure out that the root cause was the Tide Pods. Had already thrown out/cut up for rags many of these stained clothes/sheets as the stains would not come out.
I contacted tide "customer service" (I use this term loosely). I was told that no problem existed and that consumers who had these stains were not intelligent enough to follow their label directions. Even though they insisted no staining problems existed, I was given a SIX step process to remove the stains. Hmmmm. Let me see - no problem exists, but they have a process in place to correct said nonexistent problem.
For anyone with internet access, please research for yourself to see whether or not Tide is for you. Although the company says no problems exist, there are many, many testaments out there to the contrary.
After the Tide "customer service" response, I have decided that it is not for me. Using their product should not require a SIX step process to correct the resulting damage this product causes.
"
- Thsbud
Mo
Review 14 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods Don't Work!

"
March 6, 2014
"These little guys just don't work! They don't clean the clothes and they don't have that great Tide smell like the liquid detergent. Tide should remove them from the market."
- horseyhead
Archer, Fl
Review 15 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Turns clothes purple

"
March 4, 2014
"All of our underwear has turned purple, then today I washed a very expensive set of sheets and they are stained purple in about a dozen places on both sheets. Why do you have to have that purplish blue dye on the pods? I think you have a great product except you definitely need to remove the dye. If not I will be forced to buy another brand without dye. I can't afford to buy all new clothes and it does not wash out even with bleach."
- locklady
Jacksonville, Il.
1 users found this helpful
Review 16 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Warning: Whites turn purple!

"
February 27, 2014
"I was loving these pods for my home and business until all of our white towels started turning light purple. All of my white exercise shirts and shorts developed purple stains on them and I've had to throw them out! I've probably lost close to $500 in clothing because of these pods. I'm not sure if my color clothes are stained or not. Either way, such a shock that such a trusted household name allows this to happen! We've used Tide since I was a kid. No more until they resolve this truly unnecessary problem."
- FitnessGuy
San Francisco
Review 17 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

More blue spot stories

"
February 26, 2014
"Incredible! I read the reviews, followed the instructions, added extra water to the wash, have a new washing machine and still get the spots on white items. P&G doesn't do this! Please admit it is a mistake and take the product off the market. My husband worked for the company, we are stockholders and this does not come close to the values we expect in products."
- Tita
Connecticut
Review 18 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Pods melted my undies

"
February 25, 2014
"The Pods sounded like a really good idea. Upon their use, however, I found that the material that encases the detergent doesn't always completely dissolve. When this happens, it tends to go right into the dryer with the clothes, and then it sticks to the fabric. If the fabric is 100% nylon, it sometimes even melts. I have holds in some of my slacks and panties now because of this oddity. I won't be buying this product again. Ever."
- Moony
Iowa
Review 19 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Clothes Not Clean

"
February 23, 2014
"I have always used tide liquid in the past and thought that the pods were just easier than pouring out liquid. I get soap scum on them and have to rewash when I use cold water. I have been using warm water to use them up so the scum from the pod is still there but it seems to peel off when I use warm water. I will go back to the liquid."
- Bambam0404
Binghamton, NY
Review 20 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

AWFUL - DO NOT BUY

"
February 23, 2014
"I am a college student who is forced to live in a budget - I thought Tide pods would be a great convenience to me. It turns out they only made my life more difficult - they ruined three of my shirts and one of my bras with the sticky blue residue that does not come off when I try to stain wash it. Save yourself the money and stress, just get a different detergent."
- 06240624
Indianapolis
1 2 3 4 5 ... 92 next>>