Customer Reviews for Washing machine cleaner

Washing machine cleaner

Clean clothes start with a clean washer. Fight odor-causing residues in your washer from laundry soils, detergents and water hardness minerals with Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. It helps fight and lift odor-causing residues as it freshens for a clean, fresh washer
Average Customer Rating:
3.211 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(375 Reviews) 359
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (375 reviews)
5 stars
156
4 stars
50
3 stars
18
2 stars
19
1 star
132
222 of 369(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Tide does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Washing machine cleaner
Review 1 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Such a strong smell ..

"
July 24, 2016
" I bought this thinking it would clean my machine but what I found was it filled my entire house with this overpowering smell ! We're on hour 3 of smelling this I wouldn't recommend this. "
-
Baltimore MD
Review 2 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Overpowering chemical smell

"
July 19, 2016
" No idea how effective these were. Dont care. Ran washer 4 times & opened all windows to get stench out. Upset my infant has been inhaling this and that it will be on her clothing the next few washes. "
-
New York
Response From TideJuly 22, 2016
Our Washing Machine Cleaner was designed to take on the tough job of freshening your washing machine drum and may create a fragrance in smaller spaces. This smell should dissipate within thirty minutes at most! Either way, our cleaner has passed extensive testing to ensure it's safe for use. We'd like to speak with you further to see what we can do to help. Please give us a call at 1-(800)-879-8433 anytime between Monday and Friday, 9am-5pm EST as we'd love to learn more about your experience.
Review 3 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

DO NOT BUY!

"
June 28, 2016
" Emits an extremely strong offensive chemical odor that will not leave! Afraid to wash my clothes :( "
-
Indiana
Response From TideJuly 1, 2016
We're sorry this was your experience and we'd like to learn more so we can help. At your earliest convenience, please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433. We're open Monday through Friday from 9:00AM - 6:00PM EST .
Review 4 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"

Love this product!

"
June 24, 2016
" This cleans my machine very well and it smells so good while and when it is finished cleaning! "
-
Kansas
Review 5 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Horrific, Overpowered Fragrance

"
May 23, 2016
" This product may have cleaned my machine, but the overpowering fragrance is offensive. After several rinses and a small load, my washer still stinks. The other two packets are already in the trash. "
-
Frisco
Response from Tide:KarenTide TeamMay 25, 2016
We're sorry you found the scent of Tide Washing Machine Cleaner to be overpowering. Scent is a personal preference, and we'll share your feedback with the rest of our team. We invite you to call us at 1-800-879-8433 so we can make this up to you. We're open M-F from 9-6 ET and will be happy to help!
Review 6 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Grossly over scented

"
May 1, 2016
" Scent is unpleasant, overpowering, and lingers too long.
Clean doesn't have to smell. I shouldn't have to open a window to air it out.
"
-
Houston
Response From TideMay 5, 2016
The process while using Tide's Washing Machine Cleaner can create a fragrance which might get intense in smaller spaces, Brian, and we're sorry you dislike this strong scent. The good news is, the fragrance should be gone after 30 minutes to a few hours based on the size and ventilation efficiency of your laundry room. If you have any questions or comments, please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433, 9:00AM - 6:00PM EST, Monday - Friday
Review 7 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

Plug your nose!

"
April 30, 2016
" Too much fragrance. I have used it 2xs hoping for better results. Open windows, still stank. Yuck! "
-
Iowa
Response From TideMay 3, 2016
We’re sorry you found the scent too strong. Tide Washing Machine Cleaner is designed for the tough job of cleaning out residue and freshening the washing machine drum. Depending on the size and ventilation of your laundry room, the fragrance could last 30 minutes to several hours. Opening a window or using a fan could help diminish the fragrance faster and the scent should be completely gone after running several cycles of laundry.
Review 8 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

Please REDUCE the Perfume

"
April 8, 2016
" Using product for years, BUT REDUCE PERFUME. Frustrating to see product that WORKS, but no response to complaints.
Maybe smell caused by cleaning agents, but feels like TOO MUCH perfume.
"
-
Maryland
Response From TideApril 15, 2016
We love hearing from our loyal consumers and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We have passed your input onto our Quality Assurance team. Our Washing Machine Cleaner was designed to refresh the washing machine drum and this process may result in a fragrance. The fragrance may be stronger in smaller spaces and we recommend opening a window or turning on a fan to help air out the room. If you would like to share more about your experience, please contact us at 1-800-726-7377.
Review 9 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Now What??????

"
March 30, 2016
" Holy moly…this is HORRIBLE stuff. I've never smelled anything so awful. Smells like sewage water. Now my clothes will smell terrible for how many loads????? "
-
New Jersey
Response from Tide:EllenConsumer RelationsApril 4, 2016
I am so sorry to hear about your experience with Tide Washing machine cleaner. We would not expect it to smell like you described. You may need to use the product several times to remove any significant build-up of residues in your machine which causes bad smells. Please feel free to get in touch with us at 1-(800) 879-8433 to share more details and get some help with your purchase.
Thanks for your review.
Review 10 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"

Great Tide Scent

"
February 25, 2016
" We like this cleaner. It is a bit expensive but it has that great Tide scent! "
-
Texas
Review 11 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Terrible chemical smell - do not use!!

"
November 23, 2015
" I used this product in my washing machine three weeks ago and I CANNOT get the chemical odor out of my washing machine. Terrible SMELLING product! "
-
Maine
Response From TideNovember 30, 2015
We’re sorry your wash had a terrible smell after using the Washing Machine Cleaner as this certainly isn’t the experience we’d expect. The scent is designed to be long-lasting but not overwhelming and it can last for 30 minutes to several hours. Turning on a fan or opening a window will help diminish the scent. We’d like to further help you with this experience so when you have some free time, please give us a call at: 1-855-236-3353.

-Brittany at Tide
Review 12 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

terrible fragrance

"
November 16, 2015
" If your machine smelled before using this be ready for your whole house to smell after use. This is the strongest and worse smelling product I have ever used. "
-
N.C.
Review 13 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Horrible Scent

"
October 31, 2015
" Truly disgusting floral scent inundated our home and I'm worried about the effect it will have on the first load of laundry. "
-
Upstate New York
Response From TideNovember 2, 2015
We're sorry you find the scent of Tide Washing Machine Cleaner too flowery and strong. This isn't the experience we'd like you to have and we'd like to help further. Please give us a call at 1-877-256-3265 when you have time.
Review 14 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Smells Horrible

"
October 18, 2015
" The products smells horrible. It contains perfume and you can't get rid of its smell! Doesn't take care of odors, just adds an unpleasant odor. "
-
maryland
Response From TideOctober 20, 2015
Oh no, Eli. We’re sorry to hear about your less than satisfactory results while using Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. When using it as directed it should have taken care of any odor causing residues in your washer. While the cleaner has a scent that’s designed to be long-lasting, it's not meant to overwhelm the senses and will usually last for 30 minutes to several hours. It may be helpful to turn on a fan or open a window to help diminish the fragrance. We want you to know, this isn’t the experience we’d like you to have and we’d like to help further. Please give us a call at 1-877-256-3265 at your earliest convenience so we can assist you further.
Review 15 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Horrible!!

"
August 15, 2015
" The smell of this stuff just poured out of the washing machine and permeated room and fabric in my ranch style home for days! "
-
Michigan
Review 16 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"

I love this product

"
August 12, 2015
" Actually this is the product what I needed, I love this product and I am finding it very useful for me. I am very happy after having this product. "
-
Islamabad
Review 17 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

STINKS!!! DON'T BUY!!

"
March 24, 2015
" Normally I use Affresh but decided to try something new since this was on clearance at Target - now I know why it was on clearance. STUNK up the entire first floor of the house! Given that is in the low 30's here - opening all of the windows to get rid of this god-awful smell is not really an option. Came online to see if there was a remedy for this horrible smell that is giving me a headache. Don't waste your money. "
-
SE Michigan
Review 18 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"

works for me

"
November 3, 2014
" I actually really loved the smell that filled my house after the washing cycle had completed and my washing machine itself did not have any bad oder as I have read from others. I got these to try them out just because I saw them on clearance at Target. I got the 8 pack which was originally $18, and I would not be willing to nor could I afford that on a regular basis without it being on clearance. I like the product, but would be hesitant to buy again because of price. "
-
Tacoma, WA
2 users found this helpful
Review 19 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Clean has no smell!

"
October 28, 2014
" I used this product and the washer and laundry room smell like perfume, a horrible perfume. My eyes water, have a mild headache from the smell. I hope I have not ruined washing machine less than one year old. I am now running the third "CLEAN cycle." This is absolutely awful. Clean has NO SMELL, just clean. Why does the manufacturer use such cheap tricks to possibly mask what may not be actually done? Horrible! "
-
Ft Lauderdale FL
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
We're sorry to hear that you're not happy with your experience with our washing machine cleaner. We don't expect the scent to linger in this way, however if this is a recurring issue, please give us a call at 1-855-236-3353 so that we can help you out. Thanks!
Review 20 for Washing machine cleaner
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"

Terrrible smell, made me sick

"
October 8, 2014
" The Tide washing machine cleaning packets are terrible and seems like an unsafe smell. It was so strong, I had to get my dogs out of the house open all windows on the main floor and put 3 other empty loads with detergent after and it is still bad. The house still smells after 3 hours. I'm not one to complain but this is bad. I use tide pods and regular detergent with no problems. I'm sorry but I don't recommend this product especially if you are sensitive to strong smell or not. "
-
illinois
Response from Tide:Fabric Care Community ManagerConsumer CareNovember 6, 2014
We're so sorry to hear this! We do not expect the scent of our washing machine cleaner to linger in this way. If this problem persists, please call us at 1-855-236-3353. Thank you!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>