Customer Reviews for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent

Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent

Tide Simply Clean & Fresh is formulated to deliver a thorough clean that helps to eliminate tough odors. With just one dose, you'll get a consistent, quality clean in every load.
Average Customer Rating:
3.695 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
18
52 of 82(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Review 1 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Tide Simply Clean works Great!

"
April 23, 2015
" Have used both scents - the daybreak is stronger but fine. Gets clothes clean and smells fresh. Simply Clean makes a ton of suds in my washer. Use carefully. "
- Phillyb257
Bethesda Maryland
Review 2 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Hands down my favorite!

"
April 18, 2015
" I love this Tide. It smells so amazing! I never have a issue having my husband help do laundry anymore once I started buying this scent. Now he wants to help so he can smell all the clothes lol
This just like every other tide keeps my clothes clean. I don't have an issue with dirty clothes or stains. And it's more affordable than regular Tide! I hope this scent doesn't go away any time soon!!! "
- thatmarriedchick
Maryland
Review 3 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Smells Horrible

"
March 21, 2015
" I usually can only buy Tide on sale because of the price. When I saw this i figured it was a new product at an introductory price. I bought it figuring it was tide must be good product I'm just getting a deal at this price....OMG WAS I WRONG!!!...after about 4 loads of clothes the things I washed in it starting getting into circulation again....wore something just kept smelling this stale rancid smell. Figured man did this get washed or not? Took it off changed again same bad smell. Kids started also complaining of smell. Had to pull all the clothes and re-wash in another detergent. $9.99 wasted. store wont take it back because it was opened. After a bit of complaining. The Lady at counter said real reason is to many bottles were coming back they couldn't afford to refund everyone that complained. Tide claims they tried to make a cheaper product...they succeeded...This stuff is trash! tide should be embarrassed. "
- FrankM
New Jersey
Review 4 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Listening to Cursory Reviews is Foolish

"
March 20, 2015
" I bought this Tide because I found it on a deal site but was unaware this was an economy version of Tide. Then when I bought my third large bottle I realized the entire shelf was full and that no one else was buying this. My deal sense(6th?) then kicked in and I thought there might be something wrong with this version of Tide so I bought 1 bottle instead of 2(maybe stocking up is unnecessary because the price will always be low) and decided to go home and research(sometimes purchases often made before the rise of internet purchasing(2005ish) I forget to research first). So I came here and read all the reviews and comments. The positive reviews often can be negated(but useful in this case most think the smell isnt bad) but seemed to outweigh the negative(which often over accumulate due to revenge product attack dissatisfaction) that focused on the fact that this detergent smells like cheap men's deodorant(not cologne,... deodorant) and I got that note from smelling directly from the bottle but there is allot of floral top note on top it that you also get straight from the bottle. I then worried about washing but was recently forced to wash a week ago and decided might as well try the new soap.
Upon removing the first load from the dryer the smell was stronger and did have the same bottle smell but I now realize later that it is heavier in bottom note. At the time it just smelled like a heavier bottle smell but not bad it does have that mans deodorant near the bottom but it has allot of floral on top of it and I don't think it smells bad(I'm a very discerning shopper and only buy the best of everything but I am also a man so stronger perfume I would find beneficial, this product is probably market targeted for someone exactly like me). Tho after using my towel for a few days I then realized as the top notes fell off(they seem to stay on unused clothes at least a week so far) to reveal the true nature of the bottom note which is not at all men's deodorant but what I have identified as PATCHOULI.
So I believe the misunderstanding is that either men's deodorant(most of the negatives pointing men's deodorant were women one driven by the fact maybe her husband didnt like her smelling like young men's deodorant) is a mix of floral and patchouli or the mixed smells in this Tide make a similar scent. The base note isn't bad and original top note while not as good as the base note by itself isn't bad and really I think by the time I go to wash that my clothes stink anyway so maybe detergent should have more perfume..... Also great for workout/yard or around the house high use clothes. I'm sure cologne would easily overpower the washed clothes and throughout the day it dissipates. After reading many reviews online I find the scathing reviews even if overall positive of the product are the most useful. "
- iCeOL8TR
Houston
Review 5 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Fragance!

"
November 8, 2014
" When I first smelled my clothes after coming out of they dryer. It was like fresh air. While wearing my blouse, I could still smell that wonderful fragrance! I passed it along to several friends and family. My sister who only buys Tide didn't know about the new one until I bought it home. She went back to Walmart to buy her one and get me another. Love love love the New Tide Simply Clean and Fresh! Annette "
- Anut
Houston, Texas
Review 6 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

New Idea

"
October 25, 2014
" Many years ago my mother used tide, then I did. Due to its rising price I stopped. Due to many variations of product I became more costly and confusing. Now with this new product I am pleased, but is it just making my clothes smell clean or is it actually cleaning. Results still being tested. "
- Badge
Jacksonville, AL
Review 7 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

I've Found My Tide!

"
October 7, 2014
" Tide's Simply Clean & Fresh "Daybreak Fresh" is my absolute favourite laundry detergent - hands down. I first bought it 3 months ago and haven't used another brand since! Always leaves a lasting FRESH smell on clothes. Lovely and unique fragrance. Have recommended it to friends and they've also bought and enjoyed this detergent.
Would love to see this product distributed in more stores!! "
- Anonymous
Whistler, BC
Review 8 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Thank You! Tide I Love It

"
October 7, 2014
" I love tide but of course the original is a bit pricey. I normally stick to buying the cheaper brands as I feel they do a great job cleaning my clothes I mean I don't work in construction or anything like that and even with a 4 yr old our stains aren't major. But I saw Tide Simply Fresh and Clean on sale at my local market and I actually did think it was a pricing error but I decided to snatch it up and try it out. I am so happy I did. My clothes came out very clean and I think they smell even better. I love the smell of freshly washed clothing I rather that over perfume or any body spray. You can't beat the price either I just snagged another bottle on sale at cvs. I will be purchasing the 89 load bottle soon it will definitely last long in my house hold which is easier on the pockets. "
- Datariesladii
Brooklyn, NY
Review 9 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Yuck!

"
October 2, 2014
" Sooo disappointed ! I am usually a die hard Purex user. Love the quality for the price. BUT this week the 138 oz bottle of Tide Clean and fresh was on sale for $6.99. I was excited to try it. Tide that was actually affordable. IT IS AWFUL!! It smells awful, and the smell lingers. Our clothes looked like I'd washed them in a dollar store brand. AWFUL. What's worse is now I have this big bottle of the stuff to use up. Might just bite the bullet and get rid of it and by myself some Purex. "
- Mattsmom
Rochester, New York
Review 10 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Really Like It!

"
September 30, 2014
" I bought a small bottle to try, for the purpose of washing my husband's workout clothes; it made his clothes smell great! I'm very scent particular & frugal as well...this suits our needs perfectly! "
- SuzHeart
IN
Review 11 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Love it

"
September 29, 2014
" I have always used Tide Original. My husband has developed skin allergies and it was suggested we switch to a detergent that did not have all the dyes, perfumes and other additives. I have not been able to find Tide Free & Clear except in the industrial size bottle in our hometown, but Tide Simply Clean was available, so I tried it. So far it seems to have worked well as far as hubby's allergies are concerned, and it has a really nice scent as well. If you don't like the scent, don't buy it; same as if you don't like the scent of a candle, you wouldn't buy it. "
- LaundryEveryDay
Texas
Review 12 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Best quality for the price

"
September 25, 2014
" I have always loved the results of Tide but the price was always so high. I have a large family and cost as well as the ability to clean well is always my first priority. I can't say that any have really impressed me until now. I tried the Tide simply clean & fresh and was so happy with the cleaning results for this price. The smell really is so fresh and stains just disappeared. In W.V. coal dust is a real problem but this product just washes it all away.That is why I had to write and tell you. Thank you. I am a commited customer to Tide Simply Clean & Fresh. "
- Becky62
West Virginia
Review 13 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Awesome Results!

"
September 22, 2014
" I have fell in love with this new product from Tide. I have a large family and alot of laundry each week. This product really gets the job done and it is very inexpensive. I have recommended it to my co -workers and others. "
- blessedwife
Jacksonville,AR
1 users found this helpful
Review 14 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Should Not Be Called Tide

"
September 14, 2014
" When I first saw this new product called Tide Simply Clean and Fresh at 1/2 the price of regular Tide, I thought this would be really good. I WAS WRONG!!! After a few weeks of using it, I started noticing the clothes were getting very dingy looking. I thought how can they call this Tide, our clothes look terrible. I'm glad I only bought a small bottle to try. I'm switching to Gain, they haven't tried cutting their quality and using their good name like it's the same product. "
- r05911
Joliet,IL
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
We're so sorry that you are not a fan of our Simply Fresh and Clean. This product is offered at a lower price for households on a tighter budget and we have this product branded differently for that reason. It does not contain the same kind of stain fighting as our Original products do, however it does offer families a great clean at a great price. We hope you can find a different Tide that works for you!
Review 15 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Ahhh, Simply Clean & Fresh

"
September 13, 2014
" Really like your new Tide "Simply Clean & Fresh"! Some of the reviews state the fragrance is too strong. It is my opinion it may have quite the impact smelling it directly from the bottle but after it's gone through the wash & rinse cycle and then the dryer...what remains is very nice and not strong at all. I am also well pleased with the cleaning results. We own and run a 70 acre cattle farm. You can imagine how dirty (and oft times smelly) our clothes can get. The new Tide does a very good job of taking care of the dirt and smell. If I have a tough stain I spray it with a stain remover or use a detergent booster. Love it, love it! "
- Khoop
Maryland
Review 16 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

doesn't smell good

"
September 12, 2014
" not the Tide quality and smell I associate the brand "
- doglover0523
Lafayette, La
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
Hi there! We admit that this product does not offer the same stain fighting power as our Tide Original does. We wanted a product we could offer to families on a tighter budget that would still provide a simply good clean. We hope that you will give one of our other great products a try!
Review 17 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

like it

"
August 8, 2014
" A friend gave me this. She bought it on accident (she has and HE washer, I do not) So i tried it. I dont buy anything else now. Its more affordable, and I like the way my laundry smells. "
- hmeggs
waynesboro, va
Review 18 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Awful smell

"
August 3, 2014
" It smells ok in bottle but not on clothes. Clothes are having to be rewashed and I will now have to waste money using more detergent, if I had receipt I would want money back "
- Carly
Tn
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 8, 2014
Hi there, Carley! We are so sorry for your bad experience with Simply Clean & Fresh. This product does not have the same cleaning power as Tide Original because we want to offer a product at a lower price for our customers on a budget. We would love to hear more about this if you could give us a call at 1-800-879-8433. Thanks!
Review 19 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Feeling Duped

"
August 2, 2014
" I always purchase Tide products, always have. While doing my shopping, I came across Tide Simply Clean & Fresh. We are on a pretty strict budget so being this was half of the price I normally spend, I went with this product. It claims 2x the power, so thought I would be safe. After all, it is a Tide product.
I couldn't be more wrong. I used the amount for a medium load, as I just wanted to test the product first. We have front loaders, and this soap created so many suds, I had to spend even more time cleaning the washer. I am not at all pleased.
I thought maybe I had put too much in, so I did a 2nd load. Still way beyond the amount of suds there should be. Product states that you can use it with "he" machines. I would beg to differ.
I will definitely not be using this product anymore.
It did not do the job of cleaning the clothes as well as it should have either. Guess "2x power" is right, I had to wash 2x in order to get the cleaning power. Awful.
Twice the work at half the price, not to mention having to clean out my washer. Horrible. Totally unsatisfied. Please read reviews before purchasing so you don't end up with an almost full bottle that gets thrown in the trash. I live too far from the store purchased to make it worth my time to go back & return it. I would spend more than what the product costs in gas to get there & back. My experience was a loss. Two thumbs down.
"
- JenniferMD
Lakeland, FL
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 8, 2014
Hi there, Jennifer! We are so sorry about your bad experience with Tide Simply Clean & Fresh. We would like to hear more about this incident and try to make it right. Could you give us a call at 1-800-879-8433? Thank you!
Review 20 for Tide Simply Clean & Fresh Laundry Detergent
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

bad smell

"
July 25, 2014
" I have washed my clothes twice now, trying to get the smell of this product out of them. I hope i don't have to throw an entire wash load of perfectly good clothes away! "
- katiekay
Ashland Oregon
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi there, Katie. We are so sorry that our Simply Clean and Fresh was a negative experience for you. We try to offer a great clean at the lowest price possible for our customers so we understand that it does not provide the same experience as our main line of products. We hope that you'll stick with us and if you have any other issues, just give us a call at 1-800-879-8433. Thanks!
1 2 3 4 5 next>>