Customer Reviews for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent

Tide PODS Laundry Detergent

Laundry Detergent; Detergent + Stain Remover + Brightener
Average Customer Rating:
4.203 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(4353 Reviews) 4147
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (4,353 reviews)
5 stars
2,742
4 stars
785
3 stars
233
2 stars
154
1 star
439
1,984 of 2,598(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Review 1 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Stained and ruined my clothes

"
April 27, 2016
" I will not recommend this product. It ruined some of my clothes, the blue marks from the pods wouldn't come off no matter what I did. I don't buy cheap clothes. Don't buy it... "
-
Spokane
Response From TideApril 29, 2016
Any fabric staining associated with Tide PODS™ isn't permanent, Alona. The dyes we use are water soluble and the spots will come out when the items are rewashed in the hottest water safe for the fabric. To ensure Tide PODS™ dissolve entirely in the future, always add the POD™ to the drum of the washer first, don't overload the machine, and use a suitable cycle. If we can help further, please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433, 9:00AM - 6:00PM EST, Monday - Friday.
Review 2 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Don't dissolve, don't work, so don't buy

"
April 24, 2016
" The label says the product dissolves at all temperatures - but this just doesn't happen. Say goodbye to High Efficiency, because you have to wash everything twice. "
-
Victoria, BC, Canada
Response From TideApril 26, 2016
We want you to have a great PODS™ experience and help you save time on your laundry as well. We'd like to offer some tips to help avoid any residue. First make sure one of the PODS™ is tossed into the machine before adding any laundry. It's also best to be careful not to overload your washer and avoid using the delicate or quick cycles If you’re still having issues, we’d love to help and learn more. Please call us at 1-800-879-8433.
Review 3 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Was hoping for much better

"
April 21, 2016
" Only works in HOT water, apparently. The package claims this product works in all temperatures, but obviously it does not. Misleading info on the package. "
-
New Jersey
Response From TideApril 25, 2016
We're sorry you're disappointed. Tide PODS™ have been extensively tested and should dissolve in all water temperatures when used as directed. We'd like to learn more about your experience. At your earliest convenience, please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433, 9:00AM - 6:00PM EST, Monday - Friday.
Review 4 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Pods don't completely dissolve

"
April 17, 2016
" We've had problems with the pods no completely dissolving and then we have to attempt to dissolve the remaining pod that's on the shirt and rewash. "
-
Seattle
Response From TideApril 19, 2016
Thanks for letting us know. That shouldn't be happening but we do have some tips on how to remove any residue. You don't want to pull the area apart because this can cause the fabric to tear. Try soaking the item overnight in the hottest water safe for the fabric to help the film dissolve. Then rewash it without laundry detergent in the hottest water temperature suggested on the care label. If this doesn't help, please feel free to contact us and we'll gladly look into this further. Thanks!
Review 5 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

extremely annoyed

"
April 7, 2016
" I put the Tide pod in first and then loaded my sons clothes in the washer. After drying, I noticed hard dried melted plastic-like spots all over his clothes. "
-
Maryland
Response From TideApril 13, 2016
We're sorry you've had this experience, and we'd like to share removal methods with you and help further. When you have time, please call us at 1-800-879-8433. We're open 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM EST, Monday - Friday.
Review 6 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Fed Up in Massachusetts

"
April 4, 2016
" PODS are ruining our clothes. Either a chunky residue or streaks from the blue & orange die. Nothing comes out! "
-
Massachusetts
Response From TideApril 12, 2016
We want our PODS™ to provide your clothes with a great clean every time. We’re sorry you had this experience and we have some tips you can do to resolve this. First soak the clothing in the hottest water that the care tag allows for up to an hour. Next re-launder your clothes again in the hottest water the label will allow with out detergent. Please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433, so we can learn more if the tips we’ve provided are not resolving this.
Response From TideApril 12, 2016
We want our PODS™ to provide your clothes with a great clean every time. We’re sorry you had this experience and we have some tips you can do to resolve this. First soak the clothing in the hottest water that the care tag allows for up to an hour. Next re-launder your clothes again in the hottest water the label will allow with out detergent. Please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433, so we can learn more if the tips we’ve provided are not resolving this.
Review 7 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Melted pods

"
March 23, 2016
" The outside of the pods melted onto my clothes and messed up two of my favorite pairs of really expensive Calvin Klein boxers.. "
-
California
Response From TideMarch 24, 2016
We certainly want to make sure you have a good experience using our Tide PODS™, Cayla and we’d like to offer some tips to help resolve this. First soak the garments in the warmest water that they will allow for up to an hour. Next re-wash them in the washing machine without detergent. If you have any more questions, we'd be happy to help. Call us at 1-800-879-8433.
Review 8 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

WAY TOO STRONG SCENT

"
March 19, 2016
" I HAVE BEEN USING FREE AND CLEAR PRODUCTS FOR YEARS. TRIED THIS FREE SAMPLE, CAN'T GET THE SMELL OUT OF MY HOUSE. HAD TO REWASH THE CLOTHES AND THAT IS SAD BECAUSE I HATE WASTING WATER. "
-
COLO
Response From TideMarch 23, 2016
We’re sorry you had this experience, Susana. Tide Free and Gentle is free of dyes and perfumes but there still may be a scent from the ingredients that are in the product itself. We’d like to learn more. Could you call us at 1-800-879-8433?
Review 9 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

NEVER USING TIDE PODS AGAIN

"
March 11, 2016
" Usually I use tide sport. Wanted to use up the Tide pods I had. I had two pacs of tide pods that were YELLOW. One of the pacs were unopened. I'm sticking with Tide Sport. I'm done with Tide pods. "
-
Wisconsin
Response From TideMarch 21, 2016
We understand your disappointment, Taylor, and we're sorry your Tide PODS® are yellowing. Please be assured, we have many quality checks during manufacturing, however, factors such as exposure to direct sunlight and/or the age of the product could explain the color change. We'd like to learn more about this so we can help further, please give us a call at your earliest convenience at 1-800-879-8433.
Review 10 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Ruins clothes and linens

"
March 7, 2016
" I dissolved these in hot and cold laundry before adding it in the washer. I never overfill my washer. I have had to throw away clothes and sheets away due to purple/blue tinted stains. "
-
East stroudsburg, pa
Response from Tide:PattieConsumer RelationsMarch 30, 2016
Hi Alice79,

I'm so sorry to hear about your experience with Tide Pods. I'll share your feedback with the rest of the team.
Any fabric staining attributable to Pods should be treatable. I recommend rewashing any remaining stained clothes in another wash load using Tide Pods or a Liquid Tide laundry detergent.

Meanwhile, to get the best results possible:
* Do not place Tide Pods in the washer’s detergent dispenser drawer or detergent dispenser basket. While this will not harm the machine, the Pods are formulated to work effectively by placing directly in the drum of the washer.
* Place the Pod in the drum of your machine before loading clothes or adding water.
* Do not ovestuff the washing machine. There needs to be enough space to provide the agitation needed and to maximize contact with water in order for the Pod to dissolve and distribute its cleaning agents.
* Do not cut open the individual Pod or use for pre-treating.
* Do not use Tide Pods in pre-wash cycles or in quick cycles of less than 30 minutes.

Please feel free to reach out to us at (800) 879-8433 so we can help further.

Thanks for your review.
Pattie
Tide Team
Review 11 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

The Pod never melted and messed up my shirts

"
March 5, 2016
" The pods leave my shirt with an annoying residue. Pods don't melt completely. Leave a thick purple gel on my shirt. It ruined shirts and jeans. Tried picking the gel off and washing again but no luck. "
-
Wisconsin
Response From TideMarch 9, 2016
Oh no. We’re sorry this happened to your items while using our PODS®. As long as the POD® was placed into the washer drum before the clothing and the machine was not overloaded this should not have happened. The good news is the residue is removable by soaking the items in the hottest water temperature safe for that fabric for about an hour or longer and then rewashing as directed. We appreciate you reaching out and bringing this to our attention and we’d like to help further. Please give us a call at 1.855.236.3353 when you have a moment.
Review 12 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Ruined My Clothes!!!!

"
February 28, 2016
" As I took it out of the washer it stained my clothes with a purple/blue color and the plastic that is holding the detergent is suppose to dissolve but it never did, it was suck to one of the shirts. "
-
Chicago
Response From TideMarch 3, 2016
We’re sorry you had this experience while using our PODS®. As long as the PODS® are used as directed this should not be happening. The good news is the residue and stains are not permanent and will come out when you soak the items in the hottest water temperature safe for the fabric for about an hour or longer and then rewash as directed. This isn’t the experience we want you to have and we’d like to help further. Please give us a call at 1.855.236.3353 when you have a moment.
Response From TideMarch 3, 2016
We’re sorry you had this experience while using our PODS®. As long as the PODS® are used as directed this should not be happening. The good news is the residue and stains are not permanent and will come out when you soak the items in the hottest water temperature safe for the fabric for about an hour or longer and then rewash as directed. This isn’t the experience we want you to have and we’d like to help further. Please give us a call at 1.855.236.3353 when you have a moment.
Review 13 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

doesn't dissolve completely

"
February 23, 2016
" it destroyed and stain 3 items from my laundry, it is a bad product it doesn't dissolve completely "
-
Hoover, AL
Response From TideFebruary 26, 2016
We can certainly understand your frustration, Proton, as our Tide PODS® are designed to dissolve completely and give your clothes a great clean as long as they are added directly to the drum of the machine before your clothes. the good news, however, is because they are designed to dissolve in water, soaking the affected items in the hottest water safe for the fabric for at least an hour and rewashing without detergent should remove any residue that was left behind. In the meantime, this still isn't the quality or experience we want you to have and we'd like to help you further. If you'd like to get in touch, please dial 1-855-236-3353.
Review 14 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

Didn't Work!!

"
February 21, 2016
" Followed instructions, but at end of wash cycle, most of the product hadn't dissolved, blue goo all over the washer gasket, and had to run wash cycle again! I had high hopes, but was disappointed. "
-
Salt Lake City
Response From TideFebruary 25, 2016
Your disappointment is certainly understandable, Jret, especially after following all the directions and still being left with these results. It's important to know that the Tide PODS® require ample water exposure to ensure they dissolve properly which is why it's always recommended to add them to the drum of the machine before your clothes. However, it sounds as though these PODS® are being tossed to outside and becoming stuck in the door of the machine not allowing them dissolve completely. Simply tossing them into a sock or pillow case and then into the drum before your clothes, should keep them circulating with the items and dissolving properly. If you'd like to share more about your experience, we'd be happy to hear from you. Just dial 1-855-236-3353 to get in touch.
Review 15 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

RUINED SEVERAL ARTICLES OF CLOTHING

"
February 16, 2016
" Tide pods dont dissolve completely. They stick to my clothing & then harden. Ruined my clothes, I cant salvage them. So upset. I dislike this product. "
-
Idaho
Response From TideFebruary 18, 2016
Oh no, Heidi. We’re sorry you had this experience while using our PODS®. As long as they are used as directed this should not be happening. The good news is the residue is not permanent and will come off when you soak the item in the hottest water temperature safe for that fabric for about an hour or longer and then rewash as directed. Your satisfaction means a lot to us and we’d like to help further. Please give us a call at 1.855.236.3353 when you have a moment.
Review 16 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Pod Sample from Bed Bath & Beyond

"
February 16, 2016
" I have not been able to locate the plastic wrapper the fluids were encased in. The thought that it is someplace inside a piece of my clothing disgusts me. I won't be buying this product. "
-
Pennsylvania
Response From TideFebruary 19, 2016
Hello, Laura. We’re glad you reached out. Our PODS® are designed to dissolve completely in all water temperatures so there will be no plastic wrapper for you to look for. If you have any further questions please feel free to give us a call at 1.855.236.3353.
Review 17 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

DO NOT CARE FOR IT

"
February 13, 2016
" I LIKE MY REGULAR DETERGENT THANKS. THESE PODS ARE WRAPPED IN A PLASTIC I DO NOT WANT IN MY WASH MACHINE OR ON MY CLOTHES. "
-
AURORA
Response from Tide:PattieConsumer RelationsMarch 31, 2016
Hi Liz
We appreciate your feedback. I want to assure you that Tide Pods are made to dissolve quickly in both hot and cold water. If you haven't already tried them, I hope you'll consider it.
Thanks for your review.
Pattie
Tide Team
Review 18 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Absolutely Ruined My Clothes

"
February 12, 2016
" Outside wrapper did not disintegrate in the wash, hardened to all of my clothes, and caused one of my shirts to rip. Emailed company about incident and no response! Will not be buying again! "
-
Maryland
Response from Tide:PattieConsumer RelationsMarch 31, 2016
Hi Dor15,
I'm so sorry to hear about this. We would expect the Pod to dissolve completely in your wash when used as directed. If you have not heard a reply to your email by now, please get in touch with us at 1-800-879-8433. We'll be happy to help you with this.
Pattie
Tide Team
Review 19 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Do not buy

"
February 9, 2016
" Leaves blue marks on your clothes over and over again. The blue gel in the pod wrecks your lighter color clothes when it breaks open in the wash. "
-
Minnesota
Response From TideFebruary 12, 2016
We're sorry your continually seeing blue streaks left on your clothes after washing with Tide PODS®. Please know this isn't at all the results you should be seeing, especially if the PODS® are placed directly inside the drum of the machine before the clothes. However, we always aim for your complete satisfaction with every wash and we'd like to help you further in receiving the results you deserve. If you'd like to get in touch, please dial 1-855-236-3353.
Review 20 for Tide PODS Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Faulty Product

"
February 3, 2016
" In 3 loads the Pod did not dissolve & stuck to clothes, ruining them. Yes, I put the Pod in the bottom of the tub & did not overload. Soaking in hot water did not fix it! "
-
Oklahoma
Response From TideFebruary 8, 2016
We can certainly imagine your frustration, especially after following the directions correctly and trying to remove with a hot water soak to no avail. While it's typically sufficient for rewashing to remove any remnants that were left behind, depending on the fabric, it may be necessary to also follow these steps. First, rinse the stain under hot water, gently wringing out the excess and laying out flat. Then, apply a household rubbing alcohol, being sure to cover the entirety of the area, and allowing it to soak for at least ten minutes. Then, use warm or hot water to rinse the fabric once more and have your garment emerge without a mark. In the meantime, this still isn't the experience we want you to have when washing with Tide and if you'd like to get in touch with our experts, we'd be more than happy to help make sure you receive the clean results you deserve. Just dial 1-855-236-3353 to get in touch.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 125 next>>