Customer Reviews for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent

Tide PODS Laundry Detergent

Laundry Detergent; Detergent + Stain Remover + Brightener
Average Customer Rating:
4.202 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(4356 Reviews) 4150
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (4,356 reviews)
5 stars
2,743
4 stars
785
3 stars
233
2 stars
155
1 star
440
1,985 of 2,601(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Review 61 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

As everyone said- They don't dissolve.

"
May 25, 2014
" I got these, wanting to simplify my laundry room, having a pretreater, oxi, and tide pods, but its not meant to be. I read the instructions, and followed them to a T. My laundry came out with the casing fused to my husbands clothes, and with blue dye all over. I use soft water, and a great washing machine, so what gives?
I have resorted to pre-dissolving my "easy and simple" pods before I add them to the wash. I am doing this, just so I don't waste them. I am really unhappy, as other tide, especially Tide Ultra white and bright with bleach was rated really well. I am just so upset that all my husbands work close were destroyed. If this is happening to you, I advise you to get ride of them, or dissolve them immediately before use. Really shocked that this is a tide product.
"
-
Mn
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 5, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods not dissolving completely in your washing machine and your husbands work clothing. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 62 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide PODS are horrible

"
May 20, 2014
" I wash my clothes at a laundromat since I live in NYC. It was nice to not have to lug a big bottle of detergent with me along with a big bag of clothes! I first used it in cold water and got the same results as everyone else....gobs and purple stains. I realized I could not use them in a cold water wash do decided to then only use them for hot water and the SAME thing happened!
I would then go home and try to hand wash these gobs and stains out which was a pain to go over every piece of clothing that you just washed! Of course I would miss a few and the gobs then dried and became crusty and hard.
I don't understand Tide's CUSTOMER SERVICE. SO MANY people have complained on this site and they just keep sending the same automated/pre-written response instead of acknowledging that the might actually be an issue! I have used TIDE for years and my mother used to use TIDE as well but I am so disappointed that I may switch brands all together just out of principle! "
-
New York, NY
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareJune 5, 2014
We're sorry you're disappointed with our response, but it's what we have found to be helpful to others who have had the same experience.

All of our products are thoroughly tested before they go on the market, and we feel confident Tide Pods work well when used as directed.

Still, if you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.
Review 63 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods Stains

"
May 9, 2014
" As many others, I used the Pods and my clothes came out of the washer with purple gunk that left stains. Stain remover and soaking has not helped. I see from this site that many other have had the same experience. Response to the reviews say that Tide is confident that the fully dissolve...hmmm. I think I'll use something else. Maybe I'll try again if Tide changes the formula. "
-
Philadelphia
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsMay 12, 2014
As you mentioned, we feel confident the Pods will not leave stains when used as directed.

Still, if you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 64 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Leaves blue stains!

"
May 6, 2014
" Bought 2 containers of the Tide pods at Sams Club. The product seemed like a great idea and is simple to use but unfortunately when I wash whites many items come out with blue-purple stains. The stains are difficult to remove but can be done if soaked with stain remover. I always place the pod in first before the laundry and never overload but this always happens when I wash white clothes. Very frustrating! Will likely go back to liquid detergent or try other brands. "
-
Ashland, OH
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsMay 9, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the stains on your white fabrics. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they will not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!

Fabric Care Community Manager
Review 65 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Purple stains and sticky goop

"
May 5, 2014
" Just like everyone else, I have stained clothes and sticky goop in the door gasket of my front loading washer. A friend stayed for a weekend recently and I washed his white oxford shirt with Tide Pods and it was stained purple and the stains could not be removed even when bleached. I was embarrassed. Since then I have switched to All Free & Clear Pods. There is no dye and they are half the price of Tide Pods. I will never use Tide Pods again. "
-
MA
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsMay 9, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the stains on your friend's white fabrics and the residue in your washer. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they will dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!

Fabric Care Community Manager
Review 66 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods STAINED my clothes!

"
April 19, 2014
" As any college student would be, I was very excited about the convenience of these tide pods as I often have to travel to campus to do laundry. However, I would highly recommend customers buy a different brand or different type of laundry detergent. Tide pods are supposed to be an easy way to ensure the cleanliness of my clothing, including the removal of stains, when it did the exact opposite! The "stain removal" swirls on the top of the pods STAINED my clothes! I read the instructions, making sure that my loads were not full, washing on the warmest water my clothes could handle, and putting the pod in the washing machine first. What happened? --> in the very first load, 4 articles of clothing became stained with dark blue dots, and a few orange ones. Being a college student, as mentioned before, I do not have the spare money to go out and buy new clothes. I do what I can to take care of my clothes, ensuring I get the most use out of them, and Tide Pods have prevented me from doing so. Unfortunately, I bought the giant bin of these pods at Costco and will be donating them to a shelter. I am very upset with this product and have told my family and friends to start using Arm & Hammer products from now on. "
-
Ann Arbor, MI
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry about your experience with the Tide Pods. Since this is not what we'd expect, we'd like to talk to you to get more information and perhaps replace the Pods with a different version of Tide.

Please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 67 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

POD GOOP BUILDS UP IN WASHER

"
April 14, 2014
" I have used the Tide Pods for over a year and they were great in the beginning and now due to the pods not completely dissolving the goop has built up in my front load HE washer. I do not overload my washer and the pods leave a goop on the clothes. I just washed a blouse on normal setting and there were clumps of goop on the blouse. I am so glad I saw it because the set of sheets were ruined because the heat front the dryer caused the goop to harden to the sheets. I tried to wash them again without a pod and the dried goop would not come off the sheet! I ran several empty loads with bleach to clean my washer. Will NEVER use pods again! Just terrible what happened to my clothes & bedding! "
-
Memphis, TN
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods not dissolving completely in your washing machine.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C.

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!

Review 68 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointing!!!

"
April 10, 2014
" I do NOT use tide products EVER. I received a sample of Tide Pods and LOVED it! The smell was amazing after washing and lasted for days. Immediately I bought a huge amount of Tide Pods. After drying the clothes, there is no smell what so ever like the sample pack. It seems to me they put more ingredients in the sample pack so they can sell more and I am highly disappointed that such a well known company would do this. I am NEVER buying Tide products again!!! "
-
New Iberia, LA
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
Thanks for posting your review. We're sorry the Pods didn't perform as the sample you tried. We can't think of a reason this would happen, so we'd like to get some additional information from you and perhaps replace your purchase.

Please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET. If you still have the Tide Pods package, please have it with you when you call.

Thanks!
Review 69 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointed

"
April 1, 2014
" I started using tide pods almost a year ago and loved them until recently.
Now all my whites are coming out with purple spots all over them.
I'm going back to liquid even though I love the convenience of the pods. Tide has a great idea but need to improve on their idea. A lot of stained clothes will be ending up in the landfills. Can't even donate to charity due to stains.
"
-
CA
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
Hi, AnnaMae.

We're concerned about your report, since the Pods should still be working the same way you'd expect. We'd like to talk to you to find out more about your experience and perhaps replace the Pods with another version of Tide.

Please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 70 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointing

"
March 28, 2014
" I have always used Tide and had no complaints until now. I've been using the pods for a couple months and had no issues with them until tonight when the pod failed to dissolve and left hardened, purple residue on clothes. Luckily, only a pair of pajama pants was ruined but now I'm afraid to use the rest of the pods (I have 1 and a half bags left that I got at Sams Club). So Disappointing! "
-
North Carolina
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
Hi, Jillian.

We're concerned about your review since that's not what we'd expect. We'd like to talk to you to find out more about your experience and perhaps replace your purchase with another version of Tide. Please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 71 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Purple stains on white clothes

"
March 26, 2014
" I have used Tide detergent all of my adult life - first powder detergent, then liquid detergent, and now Tide Pods. I've always been happy with the results until just recently. I am using Tide Ocean Mist 72 pack of pods, and I noticed that my nice white sweater had a purple stain on it AFTER being washed, not before. I tried twice more washing that sweater and the stain was permanent. I didn't make the connection to my tide pod. I wash and rinse in cold water and the package clearly states the pod will dissolve in ANY water temp. 2 more separate sessions of laundry, and now each time I wash with the pods, there is a sticky purple mess like gum or glue stuck to my clothes after the rinse cycle. I will never buy these pods again. And I'm a 35 year long customer. I have wasted a big chunk of money on this 72 pack of pods which are now useless and have ruined my favorite sweater. P.S. I'm from Calgary, Alberta, Canada, but the pull down menu did not allow me to choose Canada so I picked a random state. "
-
Calgary, AB Canada
Review 72 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Yukky mess

"
March 26, 2014
" Am a second generation Tide-Only user, and this is the first time I have not only been dissatisfied but actually disgusted in Tide's performance. These pods are a slimy mess! I have a year-old front loading washer, and when the cycle is finished, there is a glop of colored goo in my front rubber gasket. Cold water wash is the worst. I experimented today to see how long it would stay there before dissolving when I ran more loads (if I didn't wipe it out with a paper towel), and the colored slime never dissolved through 3 more wash loads! Unfortunately, I had bought the 90-pac size of detergent, so I am stuck with it, although I returned to the store and bought both the liquid and granulated traditional Tide. P&G, you really let me down!! "
-
Texas
0 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods not dissolving completely in your washing machine.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 73 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods...

"
March 24, 2014
" When Pods first came out, I absolutely loved them. I was having trouble with my front load washer and liquid detergent staining my bath towels, and I thought Pods was a great solution to that problem. They're very convenient to use.. but then my whites started getting purple stains on them, and for a while, I couldn't figure out where the stains were coming from. Then it dawned on me..the pods are very colorful, and low and behold, one of the colors is purple! Mystery solved. I won't be purchasing Pods again, unless the purple color is removed from the mix. I've had to replace a good many of my husbands undershirts, which has been costly. When I contacted P&G about the problem, they essentially said there was no problem, due to extensive testing on their end with no stain results. They're sending me a coupon in the mail for a free Tide detergent (up to 64 uses). I don't understand how so many people have stained clothes, and P&G thinks there is no problem. That's baffling. "
-
Newark, OH
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your experience with the Tide Pods. Due to the extensive testing we've done, we feel certain that when used as directed, Tide Pods will dissolve completely and not stain clothing.

It may also be helpful to know that if you have a stain, rewashing the clothing with another Pod or with another version of Tide will remove it.

Thanks for posting your review and allowing us to replace your Tide Pods purchase.



Review 74 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Doesn't dissolve

"
March 24, 2014
" Leaves what looks like melted blue plastic on parts of clothing, I tried twice just to make sure
(and I did follow directions)
"
-
Wisconsin
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your experience. Since you followed the directions, we'd like to speak with you to get some more information and perhpas replace your purchase.

Please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 75 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointed in Tide Pods

"
March 23, 2014
" Tide is the only detergent I use. I have tried many others and am always disappointed. However, I am disappointed in Tide Pods. My husband noticed he was getting blue stains on his white T-shirts and we weren't sure why, until we noticed the stains were the same color as the color in the Pods. We always make sure the pods are in the bottom of the washer so they are able to dissolve. This was very disappointing to us...we loved the concept, but we won't be buying the pods any more, especially at that price. "
-
Riverside, CA
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your experience. Since it sounds like you followed the directions, we'd like to speak with you to get some more information and perhpas replace your purchase.

Please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 76 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

STAINS!!!!!!!!!!!!

"
March 23, 2014
" I have always used tide liquid in my laundry. After getting a new washer and dryer for Christmas I decided I was going to try the tide Pods. Never again...... I wash my kids clothes separate from mine and my husbands. Before I allow my kids to wear new Christmas clothes I washed them. Big mistake with the Pods. Purple stains that will not come out of brand new clothes. "Not cheap clothes either" $500.00 in clothes ruined. Such a bad product. Worst product ever...
Guess I will be sticking to Tide liquid.
"
-
Nc
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods staining your kids Christmas clothing.

Here are some tips for using the Pods:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

We also have some tip for removing stains, so if you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps replace the Tide Pods purchase, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 77 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Purple spots and plastic case doesn't dissolve

"
March 20, 2014
" I would not recommend the Tide Pods. I have had trouble with them leaving purple spots on laundry and the plastic case not dissolving as it should. P&G should really take this product off the market. Nice idea in theory, but they do not perform well at all. "
-
Fishers, IN
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods not dissolving completely in your washing machine. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps replace your Pod purchase, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 78 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Bluish/purple stains

"
March 6, 2014
" I would like to briefly share my experience using Tide Pods. Started to see bluish/purple stains on all of my white clothes. Took a while to figure out that the root cause was the Tide Pods. Had already thrown out/cut up for rags many of these stained clothes/sheets as the stains would not come out.
I contacted tide "customer service" (I use this term loosely). I was told that no problem existed and that consumers who had these stains were not intelligent enough to follow their label directions. Even though they insisted no staining problems existed, I was given a SIX step process to remove the stains. Hmmmm. Let me see - no problem exists, but they have a process in place to correct said nonexistent problem.
For anyone with internet access, please research for yourself to see whether or not Tide is for you. Although the company says no problems exist, there are many, many testaments out there to the contrary.
After the Tide "customer service" response, I have decided that it is not for me. Using their product should not require a SIX step process to correct the resulting damage this product causes.
"
-
Mo
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry you're disappointed with the response you received from our Consumer Relations representative.

While we understand your frustration, we wouldn't put a product on the market that ruined clothing. We did extensive testing on Tide Pods and feel certain that when used as directed they don't leave stains.

We hope when you called you were offered a replacement for your purchase so you could try another version of Tide.

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Pods!
Review 79 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pods Don't Work!

"
March 6, 2014
" These little guys just don't work! They don't clean the clothes and they don't have that great Tide smell like the liquid detergent. Tide should remove them from the market. "
-
Archer, Fl
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry you're disappointed with Tide Pods.

This is not what we'd expect. One Pod is designed to handle all loads regardless of load size, but you may need two Pods for heavily soiled loads. Of course, we do not recommend overloading the washing machine since this can impact the cleaning of the clothing.

If you'd like to speak to someone about your experience and perhaps get a replacement for your Pods purchase, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 80 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Turns clothes purple

"
March 4, 2014
" All of our underwear has turned purple, then today I washed a very expensive set of sheets and they are stained purple in about a dozen places on both sheets. Why do you have to have that purplish blue dye on the pods? I think you have a great product except you definitely need to remove the dye. If not I will be forced to buy another brand without dye. I can't afford to buy all new clothes and it does not wash out even with bleach. "
-
Jacksonville, Il.
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods leaving purple stains. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 126 next>>