Customer Reviews for Washing machine cleaner

Washing machine cleaner

Clean clothes start with a clean washer. Fight odor-causing residues in your washer from laundry soils, detergents and water hardness minerals with Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. It helps fight and lift odor-causing residues as it freshens for a clean, fresh washer
Average Customer Rating:
3.241 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(352 Reviews) 336
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (352 reviews)
5 stars
151
4 stars
45
3 stars
16
2 stars
18
1 star
122
211 of 352(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Washing machine cleaner
Review 301 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Not Working

"
January 2, 2011
" I love the concept of this product but, the soap powder stays in the tray. Maybe Tide can come up with a liquid for HE washing machines. "
-
St. Petersburg, FL
4 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:JennyTide TeamJanuary 6, 2011
I am sorry Tide Washing Machine Cleaner didn’t dissolve correctly and I’m sharing your comments with the rest of the team. I will certainly let them know you would like to see it made available in a liquid form. I would like to share a few tips that may help resolve this problem for you. If you are using a HE washing machine, the detergent dispensers of most front loading (HE) wash machines have a plastic insert that needs to be moved, depending on whether you use a liquid or a powder detergent. If the insert is placed in the “liquid detergent” position, and you are using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, the dispenser will not drain properly and you will be left with powder remaining. Please be sure to move the insert to the “powder detergent” position when using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, and then move it back to the “liquid detergent” position if you regularly use liquid laundry detergent. I hope this information helps.
Review 302 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Unbelievable!

"
November 18, 2010
" We have had that awful musty smell in our washing machine for some time now. No matter how much bleach I cleaned it with, it never smelled clean, ever. We tried the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner for the first time this past weekend.... unbelievable. No more mildew smell ... not in the machine, not in the jeans, not in the towels ... not at all. Thanks again for another great product, Tide..... "
-
Ft Collins, CO
4 users found this helpful
Review 303 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Never thought it would work

"
October 19, 2010
" I have been trying everything to get rid of odors in my washer and have not been able to find anything. I saw a commercial for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner and thought I have tried everything else, what the heck I'll give this a shot. I have used it one time and will be using my second packet this weekend. I was amazed at the difference in my clothing. I have several dogs and cats and you know how the odor, even if the house is clean, the litter box and just overall animal odor seems to linger. My clothing was, or at least I felt it was, starting to have an odor, human sweat and animal alike. I put this in my washer on Sunday before starting my laundry and my clothing came out fresh and clean. No more feeling as if my clothes have a lingering odor. I know they smell fresh and clean. I have been waiting on a product just like this. It is awesome and it does work. I will be using this forever. Thanks Tide! "
-
Linwood, NC
4 users found this helpful
Review 304 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Works Great

"
June 18, 2010
" I used it in my old top loader. Now use it in my front loader. Most people use liquid soap in their washers now. Why would you put a powder in the drawer. And so much! Follow the directions.
As for the musty smell, if you can leave the door open. My daughter's washer is older than mine. We both leave the door open when not in use. No musty oder yet.
"
-
Detroit MI
4 users found this helpful
Review 305 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

Very Pleased

"
August 24, 2009
" My parents recently purchased a new washer and dryer set so I inherited their 5 year old front loader washer. I noticed that it had a fairly strong odor and my mother said this was nothing new. . .especially after you have gone a few days without using the machine. I used the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner and the smell is nearly gone. The powder did clump a little in the dispenser, but I just ran the machine a second time and the powder/clumps were gone. I was so pleased with the product that I told my mother about it so that she can start using it on her new machine to help avoid this problem in the future. "
-
Missouri
4 users found this helpful
Review 306 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Use it!

"
July 5, 2009
" I've seen in the reviews that some people are concerned about the cost; however, front-loaders are extremely expensive machines, and I think that spending $2.00 to $3.00 per month to keep it clean is a small investment. I did some investigating, and repairs to remove soap scum and mold residue run about $300. (Be sure to always dry the door gasket when you finish using the machine and leave the door open overnight. I've never had a problem with my machine since I've been doing this.)
I also had the same problem with the powder not dissolving in the dispenser. Easy solution: Pour the powder directly into the drum--it dissolves just fine, and my manufacturer (LG) says this is acceptable for washing machine cleaners. No left-over clump!
Definitely use this once a month. The black stuff you see on the gasket is black mold, which is EXTREMELY dangerous, and has been linked to a lot of health problems.
Highly recommended! "
-
Overland Park, KS
4 users found this helpful
Review 307 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

A great product

"
April 15, 2009
" My son is a mechanic. His work cloths make the washer smell like grease and leaves a dirty residue. I used the Tide wash machine cleaner and loved it. No more odors or dirt left behind. This is a great product. "
-
Pittsburgh, PA
4 users found this helpful
Review 308 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Horrible, Over-Powering Smell

"
March 5, 2009
" The box says it will remove unwanted odors from your washer. It does this by making your entire house smell like cheap washing powder. This is a very, very strong, obnoxious fragrance. Anyone know how to clean washing machine cleaner out of a washer? "
-
Jupiter, FL
4 users found this helpful
Review 309 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

Incorrect Directions

"
May 14, 2013
" For front loaders, the package states to put it in where the laundry detergent goes, but online and on the commercial it shows to put in the drum. I think the packaging directions need to be updated. Other than that, the product works great! "
-
New Hampshire
5 users found this helpful
Review 310 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Beware of damage to machine

"
January 31, 2013
" I had never used this product before. I had completed several loads of laundry with my 3 yr old front load machine in the morning- no problems and I have never had any problems with my machine. Around noon I decided to use the product. I returned to check on the machine and found that the entire load had leaked out of the bottom of the machine. I called a repair company. They had to replace the pump $329! ... I explained the sequence of events and was told that they have seen this problem multiple times and say NEVER use this product... basically ate the plug out of a small hole in the pump so all water leaked out. Very expensive lesson!!!! Repairman said running a load with 12 oz bleach on the hot/cold 2hr setting better results and won't hurt rubber plugs or other rubber sections of machine. Definitely threw the other 2 packs away!!!! "
-
Atlanta, Georgia
5 users found this helpful
Review 311 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

horrible product

"
January 22, 2013
" tide should be ashamed of themselves for this terrible product, the damage it does to front loading washing machines (Mine is LG), the contrary instructions that appear on the outside box and inside packet, and mostly for the ridiculously patronizing and insulting replies from their so called customer care center. i never used a tide product before and i will never use any proctor and gamble product again. ever. "
-
jupiter, fl
5 users found this helpful
Review 312 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

You forgot to mention one thing....

"
September 9, 2012
" I purchased the Tide WM cleaner. I read the box and the packet to make sure I use it properly. I have a front loader and it said to put in my detergent dispenser. It never said remove the tab before washing to dissolve the cleaner. I never used powder before on my front loader so I was not aware of the use for the dispenser was different for powder. I found clumps of cleaner in the drawer. I removed my drawer and dumped out the cleaner. Better luck next time. "
-
Philadelphia, PA
5 users found this helpful
Review 313 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Musty wash machine

"
June 28, 2011
" My frontload wash machine was starting to have a musty smell. I bought the Tide Wash Machine cleaner and it smelled the whole laundry room with a fresh clean smell; and now my wash machine no longer has that stintch . I will be using this once a month. Thanks Tide!!!! "
-
in the south
5 users found this helpful
Review 314 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Works Great!

"
April 8, 2011
" Love this product! It left no residue, there was no clumping and the scent is fantastic. I'm hoping Tide will make a laundry detergent that has the same scent. My only suggestion has to do with price. I have not seen any coupons for this particular product but hope to soon. "
-
Lathrop, CA
5 users found this helpful
Review 315 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

I love this product

"
November 23, 2010
" I use the cleaner monthy. Washer is fresh smelling. I don't know how I lived without it before ..... try it! "
-
Pennsylvania
5 users found this helpful
Review 316 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Washer Cleaner actually works

"
February 7, 2013
" This is the second time EVER that I've written a review of a product. I don't use Tide detergent because it's usually expensive and other brands do as well. But I had a coupon for the washer cleaner, and a stinky top-load washer, so I tried it. Amazing -- it did exactly what it was supposed to. No more stinky smell. I use fragrance-free detergent, so I could smell the product's fragrance for a few washes. But it faded, and the lack of stink has continued. I'm going to watch for more coupons and buy this when I can get it most inexpensively. Isn't it sad that I'm so excited when a product does what it says it will?. Anyway, I can actually recommend this! "
-
Colorado Springs, CO
6 users found this helpful
Review 317 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

AWESOME AWESOME

"
September 24, 2010
" It works exactly as it says it does. I have a front load lg washer and I was about to buy a new top load washing machine because i couldnt get the awefull smell and gunk out of the machine. I tried all kinds of things and nothing worked. As I was walking around the store i noticed the tide washing machine cleaner. Its been only a week since we used the product and it has made a WORLD of difference already. It has almost elimanted the odor and removed almost all the gunk that was stuck between the rubber gasket. Thank you tide, your product works AWESOME. "
-
stf, ct
6 users found this helpful
Review 318 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

Only one problem

"
April 9, 2009
" I have an LG Front Loading HE washing machine, and I was excited to try the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner since Tide detergent is the only detergent I use. I love the smell that the cleaner leaves behind, and it cleans well, but the only problem is that it doesn't fully dissolve in my dispenser. When I am done with the cleaning cycle, I open up the detergent dispenser to find a hard bunch of gunk. I just wish someone would figure that problem out and everything would be great. "
-
WV
6 users found this helpful
Review 319 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

powder not work in clean wash cycle

"
February 16, 2009
" I have a HE washer with a clean wash cycle and found that the dispenser detergent drawer that I put the powder (Tide washer cleaner) in rinses out the dispenser before the clean wash cycle. Thus, My Tide washer clean was not effective and I wasted money. They need to get Tide washer cleaner that is good to put into the drum of the HE washer. "
-
michigan
6 users found this helpful
Review 320 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Best product!!

"
January 25, 2011
" I couldn't use my front loader without product. Even with regular cleaning it starts to stink, With Tide washing machine cleaner it doesn't stink anymore. I can leave clothes overnight in the washer and they don't stink. It is well worth the money. I love it.=!!! "
-
al
7 users found this helpful
<<prev 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 next>>