Customer Reviews for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner

Tide Washing Machine Cleaner

Fight odor-causing residues in your washer from laundry soils, detergents and water hardness minerals with Tide Washing Machine Cleaner.
Average Customer Rating:
3.312 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(330 Reviews) 314
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (330 reviews)
5 stars
146
4 stars
43
3 stars
16
2 stars
18
1 star
107
205 of 330(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Review 1 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Open Your Windows and Doors!

"
April 21, 2014
"We used Tide Washing Machine Cleaner for our top loading washing machine. After a while, I detected an unusual, unpleasant fragrance, and asked my husband if he had used a hand lotion. The smell grew stronger and was sickening as though our home had a mammoth Hawaiian flower in it. Then, we realized it was the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. The awdul smell invaded the house and we were forced to open every window and door in our home. It took a very long time for the smell to diminish. Tide needs to develope an UNSCENTED cleaner, because we WILL NOT purchase this again! I gave it two stars for FAIR; though it cleaned our washer, the smell killed a better rating."
- Samm
Ohio
Review 2 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

Directions for Washing Machine Cleaner

"
April 19, 2014
"Overall, I liked the clean smell that was left in my washer, but I directions on the box say to put in the tub, and directions on the pouch say to put in the detergent drawer. When put in the drawer, it got hard and stuck. I had to dig it out."
- SassyGirl
New Jersey
Review 3 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Tide Washing Machine Cleaner

"
April 10, 2014
"My washer although bad smelling, was better before I used this product. My whole house reeks of this really strong perfume smell that is only masking the smell produced by this LG Front Load Washer. I have run 3 empty loads trying to rid the smell. I am throwing away the 2 remaining pouches in the box I purchased."
- washmachinecleanerstinks
colorado
Review 4 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Yuck

"
March 21, 2014
"I haven't smelled a worse perfume since using Gain many years ago. I used it in my Whirlpool HE top loader. It failed to remove the residue at the top of the tub. I am sorry I didn't read the reviews before buying the product. The day after using it I needed to run several hot water regular cycles to make my machine usable for clothes again. The worst $8 I have spent since that box of Gain."
- Goofy13
Broken Arrow, OK
Review 5 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Phew!

"
February 6, 2014
"I think this product does a good job cleaning my HE washer, but the perfume smell is absolutely overwhelming! The smell lasts for several loads afterward, too. If this product came in an unscented, I would buy it again. For now, I am switching to another brand. Sorry Tide because I love your detergent for HE washers. Whenever possible, I always buy the unscented version of cleaning products and detergents."
- LuvsClean
Southwestern CO
Review 6 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

absolutely terrible

"
January 19, 2014
"RUINED MY WASHER. I could not get the smell out, and even after hiring a professional cleaning service that SPECIALIZES is smell removal, it still smelled. This is the worst thing ever. Also, it did clean my machine but there is no use for a clean machine if you can't use it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
- myself
conneticut
Review 7 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Something changed...for the worse!!

"
January 10, 2014
"I've been using Tide Washing Machine Cleaner for several years and have been completely satisfied. I used a packet from a fresh box last month and the foul chemical smell still lingers!! I live in an area where mildew is a problem and I've relied on the cleaner to keep it under control. Unfortunately, I cannot bring myself to use it again. I have no idea how I'm going to get that terrible odor out of my washing machine."
- Dave67
Goose Creek, SC
0 users found this helpful
Review 8 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Do not buy

"
January 3, 2014
"Horrible product. Have been using for three years now and the scent has always been nasty. They changed the scent and it's horrid. Can not get the chemical scent out of my laundry room thanks to this horrible product."
- Bookmama
Review 9 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Overwhelming Smell of Perfume

"
December 29, 2013
"If you are sensitive to extremely strong perfume smells this is not the product for you. It may work as well as the others on the market and may be what you need if your washer has a strong order; however, mine does not and I discarded the box after the first use and will not buy it again unless they develop an unscented variety. Best practice is to always leave the lid open when not in use if possible to avoid smells."
- Cosmo
North Carolina
Review 10 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Works Great When You Follow Directions Properly

"
December 22, 2013
"Love this product! The first time I tried it was because the seal of my fron load machine was just ...yuck! ...you know how "gunk" builds up around there. Anyway after cleaning it by hand more than a few times I was relieved when I heard about this product. Yes, I had to use it once a week for 3 weeks straight but it did the job beautifully. My machine smelled so much better...even after the first try."
- mommabear2001
Small Town,USA
2 users found this helpful
Review 11 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Amazing product if used correctly

"
November 10, 2013
"I have been using bleach in the dispenser to keep my machine clean per mfg instructions. Works very well, but not quite as good at Tide washing machine cleaner. This product removes all the "gunk" on the inside of the gasket as well as leaves it fresh and clean. Used properly along with mfg instructions on preventative maintenance for your HE washer, you will have a perfectly clean and fresh smelling washer. I have to wonder if the poor results other people have gotten is lack of education about HE washers and using the right products, and doing the preventative maintenance they need ie: wiping out the washer, gasket, and draining the extra water these machines hold. If you have never cleaned your machine or drained the extra water, I do not believe you will get good results."
- sunnycal
Roseville, CA
2 users found this helpful
Review 12 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Very poor product. Did not meet expectations

"
November 10, 2013
"I have a front loader washer and used the cleaner in it. It did not even take all the cleaner out of the soap container. I had to scoop it out with a spoon. I have never had another problem with the soap not going into the washer. I use a powder all of the time, so it was not my washer. Maybe a liquid would have worked bettter in a front loader."
- Petee
Beulah, MI
1 users found this helpful
Review 13 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Tide washing machine cleaner is amazing!

"
October 27, 2013
"When I first used my front loader washing machine I noticed a weird mildewy odor the next time I went to use it. So now when laundry is done I always leave my washer open. No more odor. But now when I use my washing machine cleaner once a month my washer is extremely fresh and ready to use the next time I do laundry!!!! I love it!!!! My washer never stayed so fresh before!!!!!"
- DNS7781
Defiance, OH
2 users found this helpful
Review 14 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!

"
October 19, 2013
"Just like many people I'm always looking for time and money savings ways to simplify my life. Between a cat, dog and dirty mechanics clothes my washing machine is always in need of a good cleaning and I've been using the good old bleach and vinegar trick for years and after 1-2 cycles I'm a happy lady. So when I saw Tide Washing Machine Cleaner I thought I hit a hole in one. I ended up using all 3 pouches in 3 cycles and my machine looked identical from start to 3 finishes the product it was a total let down. With the incredible smell of the product (which is just amplified when it mixes with that hot water) I was really almost expecting my washer to be gleaming. So overall I give this product 2 thumbs down, will not purchase it again, and definitely will not recommend to anyone."
- Blueangel729
Bellmore, NY
2 users found this helpful
Review 15 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Great job

"
October 16, 2013
"I thought my 10 year old Frigidaire front loader was pretty clean but noticed the laundry not quite smelling its best.
Poured in a packet and ran it on hot with excellent results. I never realized just how dirty the drum was until I saw it gleaming again. The washer itself smells nice, if not a little strong just after cleaning, and my clothes smell awesome.
One funny note is that the water pump sounded like it was pumping out concrete after the initial cleaning so it seems there was a lot of gunk getting pumped out.
Highly recommended!
"
- Scott740
Atlanta
Review 16 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Saved my $1200 Bosch washer

"
September 29, 2013
"First I do want to point out there is a typo on the packaging for this product. I have a Bosch front-load so using the front-load instructions. The package gives front load instructions and also top-load instructions. On the box and also on each of the individual use packets. And the instructions on the box for the front-load are different from the instructions for the front-load on the individual packet...so there was some confusion. I'm also frankly surprised a brand as big as Tide would have a typo this serious on any of their packaging. I referenced the website here to see which one was correct, adding to the dispenser vs. adding directly to the drum, Here on the website it says to add to the drum for front-load so that's what I've done.
The directions say it will take several treatments and it has but I have stuck with it. I am very happy with the results. I'm learning though that I need to be more careful with my front-loader than I have been in the past which is a "me problem" not a "Tide problem"."
- DaytonTideFlagFlyer
Dayton, OH
Review 17 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

I use it once a month

"
September 23, 2013
"I bought a HE washer after a few months the smell showed up I tried this product and we are very pleased with it."
- computerman
mount vernon ky
1 users found this helpful
Review 18 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

smells wonderful.....

"
September 7, 2013
"I think it does the job of cleaning the washing machine and the smell makes the whole house smell clean and fresh. I have a samsung no agitator top loading machine. Works great. did not ruin the machine at all!"
- shalon4jc
Temecula, CA
1 users found this helpful
Review 19 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Avoid this product.

"
September 4, 2013
"Mrs. used this product and the interior door is now damaged and requires replacement. $50 part plus handy time of 2-4 hours to disassemble, inspect and repair. Our machine was functioning normally until this product was introduced. We now have a inoperative machine waiting for part(s) and repairs. The smell is getting worse by the day. Teenage boy and 50 year old man in the house wearing clothes beyond their 3 day limit. This product STINKS. Thousands if not millions of washing machines will need repair or replacement after this product is introduced. Laundromats?"
- r3safari
ca
0 users found this helpful
Review 20 for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

STINKS WORSE!

"
August 19, 2013
"I got this product in hopes that it would "freshen" up my HE washer.. NO! it made it worse! my whole basement smells like mildew after using it one time. my washing machine smells worse than before. very disappointed! paid almost $8 for it and its going back to store. now Im running bleach through my washer in hopes it will smell better after. DO NOT USE this product!"
- BK711
NH
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>