Customer Reviews for Washing machine cleaner

Washing machine cleaner

Clean clothes start with a clean washer. Fight odor-causing residues in your washer from laundry soils, detergents and water hardness minerals with Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. It helps fight and lift odor-causing residues as it freshens for a clean, fresh washer
Average Customer Rating:
3.239 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(364 Reviews) 348
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (364 reviews)
5 stars
154
4 stars
49
3 stars
17
2 stars
18
1 star
126
218 of 364(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Washing machine cleaner
Review 1 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Terrible chemical smell - do not use!!

"
November 23, 2015
" I used this product in my washing machine three weeks ago and I CANNOT get the chemical odor out of my washing machine. Terrible SMELLING product! "
-
Maine
Response From TideNovember 30, 2015
We’re sorry your wash had a terrible smell after using the Washing Machine Cleaner as this certainly isn’t the experience we’d expect. The scent is designed to be long-lasting but not overwhelming and it can last for 30 minutes to several hours. Turning on a fan or opening a window will help diminish the scent. We’d like to further help you with this experience so when you have some free time, please give us a call at: 1-855-236-3353.

-Brittany at Tide
Review 2 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

terrible fragrance

"
November 16, 2015
" If your machine smelled before using this be ready for your whole house to smell after use. This is the strongest and worse smelling product I have ever used. "
-
N.C.
Review 3 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Horrible Scent

"
October 31, 2015
" Truly disgusting floral scent inundated our home and I'm worried about the effect it will have on the first load of laundry. "
-
Upstate New York
Response From TideNovember 2, 2015
We're sorry you find the scent of Tide Washing Machine Cleaner too flowery and strong. This isn't the experience we'd like you to have and we'd like to help further. Please give us a call at 1-877-256-3265 when you have time.
Review 4 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Smells Horrible

"
October 18, 2015
" The products smells horrible. It contains perfume and you can't get rid of its smell! Doesn't take care of odors, just adds an unpleasant odor. "
-
maryland
Response From TideOctober 20, 2015
Oh no, Eli. We’re sorry to hear about your less than satisfactory results while using Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. When using it as directed it should have taken care of any odor causing residues in your washer. While the cleaner has a scent that’s designed to be long-lasting, it's not meant to overwhelm the senses and will usually last for 30 minutes to several hours. It may be helpful to turn on a fan or open a window to help diminish the fragrance. We want you to know, this isn’t the experience we’d like you to have and we’d like to help further. Please give us a call at 1-877-256-3265 at your earliest convenience so we can assist you further.
Review 5 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Horrible!!

"
August 15, 2015
" The smell of this stuff just poured out of the washing machine and permeated room and fabric in my ranch style home for days! "
-
Michigan
Review 6 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

I love this product

"
August 12, 2015
" Actually this is the product what I needed, I love this product and I am finding it very useful for me. I am very happy after having this product. "
-
Islamabad
Review 7 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

STINKS!!! DON'T BUY!!

"
March 24, 2015
" Normally I use Affresh but decided to try something new since this was on clearance at Target - now I know why it was on clearance. STUNK up the entire first floor of the house! Given that is in the low 30's here - opening all of the windows to get rid of this god-awful smell is not really an option. Came online to see if there was a remedy for this horrible smell that is giving me a headache. Don't waste your money. "
-
SE Michigan
Review 8 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

works for me

"
November 3, 2014
" I actually really loved the smell that filled my house after the washing cycle had completed and my washing machine itself did not have any bad oder as I have read from others. I got these to try them out just because I saw them on clearance at Target. I got the 8 pack which was originally $18, and I would not be willing to nor could I afford that on a regular basis without it being on clearance. I like the product, but would be hesitant to buy again because of price. "
-
Tacoma, WA
2 users found this helpful
Review 9 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Clean has no smell!

"
October 28, 2014
" I used this product and the washer and laundry room smell like perfume, a horrible perfume. My eyes water, have a mild headache from the smell. I hope I have not ruined washing machine less than one year old. I am now running the third "CLEAN cycle." This is absolutely awful. Clean has NO SMELL, just clean. Why does the manufacturer use such cheap tricks to possibly mask what may not be actually done? Horrible! "
-
Ft Lauderdale FL
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
We're sorry to hear that you're not happy with your experience with our washing machine cleaner. We don't expect the scent to linger in this way, however if this is a recurring issue, please give us a call at 1-855-236-3353 so that we can help you out. Thanks!
Review 10 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Terrrible smell, made me sick

"
October 8, 2014
" The Tide washing machine cleaning packets are terrible and seems like an unsafe smell. It was so strong, I had to get my dogs out of the house open all windows on the main floor and put 3 other empty loads with detergent after and it is still bad. The house still smells after 3 hours. I'm not one to complain but this is bad. I use tide pods and regular detergent with no problems. I'm sorry but I don't recommend this product especially if you are sensitive to strong smell or not. "
-
illinois
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
We're so sorry to hear this! We do not expect the scent of our washing machine cleaner to linger in this way. If this problem persists, please call us at 1-855-236-3353. Thank you!
Review 11 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

Wow! Results were immediate!

"
October 4, 2014
" I'm sensitive to smells, so when my front loader stinks it really makes me crazy. Usually I ask the hubby to wash towels with bleach and that takes care of the problem for a couple of weeks. A couple times a year I also pull out all the trays and do a cleansing. That didn't seem to be providing the solution. I knew I wasn't getting all the ick out of my washer so I decided to try Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. I was shocked at how much stuff I could see being flushed out of my washer. I look forward to using it on a monthly basis so I don't have to worry about my clothing being stinky. "
-
Milwaukee, WI
Review 12 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Horrible Smell

"
September 22, 2014
" My washing machine just over night started smelling really bad nothing i have smelt before. I went to the store and bought washing machine cleaner used all 3 smell is still there But my house smelled good , Loved the smell.Any hints on what to do, Now the smell is in my clothes cant afford another machine !! "
-
Okc , Okla
Review 13 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Terrible smell!

"
September 17, 2014
" I bought this after using Affresh for many years wanting to try something new. I figured since Tide is the only laundry soap I use I would try their cleaner. My washing machine was clean and had NO odor at all because I ran the Affresh monthly. After running this Tide Washing Machine Cleaner my washer has a TERRIBLE odor. I have run 4 normal cycles with hot, soapy water and a normal cycle with Affresh and I can't get rid of the odor. I'm so afraid to run a load of laundry because I don't want that smell to get into my clothes. I can't believe that Tide would put out a product like this!! I wish I had read reviews before buying this. Now I'm out the $12 for the cleaner and I hope I haven't ruined my washer. STAY AWAY from this product. "
-
Nashville
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
We are so sorry. We don't expect there to be damage to your cleaner, but are concerned that the scent was not to your liking. If it has lingered for more than a day, we would like to hear from you at 1-800-879-8433. Hopefully we can help! Thanks for reaching out.
Review 14 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Pungent odor

"
September 14, 2014
" Instead of being an "odor remover" this product overpowered my whole house with an extremely heavy perfume smell which will not go away. Had to open windows all day, and the laundry room still smells so strong I don't want to be in there. I've run the washer with baking soda, vinegar, borax, and bleach -4 washes so far and can't get rid of the smell. I don't know if I'll ever be able to wash clothes in this machine. The label should have warned about the perfume - for those who are sensitive to heavy odors, this is a disaster. So disappointed that P&G would make such a product. "
-
PA
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
We're sorry to hear this and do not expect such a lingering smell from our washing machine cleaner. Please call at 1-800-879-8433 and we'll work it out. Thanks!
Review 15 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Product Caused Odors!!

"
September 11, 2014
" I hadn't noticed any odors or smells in my washing machine, but thought I should try this product as a preventative, since my washer is more than 3 years old. After using, I immediately noticed a strong, unpleasant odor in my washing machine. It wasn't a light, lingering scent from the product, it was a bad smell. Hoping it could be washed away, I did 2 loads of laundry in hot water. They both came out so smelly, I had to re-do them. The smell has faded, but not the memory. As a side note, the coupon enclosed in my package had already expired. Probably not a big deal, as I'm not sure I would try this product brand again anyway, but not an impressive sign from the Tide company! "
-
Macomb, MI
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareOctober 6, 2014
We're so sorry to hear this! We do not expect the scent of our Washing Machine Cleaner to have such a negative effect. Feel free to give us a call at 1-800-879-8433. We may be able to help. Thanks!
Review 16 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

I love the SMELL

"
August 5, 2014
" I was searching for Tide soap that had the same scent as the washing machine cleaner. I ran across all of the negative reviews and could not believe it. I have it running as I am writing and have just finished my house work and think it smells wonderful. I have used it before and will continue every couple of months. "
-
michigan
Review 17 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

"Used to" Love it, now it is AWFUL!!!

"
July 22, 2014
" What did you do to your washing machine cleaner? The scent has changed, and is AWFUL!! I bought Tide cleaner because of Tide's reputation and because of the scent. Last time I purchased the cleaner, the scent of it has changed, for the worse! I will NOT purchase this item again, I am going to find a new washing machine cleaner. So sorry Tide, but what did you do? Just got off the phone with Tide, and all they could do is say yes the scent was changed, and so sorry. Poor customer service! "
-
Sugar Grove, IL
Review 18 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Got Rid of the AWFUL smell

"
July 19, 2014
" Let me first start off my saying that I purchased a house a few months ago and asked the homeowners to leave their washer and dryer however I almost got rid of them both when I I washed a load of clothes and smelled the washer the next day! It was a very foul smell even tho before I use it the first time I used another brands washer machine cleaner and contented to use that brand with no real results. I decided to give Tide a chance since I was not getting any results with the last company and BOY oh BOY did it make a difference the washer now smells fresh and clean. Thank you so much Tide for another great product that I will continue to buy. "
-
Charlotte, NC
Review 19 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Terrible New Scent

"
July 17, 2014
" Have used the product many times before and loved it but this new scent is terrible. It is VERY strong and with a small child I don't want this heavy awful smell in my house. I will be returning this to the store and I will NOT buy this product again. "
-
Florida
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareAugust 1, 2014
Hi, Natt. We are so sorry that you are not enjoying our Washing Machine Cleaner. The scent of this product has only been changed in a minor way and it is not meant to linger in the home after use. If you would like to let our team know about this experience, please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433 and perhaps we can help you out. Thank you!
Review 20 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

New Washing Machine Cleaner Scent

"
July 8, 2014
" The new scent is awful. I loved this product but now I will not buy it again and I would like for Tide to go back to the first scent. "
-
Jackson, MS
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>