Customer Reviews for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent

Tide PODS Laundry Detergent

Laundry Detergent; Detergent + Stain Remover + Brightener
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(8434 Reviews) 8228
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8,434 reviews)
5 stars
4,609
4 stars
2,126
3 stars
805
2 stars
330
1 star
564
5,602 of 6,679(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Review 41 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Ruined clothes

"
January 8, 2016
" The pods never fully dissolve even in hot water. Goo is stuck to my clothes, and once dried melts to them and has completely ruined multiple items. "
-
Colorado
Response From TideJanuary 12, 2016
Oh no, Ldickey. We’re very sorry this has happened to multiple items of yours while using our PODS®. As long as the POD® was placed into the washer drum first before the clothing and the machine was not overloaded this should not have happened. The good news is the residue is removable even if the items went through the dryer. Simply soak the item in the hottest water temperature safe for that fabric for about an hour or longer and then rewash without detergent. We appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention and we’d like to help further. Please give us a call at 1.855.236.3353 when you have a chance.
Review 42 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Do not use

"
December 29, 2015
" The pod didn't dissolve entirely and ruined the fabric "
-
Oak Park
Response From TideJanuary 12, 2016
Glad you reached out, Domi. We’re sorry the POD® didn’t fully dissolve and this happened to your items. As long as the machine wasn’t overloaded and the POD® was placed into the washer drum first this should not be happening. The good news is the residue is not permanent and will come off when you soak the item in the hottest water temperature safe for that fabric for about an hour or longer and then rewash without detergent. We’d like to help further, please give us a call at 1.855.236.3353 when you have a moment.
Review 43 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

hate it... it ruined my favorite sheets and lights

"
December 16, 2015
" i wanted to love it since i love tide, but whatever the blue part of the pod is it has stained my sheets and some of my light clothes with blue! so disappointed! "
-
atlanta
Response From TideDecember 16, 2015
We're so sorry you were disappointed while trying Tide PODS®, kmccook. The PODS® should dissolve entirely and prevent fabric staining as long as they're added into the drum of the machine before adding the laundry, the machine isn't overloaded and a suitable cycle is being used. The good news is the stains are not permanent and will come out when you rewash the items in the hottest water temperature safe for that fabric. This isn’t the experience we want you to have while using our product and we’d like to help further. Please send us a PM when you have time.
Review 44 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Stains laundry!

"
October 22, 2015
" Unfortunately the first time I used it was on my sheets and now they are stained. It looks like someone put some dark blue die into the wash with them. "
-
California
Response From TideOctober 26, 2015
This certainly isn’t the experience we’d like you to have, Jreynolds, and we appreciate you contacting us. This should not be happening if the POD® is placed into the drum of the washer before adding the clothes and the machine is not overloaded. The good news is the stains are not permanent and will come out when you rewash the shirts in the hottest water temperature safe for that fabric. We’d like to help further, please give us a call at 1-877-256-3265 at your earliest convenience.
Review 45 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Residue all over several loads of clothes

"
November 11, 2014
" I have previously used tide pods with no issues, but recently, this has not been the case.
When I had city water, the pods worked like a dream - now that I am on a well, its more like a nightmare. Loads of all sizes come out with melted in pod residue. I have tried reducing my load size (washed a load of three towels on a full load size), to no avail.
I suspect it is my well water that is causing issues with the disintegration of the pod. Going back to liquid detergent ASAP.
"
-
Cataract, IN
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareDecember 3, 2014
Hi there! We don't expect the change in water to affect the PODS® ability to dissolve. Are you placing the POD® directly in the machine before adding clothes? If you are and have still received these results, we would like to hear more about your recent experience. Just give us a call at 1-855-236-3353. Thanks for reaching out!
Review 46 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Pod Disaster

"
November 9, 2014
" I used the Tide Pods to do my laundry. I have never had a problem with them before, but the last couple of times I have done my laundry, the plastic that surrounds the detergent has melted into my clothes. It has completely ruined three of my shirts and damaged many more. I will not be buying these anymore. "
-
Albany, NY
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareDecember 3, 2014
Hi Carli! We are so sorry to hear this and would like to help you out. Are you placing the POD® directly in the machine before adding clothes? If you're following this instruction and not overloading, then we are not sure what may have caused the problem. Please give us a call at 1-855-236-3353 so that we can gather some more details. Thanks!
Review 47 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

My whites are GREY!!!

"
November 8, 2014
" I have been using Tide pods for about 8 months and I love the concept-- BUT I've been noticing that my white things are now a silver gray color and my husband even remarked that his socks look a little blueish!!! I am returning the 2 bags I have and will look for something without that pretty blue and orange color, and see if I can salvage my laundry. "
-
Colorado
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareDecember 3, 2014
Oh no! We're sorry to hear about this and would like to help! If you're placing the POD® directly in the machine before adding clothes and not overloading, then we're not sure what could be causing the problem. We would like to chat about this at 1-855-236-3353. In addition, if you'd like to try Tide PODS® without dyes or perfumes, we highly suggest Tide Free & Gentle PODS®. Thanks!
Review 48 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Ruins Clothes

"
November 7, 2014
" It was at first really awesome because it was easy to use, but then after using them for all semester, more often than not my clothes have been RUINED by Tide Pods! I thought at first it was a problem with my college's laundry machines, but it's because the Tide Pods don't dissolve quick enough and then gunk up on my clothes like dried gum and ruin them! So many cute clothes ruined!
It's really quite unfortunate because it would seem like a great and easy way to wash your clothes, but it's really only a great and easy way to ruin them. "
-
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareDecember 3, 2014
Hi Claire! We're so sorry to hear about this and want to help. If you're using a front loading machine, you should place the POD® in the back of the machine before adding clothes and directly in the machine before adding clothes if you're using a top loader. Also, be careful not to overload. If you think that you're following all of these instructions correctly, please call us at 1-855-236-3353. Thanks!
Review 49 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Melted All Over My Clothes

"
October 29, 2014
" I thought Tide Pods were great until I did my most recent load of laundry and discovered that the Tide Pod had melted all over 2 of my work shirts, ruining them. The pod left hardened white stains from the coating of the pod on the shirts that will not come off. They were my favorite shirts and I was very upset that they were ruined. I'm going back to regular laundry detergent immediately. The pods are horrible. I won't risk ruining my clothes again. "
-
KY
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Oh no! We're so sorry about this. Did you place the POD® directly in the machine before adding clothes? If you did this and did not overload, then we may need some more details to figure out what went wrong. Please call us at 1-855-236-3353 so that we can make this right. Thank you!
Review 50 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Does not dissolve quick enough

"
October 26, 2014
" This shouldn't even be recommended for side-loaders simply because it takes too long to dissolve.
Worked okay for my top-loader on the 2nd try after I let it dissolve in the full drum of water before dropping clothes in and starting the rest of the wash cycle. Took about 8 to 10 minutes to start breaking down before the water becomes diluted with it.
Hope that helps for those stuck with the product like me. "
-
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Hi there! We're sorry you've had trouble with this product. However, we don't believe that you need to wait until the POD® is fully dissolved before adding your clothes. Just put the POD® in the machine, add clothes, and watch the magic happen! But be careful not to overload, as that can hinder performance. Thank you!
Review 51 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Stained whites

"
October 24, 2014
" I have used Tide for years and was delighted to try the Tide pods. I thought I was using them successfully until I started to notice lavender/blue splotches on my husband's white undershirts. Eventually, my whites have become stained also. I realize now that this is a Tide Pod problem. I used them correctly and any efforts of remediation (using bleach, re-washing, etc., etc.) do not work as the clothes have been washed AND dried and those stains are SET. Thanks for nothing, Tide. I will be using other detergents from now on. "
-
Illinois
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
We're really sorry to hear that you're having trouble with our PODS®! If you're placing the POD® directly in the machine and not overloading, then we will need to hear some more details to find out what is going wrong here. Please call us at 1-855-236-3353. Thank you!
Review 52 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointed in P&G

"
October 23, 2014
" Recently tried Tide Pods because they seemed like a great idea and I have always liked Tide products. Our $200 Sheex sheets came out with a big stain and plastic stuck to them, but I blamed it on my husband. Over the next couple of weeks we both did some loads of laundry and then when wearing the clothes noticed plastic stuck to them. Not even considering that it might be the Pods, we looked inside the washer and dryer trying to figure out where the plastic was coming from and what we might have left in a pocket.
Finally we went back to our old detergent and no more plastic. We have ruined several items of clothing, including a new expensive shirt..
So now I do a google search. I am so disappointed and furious that this is a known problem and that P&G has continued to market this product without warnings and without fixing the issue.
"
-
Texas
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Hi Laura! We're so sorry to hear your story. This is not something that we expect with proper handling. Please be sure that you did not overload your machine and that you placed the POD® directly in the machine before adding clothes. If you followed these instructions and this is a recurring issue, we would like to talk. Please call us at 1-855-236-3353. Thank you!
Review 53 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods

"
October 21, 2014
" I have always used tide. Recently tried the pods and have been greatly disappointed. blue spots all over white t shirts and other whites. "
-
ohio
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Oh no! We're sorry that your first time with our PODS® let you down. Did you place the POD® directly in the machine before adding clothes? If you did this and did not overload, then we are not sure what could have caused this. Please call us at 1-855-236-3353 if this problem persists and if you cannot get those stains out. We would like to help!
Review 54 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

Eczema Alert!

"
October 19, 2014
" I am a long time Tide user. I usually use Tide liquid original scent for HE washers. I tried the Pods and at first they were great. No drips, easy to use and the same tide clean. After a few weeks my 7 year old broke out in a bad Eczema rash all over his shorts area, armpits and belly. He's had Eczema in the past but we've had it under control for a few years and it was never this bad. After some detective work and elimination I realized it was the pods. I will use Liquid Tide again but not until his rash is gone. For now it's organic dye free scent free stuff. Just wanted to let other mom's and everyone know that the Pods are not for sensitive skin. "
-
Middle Tennessee
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Hi there! We're so sorry your little one had a bad reaction to one of our products and we certainly hope that he is okay! We highly recommend our Tide Free & Gentle for babies and those with sensitive skin. It's free of dyes and perfumes. We hope you'll give it a try. Thank you!
Review 55 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Totally Poor Product

"
October 13, 2014
" I tried the Tide pods because Tide powder, which I would normally use, is no longer available. Like many others have pointed out, this product is the absolute worst. As others have noted, the pods do not always dissolve completely. And before someone from P&G customer service replies to ask, the answer is yes I do put the pods in the drum first and NO the machine is not overloaded! Nonetheless, I still end up with purple blotches on my clothes. Before, whenever I did a load of laundry, I always programmed an extra rinse cycle. However, since I've been using the pods I find it necessary to add an extra, extra rinse cycle - and even that does not always work. Ocassionally, I still end up with purple blotches from the undissolved pod. Having to add an extra, extra rinse is obviously a complete waste of energy and water, and it's a step I should not have to take! The idea of the pods is commendable however execution is sorely lacking. Designers need to go back to the drawing board and find a better dissolving material to encapsulate the detergent. I guess I'll have to start using the liquid from now on. "
-
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
We're so sorry to hear this! We don't expect this to happen with proper use, but we would like to learn more so that we can make this right. Please call us at 1-855-236-3353. Thank you!
Review 56 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Not what I expected

"
October 10, 2014
" I've been a Tide user for many years so I assumed the Pods would do a great job with less work.
Now my whites have wide blue streaks in them, hubby's shirts have streaks or stains that I can't remove.
I do read the directions and put the pods in the machine first.
I will have to discard the rest of the Pods I'm sorry to say.
"
-
Melbourne, FL
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
We're sorry to hear this! Overloading can also be an issue here. If you think this is a recurring issue or if you cannot get the stains to come out, please call us at 1-855-236-3353. Thanks for giving us a try!
Review 57 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods

"
October 10, 2014
" Absolutely hate this product! I was done washing my clothes so I put them in the dryer. When I took them out I noticed a hard light purple spot on my clothes. I soon realized that it was what was left of the pod. It apartently did not disolve all the way when they were getting washed so when I dried my clothes they were little hard spot on multiple clothing. So I washed them again with a liquid digergant from a different brand, and it turned out great! No hard spots and I didn't have to wash my clothes twice. I would not recommend this product to anyone. "
-
Atlanta
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
Avery, we're sorry to hear that you've had trouble with your PODS®. We don't expect this to happen if you follow the instructions. If you placed the POD® directly in the machine before adding clothes and did not overload, then you should not be experiencing this problem. If this is the case, please call us at 1-855-236-3353. Thank you!
Review 58 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Ruined clothes

"
October 2, 2014
" I am so upset this pod ruined a TON of my family's clothing before I realized this was actually the culprit! I have had to throw out multiple pieces, some that were worn once!!!!, because of big bleach spots. :( :( :(
I have a brand new HE washer machine, so I know it is really the product. I switched back to liquid detergent and haven't had a problem since.
"
-
New Jersey
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
Erin, we are so sorry to hear about your experience with Tide PODS®. Although your clothes were stained by our product, it did not contain bleach. We can often help to remove these stains. Stains are caused by not inserting the POD® in the machine before adding clothes and by overloading. We hope you will try us again with these instructions and if it happens again, please call at 1-800-879-8433. Thank you.
Review 59 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

There is a problem with Pods

"
October 1, 2014
" We have been washing clothes for decades and have used Tide exclusively for all of these years. We recently switched to Tide Pods and immediately noticed bluish/purple stains appearing on clothes, bed sheets, and wash cloths. The stains seem to be particularly bad in the perspiration area of shirts. Numerous clothes have been ruined.
The Pods are always put in first, we never overload the machine, and the washers are less than two years old. There is a problem!
"
-
San Antonio, TX
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
This is so strange, Harry! Please call us at your convenience at 1-800-879-8433 so that we can figure out what is going wrong here. Thank you!
Review 60 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Blue problem!

"
September 18, 2014
" This product has a problem. It leaves blue stains on white or lightly colored (ex.; light yellow) and other garments. And subsequent washing with Tide Pods or Tide detergent doesn't resolve the stain. After decades of using only Tide I will be looking for another detergent. I really hope you can get this problem solved. "
-
Lexington, ky
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
We're sorry to hear that you've had issues with this product and we would like to help. First, be sure that you are adding the POD® to the machine's drum first before adding clothes and do not overload. If you follow these instructions and experience the same results, please call at 1-800-879-8433. Thank you!
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 127 next>>