Customer Reviews for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent

Tide PODS Laundry Detergent

Laundry Detergent; Detergent + Stain Remover + Brightener
Average Customer Rating:
4.186 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(3995 Reviews) 3799
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (3,995 reviews)
5 stars
2,509
4 stars
705
3 stars
214
2 stars
147
1 star
420
1,791 of 2,638(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Review 61 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Turns clothes purple

"
March 4, 2014
" All of our underwear has turned purple, then today I washed a very expensive set of sheets and they are stained purple in about a dozen places on both sheets. Why do you have to have that purplish blue dye on the pods? I think you have a great product except you definitely need to remove the dye. If not I will be forced to buy another brand without dye. I can't afford to buy all new clothes and it does not wash out even with bleach. "
-
Jacksonville, Il.
1 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer RelationsApril 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear about the Pods leaving purple stains. We’ve extensively tested the Pods and feel certain they’ll dissolve completely and not stain when used as directed.

Here are some tips for using the Pods so they dissolve completely:

Add the Pod to drum of washing machine before loading the clothes.
Do not use "Delicate" cycle for heavy loads.
Do not use a quick cycle less than 30 minutes.
Pods cannot be used in pre-wash cycles.
Do not place in the dispenser drawer.
Pods can be used in temperatures ranging from 20 to 95 degrees C (68 to 203 degrees F).

If you'd like to speak with someone about your experience and perhaps try another version of Tide, please give us a call at 1-(800) 879-8433. We're here Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

Thanks!
Review 62 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Warning: Whites turn purple!

"
February 27, 2014
" I was loving these pods for my home and business until all of our white towels started turning light purple. All of my white exercise shirts and shorts developed purple stains on them and I've had to throw them out! I've probably lost close to $500 in clothing because of these pods. I'm not sure if my color clothes are stained or not. Either way, such a shock that such a trusted household name allows this to happen! We've used Tide since I was a kid. No more until they resolve this truly unnecessary problem. "
-
San Francisco
Review 63 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

More blue spot stories

"
February 26, 2014
" Incredible! I read the reviews, followed the instructions, added extra water to the wash, have a new washing machine and still get the spots on white items. P&G doesn't do this! Please admit it is a mistake and take the product off the market. My husband worked for the company, we are stockholders and this does not come close to the values we expect in products. "
-
Connecticut
Review 64 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Pods melted my undies

"
February 25, 2014
" The Pods sounded like a really good idea. Upon their use, however, I found that the material that encases the detergent doesn't always completely dissolve. When this happens, it tends to go right into the dryer with the clothes, and then it sticks to the fabric. If the fabric is 100% nylon, it sometimes even melts. I have holds in some of my slacks and panties now because of this oddity. I won't be buying this product again. Ever. "
-
Iowa
Review 65 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Clothes Not Clean

"
February 23, 2014
" I have always used tide liquid in the past and thought that the pods were just easier than pouring out liquid. I get soap scum on them and have to rewash when I use cold water. I have been using warm water to use them up so the scum from the pod is still there but it seems to peel off when I use warm water. I will go back to the liquid. "
-
Binghamton, NY
Review 66 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

AWFUL - DO NOT BUY

"
February 23, 2014
" I am a college student who is forced to live in a budget - I thought Tide pods would be a great convenience to me. It turns out they only made my life more difficult - they ruined three of my shirts and one of my bras with the sticky blue residue that does not come off when I try to stain wash it. Save yourself the money and stress, just get a different detergent. "
-
Indianapolis
Review 67 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Sticky Mess

"
February 19, 2014
" This product was great for the first 10 loads I did. The next 2 loads I did, the packets did not dissolve all the way leaving a sticky residue on 2 of my sweaters and then it hardened to a stiff blue plastic mess on the clothes. I really loved the product but learned that they are not reliable and I had to re-soak and re-rinse both of the sweaters twice to get the product out of the clothes. Bummer waste of my time :( Especially because I don't have a washer/drier in my apartment and had to go to our building laundry mat!
Stick with Gain, Apple Mango Tango folks!
"
-
Denver, CO
Review 68 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Awful Smell...

"
February 12, 2014
" I bought a small bag to Tide Pods because I was curious about the product. Much to my dismay, my clothes stunk to high heaven after washing them with this product. I actually had to make a special trip to the store to buy a box of your tried and true Tide Plus Bleach Powder to rewash the entire load. Awful product, never again! "
-
Miami, FL
1 users found this helpful
Review 69 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

So Disappointed

"
February 11, 2014
" Consumers have lodged the same complaints since 2012! The pods don't dissolve completely. It effects my linens more than my clothes. It's awful and such a disappointment. "
-
Carson, CA
1 users found this helpful
Review 70 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

tide pods

"
February 9, 2014
" I buy tide pods every month to do my clothes in and this month when doing my clothes then drying them ive noticed blue stains in my daughters clothes then tonight i washed her new bed set witch her sheets are white with flowers well the tide pods stained her sheets with blue spots everywhere and i know i didnt wash to much cause it was only a toddler bed set two small sheets and a small blanket im very upset with tide and im about to change from buying tide to something else cause of this "
-
cumberland md
1 users found this helpful
Review 71 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

The purple color stains

"
February 3, 2014
" When washing in hot water with my white clothing the purple in the pods stains the clothing. It is never a full load so it is not from overloading the machine. It is possible there are stains on my dark clothing too but I just am not seeing it. The website says it can be washed out...it can't. The stains are set. A simple solution would be not to put a color in the solution in the pods! There are alot of complaints about this on the internet, so many people are having the same problem. Tide really needs to discontinue this product or fix it! DON"T BUY THESE!! "
-
Canton, OH
2 users found this helpful
Review 72 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Purple stains on whites

"
January 29, 2014
" I was very satisfied with Tide Pods until I used them on my beautiful, very expensive white towels. I now have purple stains on every single towel. I've tried everything to remove the stains, but nothing has worked.
I spoke with Tide's customer service, and I was informed that I "misused" the product. Apparently, the pod is supposed to go into the washer (I have a front loader) before adding the clothes. The CS rep stated that the pod should dissolve as the water fills in the drum from the bottom -- before it touches clothes. So, I guess I am technically to blame; however, if there is even a chance that staining would occur, I really feel as if there should be a warning on the box.
I did wash a load of old white towels using their instructions, and that load also had stains. The pod did dissolve -- all over my white towels.
I'm still a huge Tide fan, so I will purchase a different product -- just not the Pods. "
-
VA
1 users found this helpful
Review 73 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Not happy with Tide pods

"
January 28, 2014
" I would not recommend using the pods as the outside of the pod does not always dissolve and gets on your clothes and ruins them. Going back to liquid soap. Can't believe they still sell them with this problem. "
-
Spearfish
1 users found this helpful
Review 74 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

not so happy with product quality

"
January 19, 2014
" I have used Pods for quite some time. I had been very satisfied with this product. Now this last container I purchased leaves a gumy residue on my clothes. Causing rewashing. I doubt I purchase this product again "
-
georgia
3 users found this helpful
Review 75 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Terrible

"
January 13, 2014
" I purchased these pods and can't figure out how to use them. Every time I use them I end up with the undesolved pod stick somewhere on my clothes. I washed my clothes and packed for vacation only to find that the pods never melted and changed to hard lumps of dryed detergent shriveled up on my limited wardrobe that I traveled with. Really annoying.
Would like a refund !
"
-
Longmont colorado
3 users found this helpful
Review 76 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Not dissolving

"
January 13, 2014
" The pods are not fully dissolving and are sticking to my clothes or the door of my front loader, going back to liquid. Disappointed I spent money on something I cant use and have to throw away. "
-
ca
1 users found this helpful
Review 77 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Very Disappointed

"
January 10, 2014
" I tried Tide Pods because my sister loves them. I am not impressed. They don't dissolved and have ruined some of my husband's nice dress shirts. I am going to go back to my old laundry detergent which by the way isn't even a Tide product. Very disappointed. "
-
NE
1 users found this helpful
Review 78 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Bad detergent!

"
January 3, 2014
" Having to wash everything in the house today. A while back I bought a years worth of Tide pods from Sam's Club. Two months ago I started using them then I developed a severe rash, After reading online I found that a lot of people are have the same problem. So I have to go back to Gain and wash everything in the house twice just to make sure I get rid of it. The second time is with water only. Thanks Tide! Never again! "
-
Pottsboro, TX
Review 79 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

BIG DISAPPOINTMENT

"
December 17, 2013
" i have used Tide, Tide w/ Bleach, Tide with Fabreeze... and I have to tell you I am VERY disappointed in the product.. being from a military family Tide is what we used and grew up with. As an adult I want the cleanest clothes I can get... my husband works with the public so clean clothes are a have to....I gave these "NEW" Tide Pods a 6 month try, and I tried them all.. but it did not get my clothes clean even when I'd 2 to 4 in each load... I stopped using it a month ago because the pods sure weren't economical, didn't get my clothes clean, and often still had body smells [sweat] smells... do the math a large tub of pods @ $ 29 for 6 months dang I wasted way to much money giving Tide a faithful chance that they failed. "
-
Harrisburg, AR
1 users found this helpful
Review 80 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Badly Advertised

"
December 10, 2013
" It would not remove a mustard stain out of my shirt after two washings, and would not remove grease stains. "
-
Sodus,Michigan
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 111 next>>