Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent

New Tide Pods Detergent
Average Customer Rating:
3.866 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(2057 Reviews) 1863
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (2,057 reviews)
5 stars
1,167
4 stars
292
3 stars
120
2 stars
111
1 star
367
1,532 of 2,057(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for New Tide Pods Detergent
Review 1 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods

"
October 21, 2014
"I have always used tide. Recently tried the pods and have been greatly disappointed. blue spots all over white t shirts and other whites."
- sclark
ohio
Review 2 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Totally Poor Product

"
October 13, 2014
"I tried the Tide pods because Tide powder, which I would normally use, is no longer available. Like many others have pointed out, this product is the absolute worst. As others have noted, the pods do not always dissolve completely. And before someone from P&G customer service replies to ask, the answer is yes I do put the pods in the drum first and NO the machine is not overloaded! Nonetheless, I still end up with purple blotches on my clothes. Before, whenever I did a load of laundry, I always programmed an extra rinse cycle. However, since I've been using the pods I find it necessary to add an extra, extra rinse cycle - and even that does not always work. Ocassionally, I still end up with purple blotches from the undissolved pod. Having to add an extra, extra rinse is obviously a complete waste of energy and water, and it's a step I should not have to take! The idea of the pods is commendable however execution is sorely lacking. Designers need to go back to the drawing board and find a better dissolving material to encapsulate the detergent. I guess I'll have to start using the liquid from now on."
- JustPlanBad
Review 3 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Not what I expected

"
October 10, 2014
"I've been a Tide user for many years so I assumed the Pods would do a great job with less work.
Now my whites have wide blue streaks in them, hubby's shirts have streaks or stains that I can't remove.
I do read the directions and put the pods in the machine first.
I will have to discard the rest of the Pods I'm sorry to say.
"
- missannie
Melbourne, FL
Review 4 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods

"
October 10, 2014
"Absolutely hate this product! I was done washing my clothes so I put them in the dryer. When I took them out I noticed a hard light purple spot on my clothes. I soon realized that it was what was left of the pod. It apartently did not disolve all the way when they were getting washed so when I dried my clothes they were little hard spot on multiple clothing. So I washed them again with a liquid digergant from a different brand, and it turned out great! No hard spots and I didn't have to wash my clothes twice. I would not recommend this product to anyone."
- Avery
Atlanta
Review 5 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Ruined clothes

"
October 2, 2014
"I am so upset this pod ruined a TON of my family's clothing before I realized this was actually the culprit! I have had to throw out multiple pieces, some that were worn once!!!!, because of big bleach spots. :( :( :(
I have a brand new HE washer machine, so I know it is really the product. I switched back to liquid detergent and haven't had a problem since.
"
- ErinNO
New Jersey
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
Erin, we are so sorry to hear about your experience with Tide PODS®. Although your clothes were stained by our product, it did not contain bleach. We can often help to remove these stains. Stains are caused by not inserting the POD® in the machine before adding clothes and by overloading. We hope you will try us again with these instructions and if it happens again, please call at 1-800-879-8433. Thank you.
Review 6 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

There is a problem with Pods

"
October 1, 2014
"We have been washing clothes for decades and have used Tide exclusively for all of these years. We recently switched to Tide Pods and immediately noticed bluish/purple stains appearing on clothes, bed sheets, and wash cloths. The stains seem to be particularly bad in the perspiration area of shirts. Numerous clothes have been ruined.
The Pods are always put in first, we never overload the machine, and the washers are less than two years old. There is a problem!
"
- HarryC
San Antonio, TX
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
This is so strange, Harry! Please call us at your convenience at 1-800-879-8433 so that we can figure out what is going wrong here. Thank you!
Review 7 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Blue problem!

"
September 18, 2014
"This product has a problem. It leaves blue stains on white or lightly colored (ex.; light yellow) and other garments. And subsequent washing with Tide Pods or Tide detergent doesn't resolve the stain. After decades of using only Tide I will be looking for another detergent. I really hope you can get this problem solved."
- Peewee
Lexington, ky
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
We're sorry to hear that you've had issues with this product and we would like to help. First, be sure that you are adding the POD® to the machine's drum first before adding clothes and do not overload. If you follow these instructions and experience the same results, please call at 1-800-879-8433. Thank you!
Review 8 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Pod stains

"
August 5, 2014
"This is an awful product - Stained and ruined my favorite white shirt - Not the first time . Never buy !!!!!!!!!"
- SueMac
baltimore
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 8, 2014
Hello, Sue. We are so sorry about this and would love to make it right. Please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433 so that we can see what went wrong here. Thank you.
Review 9 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Correct the problem!

"
July 15, 2014
"I too have had issues with blue staining in my laundry while using the Tide Pods. After reading all of the negative reviews, when can we expect a solution. How about remove the blue dye in the product?"
- Tideboohoo
Edison, NJ
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there! We're so sorry about your bad experience with these PODs. We are trying to help all of our customers with this issue. First, follow these tips. Always put your POD in the machine before you add clothes and water. Never overload and don't use the dispenser drawer. If you are certain that you have followed all of these steps and this has still happened, please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433 so that we can get to the bottom of it. Thank you!
Review 10 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Stains clothes, leaves sticky residue "lump"

"
July 9, 2014
"I am tired of seeing people being told that if instructions are followed as directed, the pods will dissolve completely. This is not true. I've had a sticky residue "lump" left on my clothes at least three times, (doesn't come off, btw) and now my favorite white shorts are stained with a blue streak.
There are times I have to fill the washer completely and the pod still doesn't dissolve, and then I have to run it with no clothes in for a minute to get the pods to pop. Then I have to add the clothes, pushing them down into the water. FAR from convenient!
It's sad when you have to check your clothes completely when they come out of the washer to make sure you don't set the stains by putting them directly into the dryer. And the sticky lump will also remain on your clothes after the dryer. Again...how is this more convenient?"
- Shelley678
PA
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there, Shelley. So we always advise putting the POD right in the drum before you add water or clothing. If you get any plastic dried on your clothes, be sure to soak the garment in hot water for at least an hour. This should ensure that it dissolves.
A member of our team at 1-800-879-8433 can help you figure out what is going wrong here! We hope that we can be of some help here. Thank you!
Review 11 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

arm pit stains

"
July 6, 2014
"Tide Pods turn all my white arm pits purple and cannot remove them. Tried bleach, peroxide."
- Dufus
Wisconsin
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there! We're so sorry about the stains you've been experiencing. However, this could be an issue that goes beyond the product. Sometimes, a combination of perspiration and deodorant can sink into the fabric of garments and react during the washing process. This could be solved with a little bit of pretreating with the proper product. If you'd like to learn more about this, just give us a call at 1-800-879-8433. Thanks!
Review 12 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointed

"
July 4, 2014
"I have used Tide product for a while but most recently have switched to the PODS. HUGE mistake!!!
They have destroyed bath towels and clothing by leaving a blue/purple stain on my clothing. You do not notice on dark clothing but can not hide it on light colours.
I will not by this product again."
- Chef
Honesdale, PA
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there, Chef! We're so sorry that you have had issues with our Tide PODs. This could very well be a simple fix. Always throw in your POD directly in the machine before you load your clothes and never overload. We would love to get some more details about this incident if you could give us a call at 1-800-879-8433. Thanks!
Review 13 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Damaging

"
June 29, 2014
"Have used this product for months with great results but lately the pods are not fully dissolving and have left plastic residue on my clothes. This residue is impossible to remove. I will have to stop using the pods until they correct this issue."
- Teribird
New Jersey
Review 14 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Horrible smell

"
June 22, 2014
"I normally buy liquid Tide with no perfume, but I thought I'd try these new pods.
Since I could not find unscented pods, I tried one of the scented ones.
Big mistake. What a horrible cheap smell! It permeates the whole house, and I had to re-wash my clothes with other detergent to get rid of the smell.
I ended up throwing away the rest of the pods after the first wash.
I know these things are being sold because enough people buy them, but I can't imagine walking around smelling like this.
Needless to say, I'll never buy this again unless unscented type is offered."
- Anonymous
West Va
Response from Tide:By P&G Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 25, 2014
We're sorry you're disappointed with the scent of Tide Pods. If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.
Review 15 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

ruined my clothes

"
June 20, 2014
"used Tide pods for 3 reasons, less waste, convenience, good cleaning record. NO LONGER THE CASE! I followed the directions and ruined so many clothes I could scream. a brand new uniform is RUINED as well as a new T and some other clothes. RUINED with PURPLE/BLUE STAINS. and I didn't notice them until they were dry and nothing is taking the stains out."
- lass
corpus christi, texas
Response from Tide:By P&G Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Tide Pods. Often, it is sufficient to wash the stained item again via another wash load using either a Pod or a liquid laundry detergent. If this does not work:

Rinse the stain under hot water to remove as much as possible.
Gently wring the excess water from the item and lay it out flat.
Apply household rubbing alcohol/burning alcohol to the stain, making sure it covers the entire stain. (Test on similar fabric or inside fold first.)
Let the stain soak for at least 10 minutes – the longer the better.
Using warm or hot water, rinse the fabric and this should remove the stain.
If the stain has not been completely removed, repeat the steps above

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.
Review 16 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

dissappointed

"
June 18, 2014
"I have always used tide laundry detergent because I Love it. I decided to try the tide pods 90 pac. I used them and noticed that it didn't dissolve all the way so i re washed my laundry and it was fine. The next load i did i made sure i put in less laundry thinking that would help, but again it didn't dissolve all the way leaving blue and white slimy detergent and plastic on my clothes. I won't ever use tide pods again. I would really like to be reimbursed so I can buy regular detergent that won't ruin my laundry!!!!!"
- tlnmoore
utah
Response from Tide:By P&G Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods not dissolving completely in your washing machine. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.
Review 17 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Thanks for ruining my favorite LSU t-shirt!

"
June 14, 2014
"Tide pods work great if you are not a) using an he machine, while also b) washing larger pieces of fabric, like sheets, robes, blankets, etc. The pods will become tangled in the fabric and fail to dissolve adequately, but you won't notice until after you've already dried your clothes and the undissolved plastic/detergent has already melted into and/or stained your clothes.
And yes, this happens even if you place the pod in the bottom before the clothes, put an appropriate amount of clothes in the machine, wash the load on the appropriate setting for the load...in other words, actually follow the directions on the packaging (which also plainly states they dissolve in all temps- guess that's not true). Brand new sheets, a blanket, and a favorite shirt ruined. Thanks."
- AshleyBR
Baton Rouge
2 users found this helpful
Review 18 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Furious!

"
June 5, 2014
"Pods DO NOT Dissolve. 1st time user and last time. Our first use and all our laundry is BLUE with sticky residue...very disappointed."
- Nurse24
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 9, 2014
We're sorry you're furious with your experience with Tide Pods. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 19 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Plastic Pod sticks to clothes

"
June 5, 2014
"I have used a store brand of pod and had no problem. Tide has always been a strong, effective detergent that I grew up with. Thought I would try the Tide Pods. The 1st load, my quilt came out of the dryer with areas that were stuck together w/ blue stuff. The 2nd was cotton underwear, had a pair that again was stuck together with something blue that had melted onto it. The plastic POD did not full dissolve,melting onto the garment/quilt. I could pull the quilt apart, but the underwear were ruined. I have this very large container of PODS that I will need to pre-dissolve in a cup prior to use in my front loading washer. I will not buy the Tide Pods again, but will by the store brand."
- BJLou
Sand Lake, MI
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 9, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the experience washing your quilt. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 20 for New Tide Pods Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

STAINS!

"
June 5, 2014
"I always use tide liquid and never have a problem, but I bought the tide pods because I was moving and knew I needed to travel with detergent.. anyways my boyfriend and I both did laundry on separate occasions and both times left with stains. I, of course, thought he used them wrong and I did a load of clothes a week later and ruined half of our things... I hate this product and will never use it again. id rather pay and use the liquid than have more of my nice expensive work clothes ruined. I honestly do not think I will ever use tide again. Don't buy these people, you will regret it."
- EmilyB
Birmingham, AL
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 9, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods not dissolving completely in your washing machine, Emily. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps get your Pod purchase replaced with the liquid you usually use, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 94 next>>