Customer Reviews for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner

Tide Washing Machine Cleaner

Fight odor-causing residues in your washer from laundry soils, detergents and water hardness minerals with Tide Washing Machine Cleaner.
Average Customer Rating:
3.274 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(339 Reviews) 323
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (339 reviews)
5 stars
148
4 stars
43
3 stars
16
2 stars
18
1 star
114
207 of 339(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Review 301 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Works Great!

"
April 8, 2011
"Love this product! It left no residue, there was no clumping and the scent is fantastic. I'm hoping Tide will make a laundry detergent that has the same scent. My only suggestion has to do with price. I have not seen any coupons for this particular product but hope to soon."
- NurseM
Lathrop, CA
5 users found this helpful
Review 302 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

I love this product

"
November 23, 2010
"I use the cleaner monthy. Washer is fresh smelling. I don't know how I lived without it before ..... try it!"
- saf6m
Pennsylvania
5 users found this helpful
Review 303 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Washer Cleaner actually works

"
February 7, 2013
"This is the second time EVER that I've written a review of a product. I don't use Tide detergent because it's usually expensive and other brands do as well. But I had a coupon for the washer cleaner, and a stinky top-load washer, so I tried it. Amazing -- it did exactly what it was supposed to. No more stinky smell. I use fragrance-free detergent, so I could smell the product's fragrance for a few washes. But it faded, and the lack of stink has continued. I'm going to watch for more coupons and buy this when I can get it most inexpensively. Isn't it sad that I'm so excited when a product does what it says it will?. Anyway, I can actually recommend this!"
- CindyBB
Colorado Springs, CO
6 users found this helpful
Review 304 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

AWESOME AWESOME

"
September 24, 2010
"It works exactly as it says it does. I have a front load lg washer and I was about to buy a new top load washing machine because i couldnt get the awefull smell and gunk out of the machine. I tried all kinds of things and nothing worked. As I was walking around the store i noticed the tide washing machine cleaner. Its been only a week since we used the product and it has made a WORLD of difference already. It has almost elimanted the odor and removed almost all the gunk that was stuck between the rubber gasket. Thank you tide, your product works AWESOME."
- Speedy
stf, ct
6 users found this helpful
Review 305 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

Only one problem

"
April 9, 2009
"I have an LG Front Loading HE washing machine, and I was excited to try the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner since Tide detergent is the only detergent I use. I love the smell that the cleaner leaves behind, and it cleans well, but the only problem is that it doesn't fully dissolve in my dispenser. When I am done with the cleaning cycle, I open up the detergent dispenser to find a hard bunch of gunk. I just wish someone would figure that problem out and everything would be great."
- chilover
WV
6 users found this helpful
Review 306 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

powder not work in clean wash cycle

"
February 16, 2009
"I have a HE washer with a clean wash cycle and found that the dispenser detergent drawer that I put the powder (Tide washer cleaner) in rinses out the dispenser before the clean wash cycle. Thus, My Tide washer clean was not effective and I wasted money. They need to get Tide washer cleaner that is good to put into the drum of the HE washer."
- sherri
michigan
6 users found this helpful
Review 307 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Best product!!

"
January 25, 2011
"I couldn't use my front loader without product. Even with regular cleaning it starts to stink, With Tide washing machine cleaner it doesn't stink anymore. I can leave clothes overnight in the washer and they don't stink. It is well worth the money. I love it.=!!!"
- labgirl10
al
7 users found this helpful
Review 308 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Mistaken Identity

"
January 23, 2011
"I believe some of the people that have commented negatively on this site have mistaken Tide Washing Machine Cleaner for detergent. Well folks, it's not. It's prime purpose is to clean your washing MACHINE to keep it from emmiting odors. HE machines are notorous for this & the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner is the bomb! I'd recommend it to anyone!"
- Nena2
Tyler, TX
7 users found this helpful
Review 309 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

A Breath of Fresh Air

"
March 14, 2010
"We have a Samsung front loader washer and drier. We also have two teenagers who cannot comprend that the washer must dryout before the door is closed or it will sour.
Thank you Tide for relieving me of the constant frustraton of a smelly washing machine and the children also thank you for getting me off of thier case.
Sincerely,
Lorna
"
- Lorna
Gibsonto, Florida
7 users found this helpful
Review 310 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

A good product

"
March 18, 2009
"I think this is a good product. The only thing is I had to keep checking on the power to make sure it all went into the machine wich it didnt so I just kept adding a little water . I think the price is a little high. It is just SHAME how many of us out there have front end loaders and they carry oders . They say we use to much soap how can that be . I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER FRONT END LOADER."
- Doobird
Conowingo M.D.
7 users found this helpful
Review 311 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

best of all detergents

"
February 16, 2009
"for years.....as my mom and grandmother...i used cheer and fab.when visiting my daughter,I could not believe how wonderful her clothes smelled......and also her whole house from the clothes. I bought 2 bottles of tide/with downey and will not use any other product"
- marlane
washington,pa
7 users found this helpful
Review 312 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Too Smelly

"
February 12, 2009
"This product is way to fragrant. I have tried everything to get rid of this smell in my laundry room and I'm afraid to wash my clothes as they may smell this way to."
- Marie
Richmond, VA
7 users found this helpful
Review 313 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Confusing Directions

"
December 8, 2012
"I purchased the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner and now have NO clue what to do to use it. The instructions on the box and the instructions on the packages INSIDE the box are DIFFERENT. One shows a diagram of a front loader where the detergent is poured into the detergent cup, the other shows a diagram of a front loader where the detergent is poured directly into the washing machine basin. Which is it? How can PG put out conflicting instructions? Looking online it seems that people are having problems with both options. I'm left to trial and error to see what works. This is horrible - the manager who approved the instructions and the quality control people who approved opposing instructions should be fired. I even tried calling the 800 number for assistance, but they're not open on weekends. Get your act together Tide product line. I expected much much more."
- JustinPSU
PA
8 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:By ShawnnaConsumer Care December 12, 2012
Sorry the directions were confusing. To use the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, remove clothing from your washer. Put 1 pouch of Tide Washing Machine Cleaner directly into the washer. Run the washer on a normal cycle on the hottest setting. Also, use the product once a month to keep your washer clean and fresh. Hope this helps!
Review 314 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Clumpy/Residue Issue Resolved

"
May 9, 2009
"Like many others who have posted comments, the first time my wife and I tried this product we too had a clumpy residue of the product remain in the detergent drawer. What we realized is that our brand of washer - Whirlpool Duet - has a separator for liquid vs. powder. Since purchasing the washer almost 4 years ago, we have always used liquid detergent. So the first time we tried this product, our immediate thought was not to move the separator back to the powder position. So on our next try, we had the separator set in the powder position and we also used the "Whitest Whites" setting for the wash cycle. Alas, no residue remained in the drawer and our washer came out smelling fresh and clean, Much better than the Affresh product or Summit Brands' Washer Magic ever did for us."
- Steve
Highland Village, TX
8 users found this helpful
Review 315 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Wonderful!

"
December 3, 2010
"Two times before buying this product I picked it up at the store, looked at it and thought that it would be another product that didn't really work the way the commercial said that it would and replaced it on the shelf. The third time seeing this product, I picked it up and finally tossed it into my basket and thought that it would either help the nasty odor in my washer or I had just lost $7.00. After using the first packet, WOW! What a difference it made. I was truely shocked, the odor was gone. I followed the directions on the box and have just used all three packets, I am happy to say that my washer is like new. No longer do I have to rewash loads of clothes because of the moldy odor. This is a product that I will continue using and highly recommend."
- Joyr
Houston, TX
9 users found this helpful
Review 316 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

A great buy

"
March 14, 2010
"I truly like thiss product, I not only found that it cleaned my washer, but I found the fragrance was nice and I liked the way it made my laundry room smell after I used it."
- brighton90
Whitman, MA
9 users found this helpful
Review 317 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Good Product!!

"
October 10, 2010
"I was experiencing a musty, mildew smell in my top loading washer and I smelled this oder on my freshly laundered clothes so much that I would have to rewash it. I saw a commercial for this product and decided to give it a try. Yes, using this product does give an oder but it wasn't anything more then what you would smell while mopping a floor, no need to air out as others have stated. My washer smelled clean and fresh. Another thing, yes it does leave stuff behind in the washer afterwards but personally I would rather it be in the tub where it can be rinsed or simply wiped out instead of in my laundry. So far this is a great product and I can't wait to see what it has done for my laundry as my 1st load is currently washing!! I'm confident that it has made a huge difference considering what it has done for my washing machine. I would highly recommend this product to anyone who has either a front loading washing machine or any HE like a cabrio top loader such as what I have. This was the best $5 spent!!"
- MrsGreenJeans
Dover,Pa
10 users found this helpful
Review 318 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Used it twice, like it twice

"
April 12, 2009
"I have 2 different top loaders. This product clean both very well. I like the scent and noticed the cleanliness inside both washers after I used the product. I will buy again and use the coupon I forgot this time around. I think $5 would be a more reasonable pricing for this item."
- Sheila
Chicago, IL
12 users found this helpful
Review 319 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Works Great!

"
March 30, 2009
"I used this and I thought it was great, and has a great scent, I have Kenmore Front Loader and it did not clump up at all, for those of you that have front loaders, do some internet research, (this was not in my manual) I found out that there is a drain underneath mine that was causing the odor, when I opened it and drained it I found all sorts of things, such as a sock, lint, a pen, and a comb, and the smell was terrible, so I clean out this drain 2x a year and have no odor issuses any longer! Hope this helps some of you!"
- Tailend
PA
13 users found this helpful
Review 320 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

What I have Been Searching For

"
July 15, 2011
"My new washer came with my new husband. With my top load washer, I seem to never have to smell problem I did with the HE front load washer. I cleaned it per the instruction (bleach only) but the smell remained in my laundry room. The day I saw the commercial about Tide's Washing Machine Cleaner, I was off to Wal-mart. The next day after I used it the smell was gone and my washer looked great. My clothes even looked better and I feel sexier in them now. Thank you very much Tide."
- Rowena
E St Louis, IL
14 users found this helpful
<<prev 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 next>>