Customer Reviews for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner

Tide Washing Machine Cleaner

Fight odor-causing residues in your washer from laundry soils, detergents and water hardness minerals with Tide Washing Machine Cleaner.
Average Customer Rating:
3.253 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(344 Reviews) 328
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (344 reviews)
5 stars
149
4 stars
43
3 stars
16
2 stars
18
1 star
118
208 of 344(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Review 301 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

Incorrect Directions

"
May 14, 2013
"For front loaders, the package states to put it in where the laundry detergent goes, but online and on the commercial it shows to put in the drum. I think the packaging directions need to be updated. Other than that, the product works great!"
- Nicky
New Hampshire
5 users found this helpful
Review 302 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Beware of damage to machine

"
January 31, 2013
"I had never used this product before. I had completed several loads of laundry with my 3 yr old front load machine in the morning- no problems and I have never had any problems with my machine. Around noon I decided to use the product. I returned to check on the machine and found that the entire load had leaked out of the bottom of the machine. I called a repair company. They had to replace the pump $329! ... I explained the sequence of events and was told that they have seen this problem multiple times and say NEVER use this product... basically ate the plug out of a small hole in the pump so all water leaked out. Very expensive lesson!!!! Repairman said running a load with 12 oz bleach on the hot/cold 2hr setting better results and won't hurt rubber plugs or other rubber sections of machine. Definitely threw the other 2 packs away!!!!"
- AHCK
Atlanta, Georgia
5 users found this helpful
Review 303 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

horrible product

"
January 22, 2013
"tide should be ashamed of themselves for this terrible product, the damage it does to front loading washing machines (Mine is LG), the contrary instructions that appear on the outside box and inside packet, and mostly for the ridiculously patronizing and insulting replies from their so called customer care center. i never used a tide product before and i will never use any proctor and gamble product again. ever."
- bennyjcat
jupiter, fl
5 users found this helpful
Review 304 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

You forgot to mention one thing....

"
September 9, 2012
"I purchased the Tide WM cleaner. I read the box and the packet to make sure I use it properly. I have a front loader and it said to put in my detergent dispenser. It never said remove the tab before washing to dissolve the cleaner. I never used powder before on my front loader so I was not aware of the use for the dispenser was different for powder. I found clumps of cleaner in the drawer. I removed my drawer and dumped out the cleaner. Better luck next time."
- Dara
Philadelphia, PA
5 users found this helpful
Review 305 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Musty wash machine

"
June 28, 2011
"My frontload wash machine was starting to have a musty smell. I bought the Tide Wash Machine cleaner and it smelled the whole laundry room with a fresh clean smell; and now my wash machine no longer has that stintch . I will be using this once a month. Thanks Tide!!!!"
- amarie
in the south
5 users found this helpful
Review 306 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Works Great!

"
April 8, 2011
"Love this product! It left no residue, there was no clumping and the scent is fantastic. I'm hoping Tide will make a laundry detergent that has the same scent. My only suggestion has to do with price. I have not seen any coupons for this particular product but hope to soon."
- NurseM
Lathrop, CA
5 users found this helpful
Review 307 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

I love this product

"
November 23, 2010
"I use the cleaner monthy. Washer is fresh smelling. I don't know how I lived without it before ..... try it!"
- saf6m
Pennsylvania
5 users found this helpful
Review 308 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Washer Cleaner actually works

"
February 7, 2013
"This is the second time EVER that I've written a review of a product. I don't use Tide detergent because it's usually expensive and other brands do as well. But I had a coupon for the washer cleaner, and a stinky top-load washer, so I tried it. Amazing -- it did exactly what it was supposed to. No more stinky smell. I use fragrance-free detergent, so I could smell the product's fragrance for a few washes. But it faded, and the lack of stink has continued. I'm going to watch for more coupons and buy this when I can get it most inexpensively. Isn't it sad that I'm so excited when a product does what it says it will?. Anyway, I can actually recommend this!"
- CindyBB
Colorado Springs, CO
6 users found this helpful
Review 309 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

AWESOME AWESOME

"
September 24, 2010
"It works exactly as it says it does. I have a front load lg washer and I was about to buy a new top load washing machine because i couldnt get the awefull smell and gunk out of the machine. I tried all kinds of things and nothing worked. As I was walking around the store i noticed the tide washing machine cleaner. Its been only a week since we used the product and it has made a WORLD of difference already. It has almost elimanted the odor and removed almost all the gunk that was stuck between the rubber gasket. Thank you tide, your product works AWESOME."
- Speedy
stf, ct
6 users found this helpful
Review 310 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

Only one problem

"
April 9, 2009
"I have an LG Front Loading HE washing machine, and I was excited to try the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner since Tide detergent is the only detergent I use. I love the smell that the cleaner leaves behind, and it cleans well, but the only problem is that it doesn't fully dissolve in my dispenser. When I am done with the cleaning cycle, I open up the detergent dispenser to find a hard bunch of gunk. I just wish someone would figure that problem out and everything would be great."
- chilover
WV
6 users found this helpful
Review 311 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

powder not work in clean wash cycle

"
February 16, 2009
"I have a HE washer with a clean wash cycle and found that the dispenser detergent drawer that I put the powder (Tide washer cleaner) in rinses out the dispenser before the clean wash cycle. Thus, My Tide washer clean was not effective and I wasted money. They need to get Tide washer cleaner that is good to put into the drum of the HE washer."
- sherri
michigan
6 users found this helpful
Review 312 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Best product!!

"
January 25, 2011
"I couldn't use my front loader without product. Even with regular cleaning it starts to stink, With Tide washing machine cleaner it doesn't stink anymore. I can leave clothes overnight in the washer and they don't stink. It is well worth the money. I love it.=!!!"
- labgirl10
al
7 users found this helpful
Review 313 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Mistaken Identity

"
January 23, 2011
"I believe some of the people that have commented negatively on this site have mistaken Tide Washing Machine Cleaner for detergent. Well folks, it's not. It's prime purpose is to clean your washing MACHINE to keep it from emmiting odors. HE machines are notorous for this & the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner is the bomb! I'd recommend it to anyone!"
- Nena2
Tyler, TX
7 users found this helpful
Review 314 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

A Breath of Fresh Air

"
March 14, 2010
"We have a Samsung front loader washer and drier. We also have two teenagers who cannot comprend that the washer must dryout before the door is closed or it will sour.
Thank you Tide for relieving me of the constant frustraton of a smelly washing machine and the children also thank you for getting me off of thier case.
Sincerely,
Lorna
"
- Lorna
Gibsonto, Florida
7 users found this helpful
Review 315 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

A good product

"
March 18, 2009
"I think this is a good product. The only thing is I had to keep checking on the power to make sure it all went into the machine wich it didnt so I just kept adding a little water . I think the price is a little high. It is just SHAME how many of us out there have front end loaders and they carry oders . They say we use to much soap how can that be . I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER FRONT END LOADER."
- Doobird
Conowingo M.D.
7 users found this helpful
Review 316 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

best of all detergents

"
February 16, 2009
"for years.....as my mom and grandmother...i used cheer and fab.when visiting my daughter,I could not believe how wonderful her clothes smelled......and also her whole house from the clothes. I bought 2 bottles of tide/with downey and will not use any other product"
- marlane
washington,pa
7 users found this helpful
Review 317 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Too Smelly

"
February 12, 2009
"This product is way to fragrant. I have tried everything to get rid of this smell in my laundry room and I'm afraid to wash my clothes as they may smell this way to."
- Marie
Richmond, VA
7 users found this helpful
Review 318 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Confusing Directions

"
December 8, 2012
"I purchased the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner and now have NO clue what to do to use it. The instructions on the box and the instructions on the packages INSIDE the box are DIFFERENT. One shows a diagram of a front loader where the detergent is poured into the detergent cup, the other shows a diagram of a front loader where the detergent is poured directly into the washing machine basin. Which is it? How can PG put out conflicting instructions? Looking online it seems that people are having problems with both options. I'm left to trial and error to see what works. This is horrible - the manager who approved the instructions and the quality control people who approved opposing instructions should be fired. I even tried calling the 800 number for assistance, but they're not open on weekends. Get your act together Tide product line. I expected much much more."
- JustinPSU
PA
8 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:By ShawnnaConsumer Care December 12, 2012
Sorry the directions were confusing. To use the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, remove clothing from your washer. Put 1 pouch of Tide Washing Machine Cleaner directly into the washer. Run the washer on a normal cycle on the hottest setting. Also, use the product once a month to keep your washer clean and fresh. Hope this helps!
Review 319 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Clumpy/Residue Issue Resolved

"
May 9, 2009
"Like many others who have posted comments, the first time my wife and I tried this product we too had a clumpy residue of the product remain in the detergent drawer. What we realized is that our brand of washer - Whirlpool Duet - has a separator for liquid vs. powder. Since purchasing the washer almost 4 years ago, we have always used liquid detergent. So the first time we tried this product, our immediate thought was not to move the separator back to the powder position. So on our next try, we had the separator set in the powder position and we also used the "Whitest Whites" setting for the wash cycle. Alas, no residue remained in the drawer and our washer came out smelling fresh and clean, Much better than the Affresh product or Summit Brands' Washer Magic ever did for us."
- Steve
Highland Village, TX
8 users found this helpful
Review 320 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Wonderful!

"
December 3, 2010
"Two times before buying this product I picked it up at the store, looked at it and thought that it would be another product that didn't really work the way the commercial said that it would and replaced it on the shelf. The third time seeing this product, I picked it up and finally tossed it into my basket and thought that it would either help the nasty odor in my washer or I had just lost $7.00. After using the first packet, WOW! What a difference it made. I was truely shocked, the odor was gone. I followed the directions on the box and have just used all three packets, I am happy to say that my washer is like new. No longer do I have to rewash loads of clothes because of the moldy odor. This is a product that I will continue using and highly recommend."
- Joyr
Houston, TX
9 users found this helpful
<<prev 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 next>>