Customer Reviews for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner

Tide Washing Machine Cleaner

Fight odor-causing residues in your washer from laundry soils, detergents and water hardness minerals with Tide Washing Machine Cleaner.
Average Customer Rating:
3.253 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(344 Reviews) 328
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (344 reviews)
5 stars
149
4 stars
43
3 stars
16
2 stars
18
1 star
118
208 of 344(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Review 1 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Terrible smell!

"
September 17, 2014
"I bought this after using Affresh for many years wanting to try something new. I figured since Tide is the only laundry soap I use I would try their cleaner. My washing machine was clean and had NO odor at all because I ran the Affresh monthly. After running this Tide Washing Machine Cleaner my washer has a TERRIBLE odor. I have run 4 normal cycles with hot, soapy water and a normal cycle with Affresh and I can't get rid of the odor. I'm so afraid to run a load of laundry because I don't want that smell to get into my clothes. I can't believe that Tide would put out a product like this!! I wish I had read reviews before buying this. Now I'm out the $12 for the cleaner and I hope I haven't ruined my washer. STAY AWAY from this product."
- Gopreds
Nashville
Review 2 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Pungent odor

"
September 14, 2014
"Instead of being an "odor remover" this product overpowered my whole house with an extremely heavy perfume smell which will not go away. Had to open windows all day, and the laundry room still smells so strong I don't want to be in there. I've run the washer with baking soda, vinegar, borax, and bleach -4 washes so far and can't get rid of the smell. I don't know if I'll ever be able to wash clothes in this machine. The label should have warned about the perfume - for those who are sensitive to heavy odors, this is a disaster. So disappointed that P&G would make such a product."
- Kta5
PA
Review 3 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Product Caused Odors!!

"
September 11, 2014
"I hadn't noticed any odors or smells in my washing machine, but thought I should try this product as a preventative, since my washer is more than 3 years old. After using, I immediately noticed a strong, unpleasant odor in my washing machine. It wasn't a light, lingering scent from the product, it was a bad smell. Hoping it could be washed away, I did 2 loads of laundry in hot water. They both came out so smelly, I had to re-do them. The smell has faded, but not the memory. As a side note, the coupon enclosed in my package had already expired. Probably not a big deal, as I'm not sure I would try this product brand again anyway, but not an impressive sign from the Tide company!"
- nicksmom
Macomb, MI
Review 4 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

I love the SMELL

"
August 5, 2014
"I was searching for Tide soap that had the same scent as the washing machine cleaner. I ran across all of the negative reviews and could not believe it. I have it running as I am writing and have just finished my house work and think it smells wonderful. I have used it before and will continue every couple of months."
- Anonymous
michigan
Review 5 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

"Used to" Love it, now it is AWFUL!!!

"
July 22, 2014
"What did you do to your washing machine cleaner? The scent has changed, and is AWFUL!! I bought Tide cleaner because of Tide's reputation and because of the scent. Last time I purchased the cleaner, the scent of it has changed, for the worse! I will NOT purchase this item again, I am going to find a new washing machine cleaner. So sorry Tide, but what did you do? Just got off the phone with Tide, and all they could do is say yes the scent was changed, and so sorry. Poor customer service!"
- DeeDee1962
Sugar Grove, IL
Review 6 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Got Rid of the AWFUL smell

"
July 19, 2014
"Let me first start off my saying that I purchased a house a few months ago and asked the homeowners to leave their washer and dryer however I almost got rid of them both when I I washed a load of clothes and smelled the washer the next day! It was a very foul smell even tho before I use it the first time I used another brands washer machine cleaner and contented to use that brand with no real results. I decided to give Tide a chance since I was not getting any results with the last company and BOY oh BOY did it make a difference the washer now smells fresh and clean. Thank you so much Tide for another great product that I will continue to buy."
- MLewis
Charlotte, NC
Review 7 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Terrible New Scent

"
July 17, 2014
"Have used the product many times before and loved it but this new scent is terrible. It is VERY strong and with a small child I don't want this heavy awful smell in my house. I will be returning this to the store and I will NOT buy this product again."
- Natt
Florida
Response from Tide:By Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi, Natt. We are so sorry that you are not enjoying our Washing Machine Cleaner. The scent of this product has only been changed in a minor way and it is not meant to linger in the home after use. If you would like to let our team know about this experience, please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433 and perhaps we can help you out. Thank you!
Review 8 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

New Washing Machine Cleaner Scent

"
July 8, 2014
"The new scent is awful. I loved this product but now I will not buy it again and I would like for Tide to go back to the first scent."
- Changescentback
Jackson, MS
Review 9 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Washing Machine Cleaner

"
June 25, 2014
"I loved using this product until our last purchase. I loved the scent and the fact that I saw the washing machine was clearner following use. However, the scent has changed and, instead of having the great classic Tide scent, it smells more like bug spray...and a powerful one. Why did you change the product?"
- NVMom
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 users found this helpful
Review 10 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Smells terrible

"
June 21, 2014
"I have used tide products for over 30 years. I usually use the clean cycle on my HE machine with bleach. Had a coupon and decided to try this. It has been 3 days, I have run several cycles and still cannot get the chemical smell out of my kitchen/laundry area. My son thought it was so unpleasant that he put the exhaust fans on. I am going to run vinegar through the machine and throw the other packets out."
- Lorraine
Chattanooga, TN
Review 11 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Kills odors when used prooerly.

"
June 18, 2014
"This product saved me from throwing out my washer. My laundry was smelling horrible. I couldn't pinpoint the cause until I smelled my washing machine. It STUNK! I used this product one time by pouring it in the tub on hot water setting. It made my house smell like laundry for the night but killed the mildew smell. Thanks Tide!"
- CopyTec
West Chesster, Ohio
Review 12 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Horrible smell

"
June 14, 2014
"I will toss the last 2 packets and NEVER recommend this product. The smell is pervasive - my whole house has an annoying heavy perfume smell now. Terrible! I will run the washer again first with bleach and then with baking soda before I dare use it with my clothes."
- Barbj
NY
Review 13 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Perfume alert

"
May 24, 2014
"I bought the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner to be sure we weren't getting any residue on our clothes from prior washes.
Unfortunately, after use our whole house smelled so perfumey we had to open all the windows and turn on the fans for several hours. On closer inspection I saw that perfume was listed in small print at the end of the ingredients, but nothing on the front of the package disclosed scent. I discarded the remaining two packages.
"
- concerned
California
Review 14 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Horrific smell

"
May 15, 2014
"I'll opt for the mildew odor emitting from my washing machine next time. This product has an awful smell and it overcame our entire house, which is quite spacious. Several loads later, I can still smell this awful product in the washing machine. I'll never use it again!"
- Mac24
Cincinnati, oh
Review 15 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Open Your Windows and Doors!

"
April 21, 2014
"We used Tide Washing Machine Cleaner for our top loading washing machine. After a while, I detected an unusual, unpleasant fragrance, and asked my husband if he had used a hand lotion. The smell grew stronger and was sickening as though our home had a mammoth Hawaiian flower in it. Then, we realized it was the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. The awdul smell invaded the house and we were forced to open every window and door in our home. It took a very long time for the smell to diminish. Tide needs to develope an UNSCENTED cleaner, because we WILL NOT purchase this again! I gave it two stars for FAIR; though it cleaned our washer, the smell killed a better rating."
- Samm
Ohio
Review 16 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

Directions for Washing Machine Cleaner

"
April 19, 2014
"Overall, I liked the clean smell that was left in my washer, but I directions on the box say to put in the tub, and directions on the pouch say to put in the detergent drawer. When put in the drawer, it got hard and stuck. I had to dig it out."
- SassyGirl
New Jersey
Review 17 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Washing Machine Cleaner

"
April 10, 2014
"My washer although bad smelling, was better before I used this product. My whole house reeks of this really strong perfume smell that is only masking the smell produced by this LG Front Load Washer. I have run 3 empty loads trying to rid the smell. I am throwing away the 2 remaining pouches in the box I purchased."
- washmachinecleanerstinks
colorado
Review 18 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Yuck

"
March 21, 2014
"I haven't smelled a worse perfume since using Gain many years ago. I used it in my Whirlpool HE top loader. It failed to remove the residue at the top of the tub. I am sorry I didn't read the reviews before buying the product. The day after using it I needed to run several hot water regular cycles to make my machine usable for clothes again. The worst $8 I have spent since that box of Gain."
- Goofy13
Broken Arrow, OK
Review 19 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Phew!

"
February 6, 2014
"I think this product does a good job cleaning my HE washer, but the perfume smell is absolutely overwhelming! The smell lasts for several loads afterward, too. If this product came in an unscented, I would buy it again. For now, I am switching to another brand. Sorry Tide because I love your detergent for HE washers. Whenever possible, I always buy the unscented version of cleaning products and detergents."
- LuvsClean
Southwestern CO
Review 20 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

absolutely terrible

"
January 19, 2014
"RUINED MY WASHER. I could not get the smell out, and even after hiring a professional cleaning service that SPECIALIZES is smell removal, it still smelled. This is the worst thing ever. Also, it did clean my machine but there is no use for a clean machine if you can't use it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
- myself
conneticut
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>