Customer Reviews for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner

Tide Washing Machine Cleaner

Fight odor-causing residues in your washer from laundry soils, detergents and water hardness minerals with Tide Washing Machine Cleaner.
Average Customer Rating:
3.312 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(330 Reviews) 314
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (330 reviews)
5 stars
146
4 stars
43
3 stars
16
2 stars
18
1 star
107
205 of 330(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Review 301 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

A good product

"
March 18, 2009
"I think this is a good product. The only thing is I had to keep checking on the power to make sure it all went into the machine wich it didnt so I just kept adding a little water . I think the price is a little high. It is just SHAME how many of us out there have front end loaders and they carry oders . They say we use to much soap how can that be . I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER FRONT END LOADER."
- Doobird
Conowingo M.D.
7 users found this helpful
Review 302 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

best of all detergents

"
February 16, 2009
"for years.....as my mom and grandmother...i used cheer and fab.when visiting my daughter,I could not believe how wonderful her clothes smelled......and also her whole house from the clothes. I bought 2 bottles of tide/with downey and will not use any other product"
- marlane
washington,pa
7 users found this helpful
Review 303 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Too Smelly

"
February 12, 2009
"This product is way to fragrant. I have tried everything to get rid of this smell in my laundry room and I'm afraid to wash my clothes as they may smell this way to."
- Marie
Richmond, VA
7 users found this helpful
Review 304 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Confusing Directions

"
December 8, 2012
"I purchased the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner and now have NO clue what to do to use it. The instructions on the box and the instructions on the packages INSIDE the box are DIFFERENT. One shows a diagram of a front loader where the detergent is poured into the detergent cup, the other shows a diagram of a front loader where the detergent is poured directly into the washing machine basin. Which is it? How can PG put out conflicting instructions? Looking online it seems that people are having problems with both options. I'm left to trial and error to see what works. This is horrible - the manager who approved the instructions and the quality control people who approved opposing instructions should be fired. I even tried calling the 800 number for assistance, but they're not open on weekends. Get your act together Tide product line. I expected much much more."
- JustinPSU
PA
8 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:By ShawnnaConsumer Care December 12, 2012
Sorry the directions were confusing. To use the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, remove clothing from your washer. Put 1 pouch of Tide Washing Machine Cleaner directly into the washer. Run the washer on a normal cycle on the hottest setting. Also, use the product once a month to keep your washer clean and fresh. Hope this helps!
Review 305 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Clumpy/Residue Issue Resolved

"
May 9, 2009
"Like many others who have posted comments, the first time my wife and I tried this product we too had a clumpy residue of the product remain in the detergent drawer. What we realized is that our brand of washer - Whirlpool Duet - has a separator for liquid vs. powder. Since purchasing the washer almost 4 years ago, we have always used liquid detergent. So the first time we tried this product, our immediate thought was not to move the separator back to the powder position. So on our next try, we had the separator set in the powder position and we also used the "Whitest Whites" setting for the wash cycle. Alas, no residue remained in the drawer and our washer came out smelling fresh and clean, Much better than the Affresh product or Summit Brands' Washer Magic ever did for us."
- Steve
Highland Village, TX
8 users found this helpful
Review 306 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Wonderful!

"
December 3, 2010
"Two times before buying this product I picked it up at the store, looked at it and thought that it would be another product that didn't really work the way the commercial said that it would and replaced it on the shelf. The third time seeing this product, I picked it up and finally tossed it into my basket and thought that it would either help the nasty odor in my washer or I had just lost $7.00. After using the first packet, WOW! What a difference it made. I was truely shocked, the odor was gone. I followed the directions on the box and have just used all three packets, I am happy to say that my washer is like new. No longer do I have to rewash loads of clothes because of the moldy odor. This is a product that I will continue using and highly recommend."
- Joyr
Houston, TX
9 users found this helpful
Review 307 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

A great buy

"
March 14, 2010
"I truly like thiss product, I not only found that it cleaned my washer, but I found the fragrance was nice and I liked the way it made my laundry room smell after I used it."
- brighton90
Whitman, MA
9 users found this helpful
Review 308 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Good Product!!

"
October 10, 2010
"I was experiencing a musty, mildew smell in my top loading washer and I smelled this oder on my freshly laundered clothes so much that I would have to rewash it. I saw a commercial for this product and decided to give it a try. Yes, using this product does give an oder but it wasn't anything more then what you would smell while mopping a floor, no need to air out as others have stated. My washer smelled clean and fresh. Another thing, yes it does leave stuff behind in the washer afterwards but personally I would rather it be in the tub where it can be rinsed or simply wiped out instead of in my laundry. So far this is a great product and I can't wait to see what it has done for my laundry as my 1st load is currently washing!! I'm confident that it has made a huge difference considering what it has done for my washing machine. I would highly recommend this product to anyone who has either a front loading washing machine or any HE like a cabrio top loader such as what I have. This was the best $5 spent!!"
- MrsGreenJeans
Dover,Pa
10 users found this helpful
Review 309 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Used it twice, like it twice

"
April 12, 2009
"I have 2 different top loaders. This product clean both very well. I like the scent and noticed the cleanliness inside both washers after I used the product. I will buy again and use the coupon I forgot this time around. I think $5 would be a more reasonable pricing for this item."
- Sheila
Chicago, IL
12 users found this helpful
Review 310 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Works Great!

"
March 30, 2009
"I used this and I thought it was great, and has a great scent, I have Kenmore Front Loader and it did not clump up at all, for those of you that have front loaders, do some internet research, (this was not in my manual) I found out that there is a drain underneath mine that was causing the odor, when I opened it and drained it I found all sorts of things, such as a sock, lint, a pen, and a comb, and the smell was terrible, so I clean out this drain 2x a year and have no odor issuses any longer! Hope this helps some of you!"
- Tailend
PA
13 users found this helpful
Review 311 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

What I have Been Searching For

"
July 15, 2011
"My new washer came with my new husband. With my top load washer, I seem to never have to smell problem I did with the HE front load washer. I cleaned it per the instruction (bleach only) but the smell remained in my laundry room. The day I saw the commercial about Tide's Washing Machine Cleaner, I was off to Wal-mart. The next day after I used it the smell was gone and my washer looked great. My clothes even looked better and I feel sexier in them now. Thank you very much Tide."
- Rowena
E St Louis, IL
14 users found this helpful
Review 312 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

Better than Affresh

"
May 6, 2010
"Best product I have found so far!
I am renting and have a washing machine that is 25 years old. It had the worst moldy smell and grime on the agitator. I tried Affresh, which is expensive, and the smell remained.
Then I tried Tide and the smell disappeared for a few days. Thinking that the musty smell was years in the making and impossible to eradicate due to the age of the machine, I now use Tide washing machine cleaner once each week.
Yes, it is very fragrant, they could tone it down it a bit. But it is much better than the house smelling like moldy slime. In response to those expecting results with only one washing - if your machine has been smelling for a while, it makes sense that more than one washing would be required. Then regular upkeep, just like everything else we have to repeatedly clean is needed."
- Zumajaz
Seattle, WA
14 users found this helpful
Review 313 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Worth the money

"
January 24, 2011
"If you have an old model, we have one of the first Maytag Neptunes produced, this is fantastic! Our washer has smelled for years!!! about 10 to 15 for sure! I tried EVERYTHING!! . I was ready to throw them out when I saw this product. Thank you Tide!!!! I used it once a week for 3 weeks like the directions said, then once a month after that. I sometimes can even skip a treatment and it stays fresh. Those that say it doesn't work for them either don't need it or are not doing it correctly.( Unless they have extremely bad water. Ours is bad but we have a water softener to help)"
- Grama
Illinois
16 users found this helpful
Review 314 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

The best

"
March 26, 2010
"I totally love love love this product. I too have a front load washer (as a previous reviewer) there was gunk built up on the inside of my door and this product totally cleaned all of the build up off, the drum is shiny and the smell is nice and fresh. I would totally recommend this product to my family and friends."
- MommaV
Houston, TX
18 users found this helpful
Ratings-Only Reviews for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Based on the average of (16) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 11 out of 16
<<prev 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16