Customer Reviews for Washing machine cleaner

Washing machine cleaner

Clean clothes start with a clean washer. Fight odor-causing residues in your washer from laundry soils, detergents and water hardness minerals with Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. It helps fight and lift odor-causing residues as it freshens for a clean, fresh washer
Average Customer Rating:
3.211 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(375 Reviews) 359
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (375 reviews)
5 stars
156
4 stars
50
3 stars
18
2 stars
19
1 star
132
222 of 369(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Washing machine cleaner
Review 301 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Left a Goopy Mess!

"
August 2, 2010
" So much for that 7 bucks! My LG HG front-loader was left with a mostly full detergent tray full of molten, foamy goop after I ran a cycle per the instructions.
Sent Tide an email. Hoping for a positive response of some sort. "
-
Birmingham, AL
3 users found this helpful
Review 302 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

This product STINKS-- literally!

"
February 27, 2010
" I had high hopes for this product because I have only used Tide for years. It cleans my clothes, makes sense that it would clean my washing machine, right? Wrong!
I have an HE front-loading machine. There is some gook forming on the inside rim because water pools there. So I figured I'd give this a try.
The first thing I noticed after I finished the cycle-- IT STINKS!! I mean, yuck. My whole laundry and hallway smell horrific. It smells like old garbage. I cannot believe that anyone thinks this smells clean. I had to air the place out for a few hours. I am not exaggerating.
But, holding my breath, I looked into the machine and it is no cleaner than it was before I used this product. So, it doesn't work and it smells.
A BIG disappointment from a brand like Tide. I will still use their detergent, but I am definitely leery of all the other new products they are coming out with now. "
-
Chicago, IL
3 users found this helpful
Review 303 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

money well spent

"
February 26, 2010
" I saw this product in the grocery store and thought I should try it. My husband farms, so you can only imagine what comes off of his clothes EVERYDAY, i.e. mud, manure, feed dust, etc. (lots of it to) I am constantly doing laundry just to stay ahead of it all, I used this product last week and I am amazed to how it cleaned my top load washer which had build up on the tub, that bleach and 'elbow grease' just wouldn't do the job. The smell was pleasant, and my washer is just like new! Plan on using this once a month from now on! I have recommended it to many people since! Thanks for making this product! "
-
science hill, ky
3 users found this helpful
Review 304 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Wonderful!

"
October 16, 2009
" I am unable to use regular bleach, and was worried about my washer being clean (much to my boyfriend's amazement, I'm the type who even washes inside the dishwasher!). This Tide product smells wonderful and is easing my mind. I find the scent soothing and fresh. I bought it as a trial, but intend to buy the larger box! "
-
IL
3 users found this helpful
Review 305 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Disappointed

"
June 27, 2013
" I bought tide washing machine cleaner because I was confident that the brand would work well like the detergent. I was very disappointed when all the cleaner did was clump together at the bottom of my washer. I would not recommend this product. "
-
Columbus, OH
4 users found this helpful
Review 306 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Did NOT work as per instructions!

"
June 16, 2013
" "I have used 2 of 5 packets. I was not pleased at all. I used it as per instructions in my front load washer and at the end of the cycle the powder was still in the unit, in a big gloppy chunk. I had to clean it out with a spoon, after running it through a second and third wash cycle. I would really like a refund. I will not recommend this product to anyone." "
-
Virginia
4 users found this helpful
Review 307 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Didn't disolve

"
September 11, 2011
" I have a front loading washing machine. I followed the directions and emptied the packet in the dispenser. When the cycle was completed the most of the powder was still in the compartment and very little actually made it into the machine. Seems like a waste of money. I'll try bleach and water next time. "
-
Chicago, IL
4 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:DeeConsumer Care September 12, 2011
I’m sorry Tide Washing Machine Cleaner didn’t dissolve correctly and I’m sharing your comments with the rest of the team. I would like to share a few tips that may help resolve this problem for you. Since you're using a HE washing machine, the detergent dispensers of most front loading (HE) wash machines have a plastic insert that needs to be moved, depending on whether you use a liquid or a powder detergent. If the insert is placed in the “liquid detergent” position, and you are using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, the dispenser will not drain properly and you will be left with powder remaining. Please be sure to move the insert to the “powder detergent” position when using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, and then move it back to the “liquid detergent” position if you regularly use liquid laundry detergent. If you have further questions, feel free to call us at (800) 879-8433. Thanks!
Review 308 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Horrible buy

"
July 25, 2011
" Used as directions said.I was surprised to see NONE of the Washing Machine Cleaner powder drained out. All still in the cup where I put it. Had to completely clean the cups where you put the detergent, it was a hard mess. I will never buy this again! "
-
Minneapolis MN
4 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:DeeConsumer Care August 1, 2011
I’m sorry Tide Washing Machine Cleaner didn’t dissolve correctly and I’m sharing your comments with the rest of the team. I would like to share a few tips that may help resolve this problem for you. If you are using a HE washing machine, the detergent dispensers of most front loading (HE) wash machines have a plastic insert that needs to be moved, depending on whether you use a liquid or a powder detergent. If the insert is placed in the “liquid detergent” position, and you are using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, the dispenser will not drain properly and you will be left with powder remaining. Please be sure to move the insert to the “powder detergent” position when using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, and then move it back to the “liquid detergent” position if you regularly use liquid laundry detergent. . When using a standard/regular (non-HE) machine, turn on the water first, and then add the packet of Tide Washing Machine Cleaner to ensure the product will dissolve entirely. Hope this helps!
Review 309 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Great Product!

"
June 5, 2011
" I recently tried the Tiede Washing Machine Cleaner for my HE washer. The manufacturer advised to leave the door open to allow it to air, but I found if I use this once a month it keeps my washer smelling absolutely fresh and wonderful!! This is a great product and I highly recommend it to anyone with an HE washer. "
-
Chatham, IL
4 users found this helpful
Review 310 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Very Upset with this product

"
April 23, 2011
" I saw the advertisement on TV and thought this would be the perfect product since I have a front loader and many of my friends have a problem with the mildew smell. My machine is basically fine without a smell but when I read the instructions that said you can just use it once a month as maintenance, I decided to give it a try. I followed the instructions, normal wash, hot water and the machine seemed fresh afterwards. The next day when I decided to wash some clothes, I opened the tray where you put detergent and the TIDE powder was still in there but now it was a solid rock of undissolved powder. I had to take apart the whole tray, scrape it out, thoroughly clean far in to the tray where its not easy to get to and hoped that it didn't clump up somewhere inside that I can't reach. I then had to run an empty load, sanitary cycle, extra rinse and hope that cleared it all out. I am now doing my load of clothes and hoping that it doesn't come out with marks or some problem from this product. I had such high hopes and I will never use this product again nor will I ever recommend it. Just the opposite. By the way, my machine is only 2 years old so it isn't the machine's problem. It works just fine. "
-
ny
4 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:JennyTide TeamApril 26, 2011
I am sorry the Washing Machine Cleaner didn’t dissolve correctly and I’m sharing your comments with the rest of the team. I would like to share a few tips that may help resolve this problem for you. Since you are using a HE front loading washing machine, the detergent dispensers of most front loading (HE) wash machines have a plastic insert that needs to be moved. If the insert is placed in the “liquid detergent” position, and you are using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, the dispenser will not drain properly and you will be left with powder remaining. Please be sure to move the insert to the “powder detergent” position when using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, and then move it back to the “liquid detergent” position if you regularly use liquid laundry detergent. I hope this information helps. If you have additional questions. please call us at 1-800-879-8433.
Review 311 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Product is OK

"
April 23, 2011
" The packet was easy to use. When the cycle was complete the freshness stayed about 2 days. The PRICE is ridiculous. After I picked myself up off the floor, I gave it a try. WHERE'S the COUPONS???? "
-
pratt
4 users found this helpful
Review 312 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Breath of Fresh Air!

"
January 31, 2011
" I have a really old washer that smelled funny. I bought this product and it worked! I don't get grossed out smelling my washer any more! Honestly, I put it in and turned the cycle to soak, then I forgot about turning it back on until the next morning, so it did soak longer than the box said to, but it worked for my really old machine! I also ran an extra empty cycle to make sure all of the product got out before I washed any clothes. Thank you so much! "
-
Pacific NorthWest
4 users found this helpful
Review 313 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Dissolving Issue

"
January 26, 2011
" This product did not dissolve in my Maytag front loader. "
-
az
4 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:MonikaTide TeamJanuary 28, 2011
While that isn't what we'd expect, I do have a few tips that can remedy that for you. Since you are using a HE washing machine, the detergent dispensers of most front loading (HE) wash machines have a plastic insert that needs to be moved, depending on whether you use a liquid or a powder detergent. If the insert is placed in the “liquid detergent” position, and you are using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, the dispenser will not drain properly and you will be left with powder remaining. Please be sure to move the insert to the “powder detergent” position when using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, and then move it back to the “liquid detergent” position if you regularly use liquid laundry detergent.
It is also a possibility the water temperature could be too cold. During the winter months or whenever water is exceptionally cold, you may experience difficulty in powder products dissolving. You should always use the hot water setting when using Tide Washing Machine Cleaner (as per the package instructions). The hot water setting should allow the powder to dissolve entirely.
Also be sure remove clothing or other items from your washing machine before using Tide Washing Machine Cleaner.

Try these tips and see if that does the trick!
Review 314 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Awesome

"
January 25, 2011
" this product is amazing, i have a tiny apt sz washer & it works great. For those of you complaining about the odors in your washers, it comes from the slimy water that accumulates underneath, not much you can do about it, except use this product to flush it out. This of it as a bucket of rain water sitting outside in 100 degree weather, it starts to get moldy, slimy & a horrible smell, this will do the trick ! "
-
MINNEAPOLIS MN
4 users found this helpful
Review 315 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Not Working

"
January 2, 2011
" I love the concept of this product but, the soap powder stays in the tray. Maybe Tide can come up with a liquid for HE washing machines. "
-
St. Petersburg, FL
4 users found this helpful
Response from Tide:JennyTide TeamJanuary 6, 2011
I am sorry Tide Washing Machine Cleaner didn’t dissolve correctly and I’m sharing your comments with the rest of the team. I will certainly let them know you would like to see it made available in a liquid form. I would like to share a few tips that may help resolve this problem for you. If you are using a HE washing machine, the detergent dispensers of most front loading (HE) wash machines have a plastic insert that needs to be moved, depending on whether you use a liquid or a powder detergent. If the insert is placed in the “liquid detergent” position, and you are using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, the dispenser will not drain properly and you will be left with powder remaining. Please be sure to move the insert to the “powder detergent” position when using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, and then move it back to the “liquid detergent” position if you regularly use liquid laundry detergent. I hope this information helps.
Review 316 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Unbelievable!

"
November 18, 2010
" We have had that awful musty smell in our washing machine for some time now. No matter how much bleach I cleaned it with, it never smelled clean, ever. We tried the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner for the first time this past weekend.... unbelievable. No more mildew smell ... not in the machine, not in the jeans, not in the towels ... not at all. Thanks again for another great product, Tide..... "
-
Ft Collins, CO
4 users found this helpful
Review 317 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Never thought it would work

"
October 19, 2010
" I have been trying everything to get rid of odors in my washer and have not been able to find anything. I saw a commercial for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner and thought I have tried everything else, what the heck I'll give this a shot. I have used it one time and will be using my second packet this weekend. I was amazed at the difference in my clothing. I have several dogs and cats and you know how the odor, even if the house is clean, the litter box and just overall animal odor seems to linger. My clothing was, or at least I felt it was, starting to have an odor, human sweat and animal alike. I put this in my washer on Sunday before starting my laundry and my clothing came out fresh and clean. No more feeling as if my clothes have a lingering odor. I know they smell fresh and clean. I have been waiting on a product just like this. It is awesome and it does work. I will be using this forever. Thanks Tide! "
-
Linwood, NC
4 users found this helpful
Review 318 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Works Great

"
June 18, 2010
" I used it in my old top loader. Now use it in my front loader. Most people use liquid soap in their washers now. Why would you put a powder in the drawer. And so much! Follow the directions.
As for the musty smell, if you can leave the door open. My daughter's washer is older than mine. We both leave the door open when not in use. No musty oder yet.
"
-
Detroit MI
4 users found this helpful
Review 319 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

Very Pleased

"
August 24, 2009
" My parents recently purchased a new washer and dryer set so I inherited their 5 year old front loader washer. I noticed that it had a fairly strong odor and my mother said this was nothing new. . .especially after you have gone a few days without using the machine. I used the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner and the smell is nearly gone. The powder did clump a little in the dispenser, but I just ran the machine a second time and the powder/clumps were gone. I was so pleased with the product that I told my mother about it so that she can start using it on her new machine to help avoid this problem in the future. "
-
Missouri
4 users found this helpful
Review 320 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Use it!

"
July 5, 2009
" I've seen in the reviews that some people are concerned about the cost; however, front-loaders are extremely expensive machines, and I think that spending $2.00 to $3.00 per month to keep it clean is a small investment. I did some investigating, and repairs to remove soap scum and mold residue run about $300. (Be sure to always dry the door gasket when you finish using the machine and leave the door open overnight. I've never had a problem with my machine since I've been doing this.)
I also had the same problem with the powder not dissolving in the dispenser. Easy solution: Pour the powder directly into the drum--it dissolves just fine, and my manufacturer (LG) says this is acceptable for washing machine cleaners. No left-over clump!
Definitely use this once a month. The black stuff you see on the gasket is black mold, which is EXTREMELY dangerous, and has been linked to a lot of health problems.
Highly recommended! "
-
Overland Park, KS
4 users found this helpful
<<prev 1 ... 14 15 16 17 18 next>>